Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Love it, Love it
I have read all Sylvia Day's books and loved them all, this is no exception. Their is a good story and great (slightly erotic) romance. What more can you want?
Published on 18 Jun. 2012 by Lorraine L.

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story sunk under too much sex
Sylvia Day's "Passion For The Game" is historical romance of the more earthy kind - there are more sex scenes in this story than anything else and, for this reader at least, it was a disappointment. The underlying plot and story of this book had potential: two very singular people, a smuggler pirate who is on his way to the gallows and a society Widow who is generally...
Published on 7 Jun. 2007 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story sunk under too much sex, 7 Jun. 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
Sylvia Day's "Passion For The Game" is historical romance of the more earthy kind - there are more sex scenes in this story than anything else and, for this reader at least, it was a disappointment. The underlying plot and story of this book had potential: two very singular people, a smuggler pirate who is on his way to the gallows and a society Widow who is generally suspected of killing her two husbands, clash as they both try to use each other for their own ends. Both Christopher St John and Maria, Lady Winter, are interesting and lively characters whose strength of nature has been forged through their difficult histories.

Christopher St John has been released from Newgate so that he can get evidence against Lady Winter for the deaths of her two husbands who were actually agents of the crown. Lady Winter has been blackmailed by her murderous stepfather Viscount Welton to spy on Christopher St John. These two people therefore meet under the circumstances where they cannot trust each other as their lives, or those they love, are at stake. But as they spend more time in each others' company (usually horizontally in this book!) they begin to unravel the different layers of each others' personalities and find something rather more important together. There is also a subplot of Amelia, Maria's sister, and her blossoming into womanhood whilst under house arrest by her father - she is used as a bargaining chip to make Maria do Viscount Welton's bidding.

The plot is fairly good in this story but the disappointment for me was the ubiquitous sex scenes. One or two would have been enough to give us an idea that Christopher and Maria are compatible in bed but it seemed that they were leaping under the sheets at every possible opportunity and we had to have detailed all that they did there. Although this book is meant to be a romance it fell rather short on the romance and was far more of a sex manual and one which used rather coarse language as well, even between the hero and heroine. I was also not always entirely sure of the historical setting in many cases and some of the phraseology was American rather than 18th century English. There were some interesting characters such as Quinn, Amelia and Colin (who I imagine are the subject of a forthcoming book) but more could have been made of the hero and heroine in this story outside the bedroom. The book was a reasonable read but also a missed opportunity overlaid with too much sex.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, [...] © Helen Hancox 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Love it, Love it, 18 Jun. 2012
I have read all Sylvia Day's books and loved them all, this is no exception. Their is a good story and great (slightly erotic) romance. What more can you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical romance, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sylvia Day you rock my boat, I have read all of the Historical romances that she has written and they are all so steamy I can't get enough of them, once I start on these books I really can't put the kindle down, the stories are all intertwined the same characters pop up time and time again you begin to feel apart of the history. Well done Sylvia, your number one fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion For The Game, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic book from Sylvia Day. You must reads this book. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another great holiday read I would recommend !!! It's an easy read that will keep your interest great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy steamy!, 8 Oct. 2013
Ah Sylvia Day... I do love her books with a passion.

Another book in her Georgian Historical Fiction series and another book where I was not disappointed.

This story centres around Maria - Lady Winter who appears are cold as her name suggests and an unlikely involvement with a renowned pirate - Christopher St. John. Both are as devious as each other and both are after each others secrets. Their pairing is super hot, with them both challenging and testing each other the passion is bound to get steamy! Sex scenes are awesome as usual but with the Lady Winter being another notch up on the usual fiesty heroine it made it that much more exciting and intense.

I loved the characters in this story, there was less of the usual hierarchy of positions in society which was refreshing and allowed the story to settle on a bigger plot scope then usual. The ending few chapters wrapped things up rather quickly, I almost wish she'd made this into a 2-part story so that there could be more drama and focus on the story at the end but it didn't feel super rushed so I'll let it slide!

I hope to see more sword-wielding girls in Day's books - it was lovely to see some balls on the girls! (Probably not that right words...) Maria was a breath of fresh air, I just wish we had more of a glimpse at her dangerous side. St. John was hot and I loved his intellect, he went a tad sappy towards the end but again not too much to spoil things.

All-in-all a great book that I devoured in 2 sessions! Get reading now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the story, intrigue, characters and setting of the book. Another great read by Sylvia Day! Can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Jones "emjay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As always, another great book by Ms Day! Her period/ Georgian books are my favourite. Adventure, great characters and lots of romance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who like the crossfire series these books are a must historical times but same great stories and passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have become addicted to Sylvia Day's historical series. Characters you can believe in and engage with. I couldn't put it down and now have the set downloaded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passion for the Game (The Historical series)
Passion for the Game (The Historical series) by Sylvia Day (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews