Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, controversial and uncomfortable reading
Sophie is middle-class, educated, intelligent: she defines herself as a feminist, has a good job as a journalist and had a well-adjusted childhood - she's also a sexual submissive, and this is her story.

This is uncomfortable, even disturbing reading and yet at the same time it's a book which is impossible to put down. Sophie's story is an honest and direct...
Published on 30 Aug. 2012 by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Woman needs a Shrink!!!
After reading 50 Shades of Grey i decided to purchase this book to get a glimpse at BDSM in the real world. I have to say that i am horrifed by the amount of abuse and humiliation Sophie (as a submissive) has and will go through to become sexually aroused. It seems that most of the time it is bordering on torture. Even though Sophie has grow up in a stable home...
Published on 6 Dec. 2012 by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, controversial and uncomfortable reading, 30 Aug. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Diary of a Submissive: A True Story (Paperback)
Sophie is middle-class, educated, intelligent: she defines herself as a feminist, has a good job as a journalist and had a well-adjusted childhood - she's also a sexual submissive, and this is her story.

This is uncomfortable, even disturbing reading and yet at the same time it's a book which is impossible to put down. Sophie's story is an honest and direct account of a woman who is independent, intelligent and very self-aware who yet gets her sexual kicks from being demeaned, humiliated and physically hurt.

She makes the point clearly and repeatedly that this is her choice, that she chooses to be `punished', that while she hates it, she also loves it. Some of her own confusion comes over, the way she can't explain her own sexual response in any way that makes sense to us, but that she chooses to embrace it anyway.

Be very clear that this is full of practices that go way beyond any kind of `playful' dominance - we're talking hard-core pain, even agony, that has Sophie sobbing with pain and humiliation. Even more disturbing are the scenes where she tortures herself at her Dominant's request, inflicting the kind of pain that most of us don't even want to imagine.

This isn't erotic in the slightest (and I don't think it's mean to be) - and especially revealing, to me, is the point where Sophie's Dominant is unsettled by his own sadism and questions whether that's who he wants to be.

So this is a million miles away from the coy tweeness of Fifty Shades of Grey: and its very intelligence makes it all the more disquieting. I don't think I can say that I enjoyed this book but I couldn't stop reading it with a kind of horrified fascination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So intense!, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and very intense look into the mindset of a submissive. The author is very descriptive and articulate and the insights into her world make for highly compelling reading! We both enjoyed this book immensely and couldn't put it down until we'd finished. If you enjoyed the Fifty Shades trilogy but are looking for something deeper (and far darker), then we'd recommend this wholeheartedly. But be warned, this is not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a real honest book! I couldn't put it down. Loved that there was no dark screwed up millionaires lusting after a 20 something temptress! A real life account of being that little bit more than the norm Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, true life story, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Submissive: A True Story (Paperback)
A brave, honest, no-holds barred account of the experiences of a true life submissive. I didn't find it erotic in the slightest, in fact parts made me feel very uncomfortable. It's a well-written book, and Sophie comes across as a very likable, intelligent woman. She's honest in her account of how she realised she had certain tendencies and describes the significant relationships she has with Thomas and James. At times I found myself wishing that Sophie wouldn't be so stubborn and would use her safe word. I will reading be the sequel, No Ordinary Love Story, and hope she finds her happy ending and a dom who treats her well.

Many people outside the D/s scene probably knew very little before the Fifty Shades trilogy, myself included. If anyone has romantic notions from Fifty Shades, they should definitely read this book as the reality is totally different to what went on Christian's playroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener, 12 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Diary of a Submissive: A True Story (Paperback)
I got into erotic fiction after reading fifty shades and progressed onto 'proper erotica' straight away, and even strayed into non-fictional books on the subject as i find it fascinating and can actually relate to some (a lot) of it.

I really enjoyed this book. I find a lot of other mainstream BDSM books (fifty shades, crossfire trilogy etc)a bit unrealistic as they don't really involve submission, more the woman just getting off with a bit of kink involved.

This, however, was a refreshing read! To see what submitting was actually about, giving yourself up to someone entirely, and the thought processes behind it was so interesting!

It was also refreshing to read about erotic humiliation/degradation rather than just physical acts.

My only concern is that towards the end there is one scene that i would class as verging on being an abusive relationship, and that at that point she fell in love with the Dom. This was disconcerting, but it's also only my opinion and it may in fact be a reality of a true d/s relationship, but it was unsettling to some degree.

My advice though, is to read this book and enjoy it, i certainly did ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exists already as "subtext" by Kate Marley, 9 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book: exciting, titillating and you won't want it to end. It explains the D/s dynamic wonderfully and sets the score straight re:50 shades.BUT..I have paid twice for the same book: subtext by Kate Marley was published in 2010 by accent press; only the names have changed and it was down as fiction. Very annoyed to have been tricked into wasting money this way. So, yes; buy the book for a great, insightful story that has believable, sexy scenes and likeable characters... just don't be fooled into buying the exact same story if you already own 'subtext; a modern day tale of female submission'(which, amusingly, was billed as the modern story of O before the 50shades sheep-lit..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into this world, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
So, lots of us have read the Fifty Shades Trilogy and started the Crossfire trilogy so when I received The Diary of a Submissive I though that this would be the same thing just with different people in different locations. What I didn't totally realise was that this book whilst written in a story format, is actually one lady's true accounts of being a submissive.

This book is NOT for the faint hearted. It is extremely graphic and erotic in places, but also knowing that it really happened, kind of makes elements of it a little hard to read.

Well written and gripping. The subject matter is as detailed as you'd expect and leaves nothing to the imagination. What I struggled with most was how it made me feel. I couldn't understand how degraded and worthless these submissive's feel and are treated, it isn't that it was always because of being in love with that person. Whilst you get an element of this with the `novels' that are on the shelves, they are more love stories. This book is about control and the need to please in the BD/sm roles.

It's a fascinating read, well written and a real insight into this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, controversial and disturbing, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Sophie is middle-class, educated, intelligent: she defines herself as a feminist, has a good job as a journalist and had a well-adjusted childhood - she's also a sexual submissive, and this is her story.

This is uncomfortable, even disturbing reading and yet at the same time it's a book which is impossible to put down. Sophie's story is an honest and direct account of a woman who is independent, intelligent and very self-aware who yet gets her sexual kicks from being demeaned, humiliated and physically hurt.

She makes the point clearly and repeatedly that this is her choice, that she chooses to be `punished', that while she hates it, she also loves it. Some of her own confusion comes over, the way she can't explain her own sexual response in any way that makes sense to us, but that she chooses to embrace it anyway.

Be very clear that this is full of practices that go way beyond any kind of `playful' dominance - we're talking hard-core pain, even agony, that has Sophie sobbing with pain and humiliation. Even more disturbing are the scenes where she tortures herself at her Dominant's request, inflicting the kind of pain that most of us don't even want to imagine.

This isn't erotic in the slightest (and I don't think it's mean to be) - and especially revealing, to me, is the point where Sophie's Dominant is unsettled by his own sadism and questions whether that's who he wants to be.

So this is a million miles away from the coy tweeness of Fifty Shades of Grey: and its very intelligence makes it all the more disquieting. I don't think I can say that I enjoyed this book but I couldn't stop reading it with a kind of horrified fascination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ABSORBING BOOK, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be easier to read than fifty shades.
Good story and insight on how a woman as intelligent as the main character can allow herself to be treat this way.
i was not sure that i would be able to read this after reading the three of EL james but I was quick to become absorbed in the story.
a good read well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and Intruiging, 26 July 2012
By 
Mrs "offtheshelf123" (Bedlinog, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an feisty feminist I find the whole submissive thing both fascinating and difficult. This book really helps to explain the dynamics and attraction of a relationship in which a women surrenders control for sexual pleasure. It's not for the faint-hearted but I couldn't put it down. Certainly not another 50 Shades rip-off because it's genuine and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of a Submissive: A True Story
The Diary of a Submissive: A True Story by Sophie Morgan (Paperback - 30 Aug. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews