Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, but ever so sweet
The french confection is another 'diamond brothers' adventure. It is a short, funny and sharp 70 page book that is fast-paced and with a rather straight foward plot.
I think that this is one of the most funny 'diamond brothers' book yet as it combines quick pace, funny jokes and realistic (but hard to believe) moves and tricks to get away from a certain drug selling...
Published on 8 April 2005 by Jasper Wong

versus
11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars only 70 pages
My son has read a few Horowitz stories and he gets through them very quickly, that’s why I was disappointed that this book only has 76 pages, as apposed to the normal 220 plus.
Published on 21 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, but ever so sweet, 8 April 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The french confection is another 'diamond brothers' adventure. It is a short, funny and sharp 70 page book that is fast-paced and with a rather straight foward plot.
I think that this is one of the most funny 'diamond brothers' book yet as it combines quick pace, funny jokes and realistic (but hard to believe) moves and tricks to get away from a certain drug selling organization.
This is shorter but funnier than the falcons malteser, and much better than another short 'diamond brothers' adventure, the blurred man, which was interesting to start with, but was too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging crime adventure from the crime duo, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Horowitz is one of my favourite authors mainly because of his ability to write in-depth and construct some marvellous plots into his books and this Diamond Brother adventure further emphasises his brilliance.

Another fast flowing Diamond brother's story follows the brothers to France as they get caught up in a web of trouble.

There are many conventional action scenes encoded along with mysterious happenings which reflect the crime underworld as the brothers use their knowledge to their best advantage to solve a tricky case.

This story maybe not as strong as some other Diamond adventures e.g. Public enemy number two but nevertheless it is very humours and exciting to.

The story is told in the first person through the smarter of the Brother Nick's mind. This is a very good technique as Horowitz guides readers through events in in-depth detail and there are many digs at the French and his brother in this novel. There are also some drug related issues which to me shows that Horowitz is preaching to the child audience to show that they should stay away from drug and the description of what they can do to you is not very nice.

Through the use of questions Horowitz engages the reader into the story and is simply beautifully written.

The use of the dumb brother juxtaposed with the smart brother creates a valuable detective unit as they look to solve yet another problem.

It is designed for children but I believe it can be read by anyone, it is enjoyment in around 80 pages, a simple read for any age.

With fast flowing dialogue, mystery and suspense it is brilliance from Horowitz again and I definitely recommend this book if you like crime, humour and mystery.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLANT, 9 Sep 2002
By A Customer
These are two more of the brilliant 'Diamond Brothers' stories and both definately must reads!
With more hilarious parts and even more stupidity from Tim, Public Enemy Number Two is a brilliant book. Nick goes on a school trip and ends up in jail, Tim tries to drive and everything goes horribly wrong (again) and Nick has to sort it out (without blowing up his brother), Snape and Boyle end up in hospital and Tim is more concerned about a vase than his own life!
The French Confection all starts off with a strawberry yoghurt and ends up with a walking eiffel tower and sinking cheese. Tim and Nick win a holiday to France and no sooner have they arrived in the french capital something happens which leads them into a comical adventure and a brilliant story.
Comedy, fun, stupidity is all in these hilarious books, Anthony Horowitz is a brilliant author and everyone would enjoy his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome book, I love the diamond brothers series.some of Horowitz's best series and books . very very very good book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Dec 2013
Groggerumpus fump tour. Blah and I have been emailing me a panda highland park bench and I will follow you if you want me to marry you can I join the best gets a prise the next person to convince them that they are squishy and the wardrobe malfunction to the cider vinegar to the purple sandwich lovers ice cream yogurt fump groggerumpus chuppa sandwichlover here member's information YOU need to create a fan of marshmallow lovers ice age group of the week I had school with me to become the next five people who is i love the next five people to become the club contest starts in a landslide the next person who wants coffee lollipop and a fan we are you sleeping are not donating the next person who wants coins and a cobra to join the club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books by Anthony Horowitz and on of the funniest! I would recommend this book to everyone who like action,comedy and mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The French confection, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is awesome another gr8 book by Anthony Horowitz this book was short but very very good and exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a fantastic book and very cleverly set out. Madem erica nice was always strange from the start. WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a sucess!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
L. B. Forrest "Lisa66" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The French Confection (Diamond Brothers) (Diamond Brothers) (Paperback)
Our son just loves this set of books (age 9 1/2) - though I can't remember which one his favourite is.
The set a great start to heavier crime writing - He's now moved on to "Stormbreaker" by Anthony Horowitz and it's delightful watching him so engrossed. He has made me read one or two of them to be able to share his excitement.
They are very well written and see very age appropriate for him.
Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diamond, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Diamond Brothers book I read and - though I recommend actually starting at the beginning - this book was a great way to get into the series. Funny, silly, and easy to read, but it still had a brilliantly entertaining mystery plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The French Confection (Diamond Brothers) (Diamond Brothers)
The French Confection (Diamond Brothers) (Diamond Brothers) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 4 Jun 2007)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews