Customer Reviews


488 Reviews
5 star:
 (380)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sexy, emotional romance with a wounded heroine and a hot, macho Scotsman
This romance is told in first-person from Jocelyn's POV, and what a character she is. She's twenty-two, an American living in Scotland, trying to find some way back to living life without actually examining the hurt and pain she carries with her everyday. It's hard to live life fully when you're denying your emotions and keeping people at a distance. It's sort of a half...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by S. Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read
The book started well but I found myself having less and less sympathy with the main character as it progressed. There's only so much selfish angst one person can take.
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by Gimages123


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sexy, emotional romance with a wounded heroine and a hot, macho Scotsman, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
S. Richards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This romance is told in first-person from Jocelyn's POV, and what a character she is. She's twenty-two, an American living in Scotland, trying to find some way back to living life without actually examining the hurt and pain she carries with her everyday. It's hard to live life fully when you're denying your emotions and keeping people at a distance. It's sort of a half life, and she knows it. I think that's what I liked most about Jocelyn: her raw honesty with herself. She knows that she has issues and that she keeps an emotional distance between herself and the world, all in the hope of not being hurt again.

I liked this heroine, her toughness and her bluntness. Many times she was sharp, even hurtful to some degree, but even with all that, I never stopped liking her. And I'm one to turn on a character in an instant, but Jocelyn made sense to me, and all because the author wrote this young woman with a very genuine emotion, with very geniune character, and with a whole lot of depth. There's a truth to Jocelyn, and when you read her words and her thoughts, you see and feel all that she's hiding and revealing. I was impressed with her emotional journey and how she took me along with her on that ride. For all the toughness, there is a vulnerability to her, a fragility that's touching.

As that hot Scot pursued her, I felt her passion, her fear, and her longing for more. There is so much chemisty between her and Braden. Right from their first meeting, the attraction is instant, and it made each page fly by. I wanted them to get together, couldn't wait to read it. As she resisted him, it only made him more curious and more interested in her, and it made me frustrated and eager! All that delicious sexual tension between them, building and growing with each interaction until Braden was finally tired of playing her game of being pushed away. He turned it on full-court press, and he was awesome doing it. He's described as tall and hunky with pale blue eyes and sexy-messy dark hair, and for me, I kept seeing my favorite hunk, Henry Cavill, in that starring role. Quirky smile, all cocky and charming, and sexy as hell.

I loved Braden, especially when he went caveman on Jocelyn, being growly, jealous and territorial of her. I loved when he told Jocelyn that he didn't like to share, had no intention of sharing her and that she was his and his alone. This very alpha attitude just added to the sex for me, passionate and erotic, reflecting all the longing and need both characters were feeling. The sex was plenty hot but also intimate as well. Jocelyn was no match for Braden and his intensity and his will. He's having sex with her and all the while staring into her eyes and making her see him and all he was offering. I loved that.

I think this romance had just the right amount of angst for me personally. Jocelyn resisted, she was hard and prickly and required some work, and there were problems along the way. Even towards the end of the story, when Jocelyn goes deeper into self-protective mode and when I'd thought Braden had done something that made my stomach clench and completely flip-flop in dread, I rolled with it, riding out the angst and was rewarded with a sweet HEA and epilogue for the struggle. Really very good and satisfying, a sweet and emotional romance with a wounded heroine and hot, macho Scotsman who persisted and got what he wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read....., 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantasically well written book with a gripping story line that has you hooked from the beginning.
The characters are all extremely sexy and charming in there own very unique ways(certainly gives your imagination a wake up call). The author takes you right into the heart of Edinburgh and gives you a real feel for the people,area and life style. It is lovely to be able to relate to a book so vividly as I have oftern visited edinburgh.
As for the adult side of the book what can I say amazingly descriptive and relevant to the story line rather than just placed into the script to heat things up.

A must read as far as Im concerned and in my personal opinion overshadows certain other books of this nature that are currently available.

Cant wait for the next one thank you once again for another amazing book Samanatha.
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very sexy, very engaging read. Rawr!, 29 Oct. 2012
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this. I think anyone who enjoys emotionally-charged contemporary romances featuring messed-up characters, such as Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, for example, will enjoy this book. (Although I must say this is a more polished, more grown-up, sexier and more realistic story than BD without quite so many WTF? moments.) I make the comparison only because of how this book made me feel, which was similar to my reaction to Beautiful Disaster, in that I connected easily and strongly to the characters' twisted relationship and felt like I got sucker-punched numerous times. And it made me cry, at least twice. Which, bizarrely, is something I rather like my books to do.

It's a character-driven story with some very minor subplots thrown in and a strong theme of 'fear of letting people in/getting hurt'. The main culprit of this particular character flaw being Joss (Jocelyn) Butler, the protagonist. I liked Joss, I really did, but sometimes she infuriated me. She lost her family (mother, father and sister) in a car crash at age fourteen and went a little wild for a few years, then closed off and withdrew from people altogether. Cut to 8 years later and she's still mostly walled off from humanity, but has at least managed to acquire a few casual acquaintances. However, circumstances force a sharp change in her life when she moves into a new flat, with a new room-mate, on Dublin Street. And said room-mate has a very handsome, very charming, utterly egotistical brother called Braden, and this book is all about their tempestuous relationship.

It's an extremely sexually-charged relationship, with some absolutely scorching love scenes that were H.O.T. without ever crossing any of my personal boundaries of what I want to read about (like some other highly popular books floating about at the moment that you may have heard of...). Where the annoyance with Joss bit comes in, however--and really, it's not actually her fault at all--is that she has been so unhappy and alone for so long, that when the chance presents itself to become part of an adopted family of sorts, and a loving relationship, she's too scared to take it. And I just wanted to shake her silly at times and say "It's right there! What you are looking for is right in front of your damn face!". But then I also kinda wanted to cry for her as well, because she's clearly terrified of losing anyone again and thinks the answer is to not care about anyone...like, ever.

*sigh*

The use of 1st person narrative through Joss works really well for this book, even though it's much more common to find romances written in 3rd. Every thought, feeling and sensation is brought to you with first-hand descriptors taking you along for the ride rather than just being a witness to it. The other plus, IMO, is that it causes Braden to be that much more of a mystery as we never have the privilege of his thoughts, so we experience Joss's worries, insecurities and emotions about him which really draws you in, and it also means we also only get to see Braden through Joss's lust-filled gaze, making him seem extremely appealing!

Not that Braden needed much help to sound appealing... My, my, my. He has his caveman tendencies, sure, and I could have lived without the string of ex-Barbie doll girlfriends (as I'm sure Joss could have, too) but he was also very sweet and understanding, even when Joss was being a total basketcase. I liked his character a lot and might have a teensy weensy crush on him. Just don't tell anyone, 'kay?

To sum up, I lurved this book. I didn't want it to end. So if you're in need of a steamy, well-written contemporary read, this is the very fella for you. Enjoy!

5 Stars ★★★★★
ARC provided by the publisher for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Dublin Street, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book the story was very believable and written in a way that was easy to relate to, as the characters were all wonderful without being cheesy or OTT. Joss is just on the right side of sassy and cool without being too vulgar therefore she gets away with it and I love her character. Braden sounds hot, very handsome, witty, good sense of humour and loyal with a good heart, perfect man in my book. the sizzling chemistry and hot sex between these two is palpable and I couldn't put the book down. The rest of the characters brought together a very good story line which was more than just filling in between sex scenes as a lot of books do and the style of writing is good and made the book a real page turner for me. I want MORE please from this writer she tells a good tale and her characters are brilliant. GREAT READ 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sultry and Suspenseful, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
ON DUBLIN STREET has been on my TBR forever and despite a list of review books longer than my arm I finally decided to take the plunge as I was in the mood for some smut. I honestly didn’t expect the deeply emotional side to this book! Yes – it oozes sex but it has real depth to the relationship that develops between the characters and I am so excited to continue this series!

On her way to an apartment viewing, American student Joss ends up sharing a cab with the utterly gorgeous and hot Braden Carmichael. In their all too brief encounter, sparks fly and Joss is left wondering about the sexy businessman. She doesn’t have to wait long as Braden turns out to be her new roommate Ellie’s brother. Hiding a painful past, Joss is not interested in a relationship but cannot deny the sizzling connection she shares with Braden. Used to getting what he wants, Braden is determined to peel away the layers and heal Joss’s pain. Will the two admit the weakness they have for each other or will this love crash and burn?

Given that most of the books I read nowadays are US based it is always fun to change location and the picturesque, romantic city of Edinburgh is one I have always wanted to visit so ON DUBLIN STREET allowed me to travel there vicariously and I enjoyed Young’s depiction of the Scottish city serving as a backdrop to Joss and Braden’s steamy romance.

Steamy doesn’t begin to adequately describe the chemistry between these two and boy can Samantha Young write smut! The sexual tension reverberates off the page and I loved every minute. As I mentioned above, this is quite an emotional read as Joss with the help of both Braden and Ellie slowly starts to heal and face the pain she has so long tried to bury. It’s not an easy road however and while at times I grew frustrated with her reluctance to trust it was totally understandable. Braden was a complete surprise to be honest. While he is the typical, uber powerful businessman found in adult romance these days with women flailing at him everywhere he goes, he is a refreshing mix of arrogance and compassion. On the surface he appears to be over-confident and a total alpha but he is unfailingly honest and loyal to those he cares about and when he commits to something or someone it is with his whole heart. I loved how they challenged each other and how they simply “got” each other.

The development of the side characters was fantastic and I really felt like I got a sense of everyone which makes me even more excited to continue the series. I’m especially looking forward to Ellie and Adam’s novella despite inwardly wailing at the fact it is just a novella rather than a full-length story.

Sultry, mesmerising and suspenseful, ON DUBLIN STREET did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and captivating book with believable characters that deserves your time, 27 Mar. 2014
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Paperback)
"On Dublin Street" by Samantha Young is an adult romance story that it is good-written, and for those who like such titles would definitely be a page turner that would be difficult to put down.

The author tells us a story about Jocelyn Butler, called Joss, young woman from U.S. who moved to Scotland. She experienced lot of tragedies in her life, first losing her family then her best friend and due to that she keeps a distance from people doesn't letting anyone to come too close to her to avoid being hurt for another time. Joss is living in her lonely world going through her past over and over again.

When she will meet her roommate's brother, Braden Carmichael, Joss' life will start to change and from the moment they saw each other, Joss and Braden will be sexually attracted.

And when Joss will agree to enter in kind of relationship with Braden, she will discover that he's not completely sure what he wants from her. Although there was a chance that anything serious would ever happen between them, eventually they both will discover that deeper feelings are beginning to evolve...

Not being great fan of such stories, the author must be acknowledged that she told her story with many layers that usually isn't the case in this type of literature.
With each page she is going more into depths of their characters, exposing them more to the reader and while reader wouldn't always agree on some of their decisions, especially Joss's, she can be understood and believed as a character.

On the other side, Braden isn't the usual guy encountered in romance literature. He isn't an object of desire, some hero who cannot be found anywhere in real world. Instead, Braden is believable character, a man of flesh and blood, character with unhappy memories, without any pathos. And from male perspective it was interesting to witness despite it seemed like an impossible mission to win over Joss's heart and soul, but most important, her trust, he didn't give up no matter how hard she tried to move away from him.

The author also created some other interesting characters that enrich the story, and not being just flat passerby, like Joss's roommate and Braden's sister, Ellie who is character full of charisma and friend any one can wish for.

"On Dublin Street" is decent book that can be recommended even for those who usually avoid this genre due to its characters and convincingly described love story. Being one of those people, I was pleasantly surprise how quickly I read it.

Therefore, "On Dublin Street" is an emotional and captivating book that deserves your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was engrossed and hooked that I finished in a day!!, 28 April 2013
By 
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Paperback)
Blog Link: [...]
Title: On Dublin Street
Author: Samantha Young
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: 25th October 2012

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare. . .

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her brief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well - until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street, where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he's determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won't be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her. . .down to the very soul.

Incredibly passionate and downright romantic, On Dublin Street is a captivating and bittersweet story of the redemptive power of love.

I truly adored this book ever so much, I was hooked and had to finish in a day because I loved so much. If you are big fans of Fifty shades or Crossfire series then you are going to love this, Yes there is plenty of hot sex but there is also a deep love story between a woman & a man and what depths they will go to to have their passion.

We meet Jocelyn Butler a young woman who lost her family when she was a little girl and brought up with a foster family. Now capable of growing up by herself moves to Scotland for a fresh start and to hide away from her past, Until she meets a dark and handsome man in a suit who is going to rock her world...

Here walks in Braden Carmichael a very wealthy business man who knows how to get his own way with his own dark past but does wear his heart on his sleeve when it comes to family.

Jocelyn moves in with Ellie who just so happens to be Braden's sister and Braden is not going to give up the chase until he has Jocelyn in his bed... Can he get his own way? Or Will Jocelyn hide away just like she did with her family past? ....

I can't express how much I truly loved this book so so much, It was amazing, a truly great love story but also with plenty of hot steamy sex scenes too, made me blush quite a lot hehe.
I just loved the friendships and relationship brought a different side to Jocelyn or Joss as she keeps wanting to be called. I was very happy for her right at the end, tehe!

I couldn't just pick one favourite character, I had to have two, My favourite characters would have to be Ellie Carmichael, she reminded me of herself as she was a bubbly kinda girl and friendly, she even brought out another side to Jocelyn as well which was lovely and Also Jocelyn because I loved how Samantha had written Jocelyn's character so perfect and broken but deserving a happy life, she comes across an independent woman but slowly Braden manages to peel away each layer like an onion showing Jocelyn's true feelings on life which is good because plenty of women can relate to that.

I Thank Samantha Young for writing this book, it was perfect and I hope to see more of Jocelyn and Braden in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - read the reviews and they were right!!, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes you read a story and can't believe that it's fiction, the author writes the characters so believably that you feel there is life experience there, I would be very surprised if this author hasn't experienced extreme grief it's so palpable throughout this tale.

This is a wonderful story of Joss, an American girl in Scotland who answers an advert for a flatmate and after getting the place realises that she's already met the brother of her co-habitant Ellie. Yup, she's met Braden and therein begins a tale of a building sexual tension that nearly melted my kindle!!!

Joss is running away from facing her grief after an astounding tragedy that killed her family in America and she has got along just fine by not allowing any strong emotions to affect her - yea right - she managed this for 8 years but taking this flat and meeting Ellie's family just started chipping away at her armour and she painfully struggles to deal with this.

The story is heart-wrenching, the romance is erotic and very, very HOT. The characters are all likeable and believable.

Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Million times better than Fifty Shades!, 29 Jan. 2013
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This is not my usual book and to be honest after reading Fifty Shades anything that is compared to that would put me off. However the fact that is was set in Edinburgh (somewhere I know well) I decided to give it a go. It had me hooked from the start. It is nothing like Fifty Shades in that it actually has a story! I thought Joss was a great character and the fact that eventhough she has a tragic past she is still in control of how she wants her life to be. Yes there are sex scenes but these are part of a natural progression of the story not just put in there to sell books. The descriptions on Edinburgh were great and I could see the places in my head. I can't wait to read more adult fiction from Samantha Young. If you are put off this book by thinking it is a fifty shades rip off it isn't give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I wanted to create something beautiful in place of all the ugliness.", 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
Have you ever gone into a book pretty sure you will enjoy it because of the blurb and from what you have seen from other reviews but then when you read it you are actually shocked at how much you absolutely loved it? Well that is what happened to me with On Dublin Street. I really needed this book! I have been reading a lot of young adult novels lately and while I love them sometimes you just need an excellent, well written contemporary adult novel. And WOW this book fit the bill perfectly. The chemistry and romance between Jocelyn and Braden was on fire. The characters were believable and more importantly they were lovable. And I am not just referring to the two main characters, the side ones are just as lovable.

Honestly I found it so hard to put this book down once I started. As always there has to be a way for the characters to meet and in this case they share a cab ride. Holy hot Batman! I knew there was no way at all that I was going to be able to put this book down after that scene. How can so much hotness come from a scene where not even a single kiss is shared?

"Most women would be taking advantage of my imprisonment in the taxi with them-chew my ear off, shove their phone number in my face...as well as other things."

"Wow, you really think a lot of yourself."

He grinned back at me, his teeth white but imperfect and his crooked smile sent an unfamiliar shot of feeling across my chest.

"I'm just speaking from experience."

... and that is just a small snippet. Trust me when I say it is an awesome scene and it is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the awesome scenes in this book. I always tend to highlight favorite passages on my Kindle and by the end I am pretty sure that most of the book has just been saved in my clippings. Like I said, there are just so many great scenes.

Jocelyn (Braden refuses to call her by her nickname Joss) is troubled. She faced horrible tragedy at a young age and since then has closed herself off and never lets anybody get very close. She does have a couple of friends but they know nothing about her past and to be honest she probably only keeps them around because they don't press her with questions.

Braden is devilishly sexy but he is also kind, generous, arrogant, sweet. cocky, and witty. I loved Braden from day one and I never looked back. Usually in a book there is a moment when your feelings change. Yes you may go back to loving the person but something will happen and you will temporarily dislike them. This never ever happened! Braden Carmichael has successfully made it to my top ten fictional men, in fact I think he could have easily broken the top five. Braden is not without his issues, he has been burned in the past and a lot like Jocelyn he never lets anybody get very close, with the exception of his family. The love he has for his family is heart-warming and I also loved them so much. They are hard not to love to be honest.

Something else I really enjoyed about this was the way the author incorporated Jocelyn's therapy sessions. The switching to a session is seamless and it was our way of learning a bit more about her past as she doesn't open up to anybody else. I loved the therapist! She was insightful and quite funny in the end.

There are just so many great things about On Dublin Street. I could go on and on about it's awesomeness for ages but I'm sure you would get tired of reading it. I only hope I have managed to convince you to read this book. I have already made a friend of mine read it and she also could not put it down and is now in love with it. Two more of my friends will be reading it very soon and I am sure they will come to the same conclusion as me... On Dublin Street is one of the best books I have read in 2012!

"I feel like I'm missing something really important when you're gone. So important I don't feel like myself. I've never felt like someone was mine before. But you're mine, Jocelyn. I've known that from the moment we met. And I'm yours. I don't want to be anyone else's, babe."

Christine
Rainy Day Reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Dublin Street
On Dublin Street by Samantha Young (Unknown Binding - 16 Jan. 2014)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews