Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, long but satisfying read
Joshua Cope is a very ordinary 11 year old boy, not particulary talented, unlike his best friend Baz who is an amazing drummer. He has a dysfunctional but not particularly so family, he lives with his mother Mo and her partner and visits his father at the weekends. His older sister is mildly annoying, as is her boyfriend who is always asking to see Joshua's collection...
Published on 16 Oct. 2010 by Jo Bennie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Concept but Too Long
This book starts as an entertaining page turner, but it gets tedious. It is frankly too long for the subject matter. It is imaginative, sometimes novel, and the characters are well thought through, but as a children's book, I have to wonder how many of its intended audience will turn the 637th (reasonably cramped) page.
Published on 9 Oct. 2009 by Sir Furboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, long but satisfying read, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
Joshua Cope is a very ordinary 11 year old boy, not particulary talented, unlike his best friend Baz who is an amazing drummer. He has a dysfunctional but not particularly so family, he lives with his mother Mo and her partner and visits his father at the weekends. His older sister is mildly annoying, as is her boyfriend who is always asking to see Joshua's collection. Which is where what Joshua considers his own talent comes in, he's a good thief. Late at night the phone rings, but none of the others in the house wakes and eventually he answers. A strange man on the phone, he hangs up, but the calls keep coming and so begins an amazing tale of dream worlds, lost twins, broken families and high adventure rooted in the emotional landscape of four young children. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dream Merchant, 4 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
Joshua Cope is an 11 year old boy who is a bit of a dreamer. One day he is sent on a journey by Gippart, a massive trading company, into the dream time to find the bird loving tribe, the Tembe. Accompanied by the funny and pretty Teresa, his best freind Baz the drummer , his wicked twin sister Jericho and their gaurdian Lucide they embark on a dangerous journey into the unknown. They are threatened by a Siparti tribe and many other things . This book is amazing and I could not put it down for a moment.If you like fantasy , adventure and a good book , READ THIS ONE. I would reccomend it for readers aged 10 and upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great fantasy novel, 16 April 2006
By 
L. Bell "teenbookqueen" (Sharnbrook, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Paperback)
having read a series of adult novels i felt in dire need of a good dose of fantasy. the dream merchant provided just that. the story of josh wandering through the dream world with his friends theresa and baz is completely original and unputdownable!!! i would recommend it to anyone who likes books such as the wind on fire trilogy and his dark materials trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Concept but Too Long, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
This book starts as an entertaining page turner, but it gets tedious. It is frankly too long for the subject matter. It is imaginative, sometimes novel, and the characters are well thought through, but as a children's book, I have to wonder how many of its intended audience will turn the 637th (reasonably cramped) page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dream merchant, 15 Jun. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
As soon as I saw this book I just had to buy it. It looks amazing. I'm 19 years old and was quite sick of reading serious books all the time. So I gave this one a go and it is quite simply the best book I have ever read. I couldn't put it down. The characters are great and the whole story is so imaginative. I really hope there are more books out there like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., 6 July 2008
By 
Laura Money "Xhatissa" (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
This book is definitely in my top 5 ever. The concept is mind-blowing but once you've got your head around it, The Dream Merchant becomes a sublime read. I cannot recommend this book highly enough and I sincerely hope that Hoving continues writing because I will gladly read anything she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very unusual fantasy novel!, 21 Feb. 2007
By 
J9 "Bookworm" (Wombwell, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, although I agree it would be very heavy for young children. As a working adult it took me a while to read it and I occasionally had to go back to remember which place the children had last been in as there was a lot of detail. However, it was certainly very unusual and a brilliant idea - I am sure you will never have read anything like this before! Thoroughly recommended if you enjoy fantasy and want to read something you can totally lose yourself in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great potential but overall too long, 23 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dream Merchant (Hardcover)
This novel seemed undecided on its reader - parts were obviously pitched at younger children, with over simple diction and structure, whilst other parts were long and complicated with language and themes unsuitable for a child younger than 13. (There is a theme running through the novel that condones and excuses stealing) The plot has great potential but struggles often. Peripheral characters seem superfluous; the panther and Lucide are powerless chaperones. There seems to be too much book for the action. Too many words for the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dream Merchant
The Dream Merchant by Isabel Hoving (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews