Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Love it, Love it
I have read all Sylvia Day's books and loved them all, this is no exception. Their is a good story and great (slightly erotic) romance. What more can you want?
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Lorraine L.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story sunk under too much sex
Sylvia Day's "Passion For The Game" is historical romance of the more earthy kind - there are more sex scenes in this story than anything else and, for this reader at least, it was a disappointment. The underlying plot and story of this book had potential: two very singular people, a smuggler pirate who is on his way to the gallows and a society Widow who is generally...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Love it, Love it, 18 Jun 2012
I have read all Sylvia Day's books and loved them all, this is no exception. Their is a good story and great (slightly erotic) romance. What more can you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story sunk under too much sex, 7 Jun 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
Sylvia Day's "Passion For The Game" is historical romance of the more earthy kind - there are more sex scenes in this story than anything else and, for this reader at least, it was a disappointment. The underlying plot and story of this book had potential: two very singular people, a smuggler pirate who is on his way to the gallows and a society Widow who is generally suspected of killing her two husbands, clash as they both try to use each other for their own ends. Both Christopher St John and Maria, Lady Winter, are interesting and lively characters whose strength of nature has been forged through their difficult histories.

Christopher St John has been released from Newgate so that he can get evidence against Lady Winter for the deaths of her two husbands who were actually agents of the crown. Lady Winter has been blackmailed by her murderous stepfather Viscount Welton to spy on Christopher St John. These two people therefore meet under the circumstances where they cannot trust each other as their lives, or those they love, are at stake. But as they spend more time in each others' company (usually horizontally in this book!) they begin to unravel the different layers of each others' personalities and find something rather more important together. There is also a subplot of Amelia, Maria's sister, and her blossoming into womanhood whilst under house arrest by her father - she is used as a bargaining chip to make Maria do Viscount Welton's bidding.

The plot is fairly good in this story but the disappointment for me was the ubiquitous sex scenes. One or two would have been enough to give us an idea that Christopher and Maria are compatible in bed but it seemed that they were leaping under the sheets at every possible opportunity and we had to have detailed all that they did there. Although this book is meant to be a romance it fell rather short on the romance and was far more of a sex manual and one which used rather coarse language as well, even between the hero and heroine. I was also not always entirely sure of the historical setting in many cases and some of the phraseology was American rather than 18th century English. There were some interesting characters such as Quinn, Amelia and Colin (who I imagine are the subject of a forthcoming book) but more could have been made of the hero and heroine in this story outside the bedroom. The book was a reasonable read but also a missed opportunity overlaid with too much sex.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, [...] Helen Hancox 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical romance, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sylvia Day you rock my boat, I have read all of the Historical romances that she has written and they are all so steamy I can't get enough of them, once I start on these books I really can't put the kindle down, the stories are all intertwined the same characters pop up time and time again you begin to feel apart of the history. Well done Sylvia, your number one fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant stories., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
An amazingly knowledgeable author. Sylvia Day will keep you wanting more. The more you read the more you want. Simply brilliant stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion For The Game, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic book from Sylvia Day. You must reads this book. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
i really liked this book better than i expected and glad i got it, i will have to read more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another great holiday read I would recommend !!! It's an easy read that will keep your interest great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars passion for the game, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
loved these books, couldn't wait for the last one to be published. really good read, all of the books by this author i have read i have enjoyed, keep them coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collector, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
I am collecting this authors books, this was one to add. I have not read yet, great price. Cheaper than super market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great womens Erotica, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion for the Game (Paperback)
Well written , descriptive, different as set in the past, great to loose yourself in and escape from the real word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passion for the Game
Passion for the Game by Sylvia Day (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews