Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story
Difficult to believe if you are too young to be aware of the stigma attached to being an unmarried mother at this time.
In the 50's my mother used to knit garments for a mother and baby home, yet still referred to it as the "home for naughty girls"! This book is a compelling read and easy to Kindle your way through in the hope the author finds joy and peace in her...
Published 21 months ago by SusieW

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed up pages
Was a good story but a bit annoying that the pages were mixed up and you had to find the order of them to follow the story
Published 20 months ago by sharon Baxter


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true story, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to believe if you are too young to be aware of the stigma attached to being an unmarried mother at this time.
In the 50's my mother used to knit garments for a mother and baby home, yet still referred to it as the "home for naughty girls"! This book is a compelling read and easy to Kindle your way through in the hope the author finds joy and peace in her life. Read it and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unmarried Mother, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone born after the nineteen seventies really needs to read this book to see how much attitudes have changed since the nineteen fifties. The author grew up in a family where love was in short supply. Her mother regarded her as a nuisance and while she had a good relationship with some of her brothers and sisters life during and after World War II was not easy. I find it really sad when someone was happier during the nine months she spent in hospital because of Diphtheria than she ever was at home.

The section of the book which is the real eye opener for anyone who did not grow up in the nineteen fifties is when the author became pregnant. Contraception was unreliable and difficult to obtain especially if you were not married and legal abortion was not available. I was born in the nineteen fifties and I remember the mother and baby homes where unmarried mothers went to have their babies and give them up for adoption. It was the worst thing that could happen to a young girl in that era - to become pregnant outside marriage. It was always the woman's fault. It was impossible for a woman on her own to claim any form of welfare payments - benefits were for men only.

The author through sheer grit and determination and the help of her older sister and to a certain extent her mother managed to keep her daughter. She was fortunate that she had understanding employers as well but what she did was very unusual then. Some people she came across didn't judge her but there were others who regarded her as the lowest of the low. When her daughter was a toddler she met the man she was to marry - partly because he seemed happy to accept her daughter. But that was the start of a nightmare for both the author and her daughter.

I found this book compelling reading. It tells a poignant story in a very simple way which gives it a much bigger impact than it might otherwise have had. The author freely admits she made mistakes in her life and that she would have done some things differently given a choice. Her relationship with her mother was always problematical but at least her mother did accept her granddaughter in the end and allowed her daughter to live at home with the baby.

This is far from being a misery memoir and I enjoyed reading it. I found it most interesting for its portrayal of the attitudes and way of life in the nineteen fifties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving read, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is so well written without any animosity towards those who inflicted the hurt, just written as it was experienced. It was very moving on so many levels and should be read by as many people as possible, especially the younger generation. The strength but also the vulnerability came through in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unmarried Mother (Paperback)
This is a wonderful read. It is very touching, and I could really feel for the writer at all stages of her awful childhood and teenage years.trying to make something of her life, but with the negative remarks and comments, which she was constantly drip-fed by her cold harsh mother.
This is a real page-turner, and the last photograph seeing her so happy, is very uplifting after all that she lived through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unmarried mother, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good book very easy reading could not put the book down did not want it to finish good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed up pages, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a good story but a bit annoying that the pages were mixed up and you had to find the order of them to follow the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing Pages in book, 15 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have been a great book to read, only too many pages and sentences missing from book making it totally unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GR8 Book!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is absolutly fantastic I couldnt put it down, it was very much to the truth and factually written. Well done Sheila Totield You have a wonderful book here, cant wait for the next one at all, Thank you once again, Jean Calladine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Emotional Read, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really touching real life story well written. It is also a historically interesting book which documents how different society was in the 1940's and 50's to today. I couldn't put it down and am grateful to Sheila Tofield for sharing her experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unmarried Mother (Paperback)
Love is probably the wrong word and used only in sense I can't put it down....v honest book, painfully so sometimes and yet the writer manages to be objective - would have thought the author was in her late 20s, vibrant, tight with good eye for detail....then discover she's 80+!! Amazing versatility of mind and graphic, brilliant writer - and then every so often when writing about the pain of childhood, she becomes the wounded child....every page has touched my heart and know it's true because my life's much the same - I would certainly buy another book by this author, and a whole shiopful if she'd write them - hard to explain why but something about her and her book is unusual, unique and I love her thoughts, I love her style and I've been gripped by every page....I would highly recommend it as a read.....Squirrel 59 - F 10.10.14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unmarried Mother
The Unmarried Mother by Sheila Tofield (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews