Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, interesting, well paced, and with some humour as well..
This is good, although both I and my other half who read it before me both found the beginning poor. He didn't like the very quick time changes, but those soon settle down, and I thought the translation was a bit clunky, although flicking back now I can't find anything specific to quote! HOWEVER, that all disappears and this quickly settles down into a gripping, well...
Published on 10 May 2011 by DebB

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but with serious flaws
I enjoyed this novel and would have given it three and a half stars but that option isn't available. It is a conventional page-turning Nordic noir crime thriller, and if that's the sort of thing you like, you will probably like this. There is nothing original or extraordinary about it. It clunks a bit in places but it's difficult to tell if that is the original writing...
Published 9 months ago by Gregory F Naylor


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing, compulsive, brilliant......, 11 April 2011
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have visited Denmark several times and my memories are of a sunny, beautiful country with helpful,friendly, handsome people,who are always very forgiving of ones' inability to say more than please and thank you in Danish! Then I saw 'The Killing' on tv and began to revise my views! This book only enhanced my new vision of Denmark as a rather dark and scary place! Jussi Adler-Olsen's novel takes you on a breathtaking bare knuckle ride from page one.
Carl Morck comes back to work after being shot in an incident which left one colleague dead and the other permanently disabled. Clearly his boss isn't sure quite what to do with him so makes him Head of a new department 'Q' created to take a new look at unsolved crimes. Carl plans to do as little as possible but his cleaner Assad [who totally charmed me!]finally manages to stir Carl to take an interest in the case of missing politician Merete Lynggaard. As the story progresses Adler-Olsen includes a series of flashbacks covering what actually happened to Merete, so the reader is in the enviable position of knowing more than Carl and is able to watch the process by which the Detective comes to that same knowledge.
If I have any criticism of the novel it is a minor one - I would have preferred the translator to use English idiom rather than American - but overall this was an irritation which wasn't sufficiently annoying to spoil the story. This novel is ingenious, well written and I believe Adler-Olsen to be a worthy addition to the brilliant band of Scandanavian crime writers such as M. Sjowall and P.Wahloo and Henning Mankell who are now entertaining lovers of crime fiction . I can't wait for the next book in the series. fjs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercy, Mercy, Me, 8 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a huge fan of crime fiction the fact that the recent popularity of Scandinavian crime fiction has passed me by is somewhat of a shock. I tried the tales of Wallander et al. but find them too downbeat and depressing to be fun reading. Therefore, it would take an award winning book for me to try again and this is exactly what the recently translated `Mercy' by Jussi Alder-Olsen is, 2010 winner of the best Nordic Crime Book 2010. 5 pages in and my fears were being confirmed. Protagonist Carl Morck is a maverick cop who is just back to work after being shot in the head. During the incident one colleague was killed, another paralysed. Carl describes himself as being neither dead nor alive - cheery. The book looked like it was going to be another grim read....

That was until Alder-Olsen himself seemed to shed the darkness. The crime depicted in `Mercy' is of a very dark nature, but the book is written in a pulpy manner so it never becomes hard to read. The character of Morck is less tortured and more grumpy. The partnership that he builds with his aide, Assam, is a great one and becomes the heart of the book. Between the two of them their like/annoy relationship means that Olsen always brings the book back from the darkness when needed. The shades of violence and cruelty that are commonplace in the genre are there, but Alder-Olsen creates a well balanced book.

The story itself is about a missing women who is being held captive, unbeknownst to anyone. The story is a little farfetched, but is well written enough that this does not matter. The book rattles along and Morck and Assad are able to discover new clues every few chapters to continually peak the interest of the reader. The pacing of the book is very impressive and hides some of the more silly moments in the book. Towards the end `Mercy' was a real page turner and one that I wanted to finish as soon as I could - a great sign for any crime thriller.

With fewer brains that it might think, `Mercy' is less cerebral crime thriller and more knockabout action crime thriller. This is no bad thing as Alder-Olsen pulls things off brilliantly and starts of what promises to be a great trilogy.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the search for merete, 5 April 2011
By 
misswise (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book; it kept me wanting to read it as I found myself gripped by the well written plot and characters. Carl is a police suprintendent who returned to duty after been shot and finds himself in charge of a new police department which solves impossible cases and is expected to solve them with the help of his one staff member; the cleaner/unofficial assistant Asad. The case of Merete Lynngard's disappearance/suspected suicide seems to be a lost cause but the author cleverly weaves the story revealing twists and hidden depths to various characters that keep you interested right up until the end. I can't wait to read the next instalment in the series by the author and will definitely love to see the movie when it comes out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars twisted tale of revenge, 29 Mar 2011
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Mercy' is a bit of a mis-nomer for this novel. Merete Lynggaard is an up-and-coming Danish politician, who seems to have it all. She's beautiful, she's successful, and she's climbing to the top of her tree career-wise. Then it all stops. Merete vanishes from a ferry, and no trace of her can be found. 5 years later, Carl Morck is 'promoted' to be the head of a new division, dealing in unsolved cold cases. Carl has many issues of his own, and is a thorn in the side of the Danish police force, hence his 'promotion' out of the general force. The case of missing Merete Lynggaard has been a bit of an albatross around the neck of the police, so Carl and his 'assistant' Assad begin to delve into the investigation. As they dig around, more and more is revealed about Merete, her background, and her brother, Uffe. The original police investigation missed some salient points that Carl takes great delight in pointing out to his ex co-workers, and the original verdict of suicide is now looking more and more unlikely. Where is Merete, and what really did happen to her 5 years ago? Can Carl Morck succeed where everyone else failed, and finally bring closure to the case? As the investigation deepens, more is revealed about Carl, who is very hard on himself, and has a dark cloud of guilt hanging over his head. I really enjoyed this book, it's quite twisted in its way, very clever, and extremely well plotted. Revenge certainly is a dish best served cold, as this book illustrates I think. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good entry into the crime-thriller genre, 26 Mar 2011
By 
V. Nicholl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this book, but can't decide whether it would have benefitted from a cut (say 20%) or not. The author makes it fairly obvious who the villains are, so this story is far more about the journey that Mørck, Assad and Merete go on, than about the reader figuring out whodunit. Try to ignore the synopsis from the publisher, it is rather misleading! I found the characters a bit cardboard, but nevertheless enjoyed the book, and will be interested to read the second in the series, as this is a debut novel, and writers rarely get into full swing on the first book! Not perfect, but an entertaining crime-thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 24 Mar 2011
By 
bookworm8 "bookworm8" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I read the prologue it seemed I was in for a story derived from 'The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo', and felt disappointment. However, although there are a few early similarities, there are far more differences. In the end, Adler-Ohlsen delivered better than I expected and I enjoyed this book after all. Despite some stereotyping, the characters interact well, and there are not too many of them to keep track of. The police department Q is an unusual off-shoot, but without giving away the plot it is difficult to say much more, so if you are interested in finding out why a young woman is imprisoned for so long, and tormented into the bargain, and how this situation ends, read 'Mercy' for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mercy (Dept Q1), 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy (Department Q 1) (Paperback)
Recommended by a friend. Lived up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Download excellent book gripping storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you great book speedy down load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read....finished in 3 days😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mercy (Department Q 1)
Mercy (Department Q 1) by Jussi Adler-Olsen (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews