Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Primary Children
I have a degree in Classics & Modern Languages, & bought this book for my 5 year old daughter and 3 year old son because I loved Homer's stories.
I was worried that they might find it a bit too advanced (the comic strip style will appeal very much to KS2 kids). However, they were both entranced by the stories, the illustations are beautiful and detailed. They are now...
Published on 31 Dec 2007 by Z. Cummings

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of violence ... oh, and some sex.
An easily accessible rewriting of an very old story. Younger children and pupils at school will find that this strangely familiar story will appeal to them. Good touches of humour.
I have used this book with KS3/4 pupils for their English Literature GCSE.
Published on 10 Jun 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Primary Children, 31 Dec 2007
By 
Z. Cummings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
I have a degree in Classics & Modern Languages, & bought this book for my 5 year old daughter and 3 year old son because I loved Homer's stories.
I was worried that they might find it a bit too advanced (the comic strip style will appeal very much to KS2 kids). However, they were both entranced by the stories, the illustations are beautiful and detailed. They are now 'experts' on tales such as the Trojan Horse, Scylla and the Cyclops. They both (even the 3 year old) also now know why we say certain things nowadays, like 'Achilles heel'.
We've now moved onto the Romans - sadly there doesn't seem to be an equivalent version of Virgil's Aeneid, definitely a gap in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just one for the children...., 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Iliad (Hardcover)
I first read this book as a joke as I had to do the real Odyssey for GCSE. However, I found it was one fo the most useful resources I used when studying the Odyssey. It remained true to the story and made it interesting by using pictures with humorous caption. I only had to do certain books of the Odyssey and I managed to keep the continuity by reading this book. It also increased my understanding and enjoyment of the text, because once I read this book I realized how good this story really was.
On the other hand, it is good for children as it makes classic tales more accesible to them and encourages them to read books which otherwise they might not read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
As a teacher I find these books so useful as they tell the stories well and yet are not too long-winded for the lessons. In addition the illustrations are so colourful and detailed the children always gain so much more from them. We have often created several detailed paragraphs each describing a character or scenario from one of the larger scenes. My own children have also enjoyed them as have visiting little ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treat, 8 May 2008
By 
Humpty Dumpty (Wall St, Upton Snodsbury) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
One of Marcia Wiliams' best titles. This is a retelling of 30 or so episodes from Homer, done with the author's accustomed energy and verve. Young children will love the bold illustrations, especially Achilles in drag, Scylla, the Sirens, Polyphemus and a Trojan Horse packed with humorous detail that must have taken the author weeks to complete on its own.

No child could fail to be stimulated by these tales, and would not want to pursue them at at deeper level when older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 9 year old loved it!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
Bought this book for my son who is absolutely mad on the Greeks and it was a hit, he loved it! It is in comic form so easy to read and understand and the illustrations are lovely. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
This is From my D Age 10 It was very interesting I enjoyed reading it as it was laid out like a comic I might Try Homers book Now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children grow with these timeless stories., 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
This book was bought as a gift for a six year old grandchild. In the drawings and texts of the format used, these great stories are somewhat concentrated. However, that is good, as this book is not one to be swiftly consumed and put on the pile, but is one to be revisited over and over in keeping with the unfolding of the great sprawling tales themselves. As he reads with his parents or grandparents, and later on his own as he gets older, the import of the panorama will expand in tune with his or her ever growing perception and intelligence. It is therefore an exciting ante-room to later and maturer reading of these great truth-bearing myths. And - just as good - adults can find in it also a scene-setter for their delayed tackling of the written trove they always intended to tackle but didn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
extremely funny for youngsters fantastic illustrations a definite excellent buy teaches while entertains as well very well put together looking forward to buying more in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Iliad and the Odyssey, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
Very clearly written in an amusing way I would recommended it to anyone who is trying to understand the classic the Iliad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great idea, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Iliad and the Odyssey (Paperback)
What a great way to get today's generation of media-savvy kids into the classics of Greek literature! Walker Books have again come up trumps with a graphic edition of two of Greek poet Homer's greatest works. The illustrations are top-notch: Emotive and far from austere, whilst the text is suitably compressed without losing any of its worth and import. How about some more classics in the same range - Candide perhaps? Come on Walker Books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Iliad and the Odyssey
The Iliad and the Odyssey by Marcia Williams (Paperback - 2 Oct 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews