Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Hillaire Belloc, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Whatever (Paperback)
I think that, as a child, this book would have terrified me, but my kids seem to love it! Perhaps because they know what wonderfully well-mannered children they are...

It's a cautionary tale, in the mould of Hillaire Belloc, but much more sparing with the words. Billy is a very spoilt child who is shown a series of wonderful things, such as the world's curliest trumpet, and the steamiest train. Billy's only response to all of these things is "whatever". In the end Billy's Dad shows him the world's hungriest tiger. After the tiger eats him, he shouts to his Dad that he is still there in the tiger. Dad's reponse as he walks away? "Whatever".

This book is wonderfully illustrated - they are bright and simple pictures, which remind me a little of the iconic Mr Benn.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking gobsmaker - my son was a changed toddler, 23 May 2009
By 
Timothy Takemoto (Yamaguchi-shi, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever (Hardcover)
Perhaps it is because I live in Japan, where there is a cult of positivity and shmalz, that I was so shocked, and my son gobsmacked by the ending. He looked at me with wide-eyed disbelief, and since reading it (well it was only yesterday) he has been keen to please. You will see why when you read the ending. The ending is perhaps morally sound, but be warned, it is not happy! I think this book is for children of four years old and above. My son is nearly three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 Jan 2010
This review is from: Whatever (Paperback)
bought all William Bee books after reading Beware of the Frog in the library, and wasn't disappointed.they are some of the best children's books I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Personified, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever (Hardcover)
This book is a fantastic read. Its humour appeals to the very young right through to adult level. As a teacher librarian I have used this as a tool to teach children about character, plot and story development. The simplicity of the text is a testament to the writing skills of William Bee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern classic, 16 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever (Hardcover)
a very original book.
great illustrations, includes a wonderful giraffe,
trumpet and train.
very good for fathers and sons.
best picture book of 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 July 2013
By 
J. White (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever (Paperback)
Another amusing book from William Bee, he is a firm favourite at our house. Simply for young children and well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever (Paperback)
Little boy loves it! After seeing it on bookaboo we have read this book a thousand times & still makes my 3yr old giggle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern day classic, 2 Jan 2006
By A Customer
this is a great book.
superb illustrations - the giraffe tiger and space ship are
particularly memorable.
nice simple 'join in' text.
clever twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern classic, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
perfect for little boys and their dads in particular,
simple but clever - nice twist at the end.
greta pics - really fabulous tiger ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever
Whatever by William Bee (Paperback - 1 May 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews