Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars2,365
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2012
After reading 50 shades in less than a week I felt deflated and sad that it had all come to an end. I needed something to dull the pain of loosing Christian and was on the look out for a new read. After reading the reviews on Bared To you I thought I would give it a try... I was not disappointed! Of course there are similarities between the books - rich billionaire seduces girl and much erotic scenarios ensue. (Actually some more erotic than 50 Shades) I'm not going to go into details about the book suffice to say that if you loved 50 shades then you will love this book. The story line is really involving and I finished it in two days. I see that it is rocketing up the Kindle best sellers list so obviously people agree too! I believe it's to be a trilogy with more books out later in the year so not too long to wait for my next fix.
Enjoy :)
22 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
i brought this book after reading reviews saying it was just like Fifty Shades so i thought why not give it ago because i loved Fifty Shades.
i read the book in a day and liked it.but i could happily put the book down and not go back to it for a while it just didnt keep my wanting to know what happends next but saying that i did like the book although i dont think its like Fifty Shades, Bared to you is completly different and deals with real life issues the relationship between Gideon and Eva happens really fast but its great to read that Eva can stand up for herself.as the book progressed i started to get into it more you really start to feel for Eva and Gideon is just as messed up.if your after another book like Fifty Shades then this is the book BUT this book stands out on its own merits, sex, strong character, real life problems and very well writen, and i can safley say that after finishing this book i found myself wanting to Know more you really do want there relationship to work out. i have pre-ordered the second book thats out in october. i recommend this book 100% :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
I read all 3 of the 50's in less than a week, and a few of my friends had read this and were talking about it, both mixed reviews varying from "it's amazing" to "it's proper sick".

all the reviews i read said that if you liked 50 then you'd love this, at first i thought, it can't be as good as 50, i am one of the few people out of my friends so saw past the sex and focused on the emotions, feelings and sensations, which made it more realistic for me, even though you knew most of it was made up.

Bared to you however i thought was much better than 50. it is more realisitc, down to earth, they can have an evening without the "red room of pain" and the fact that they could just chill out and watch tv, really did it for me, some parts i rolled my eyes on, but the story behind Eva made it more interesting and her attitude in comparision to Ana.

I am counting down the days till reflect in you is out. my uni work WILL BE PUT ON HOLD. hell i might ot even go in just to read it, haha. i want to know more about cross and his story!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Ok so I will start by saying this is very similar to grey with the character abuse and the damsel falling over into the hot billzionaire they all have parent issues one way as well as the apparent low esteem in both main characters. Like some of you I found the limo scene rather bizarre and confusing. I hoping the second book actually answers some of the question that was left hanging in this book, like what was the abuse that was suffered by him and what the hell is the problem with the younger brother? The characters aren't very defined in their own right yet and again I hope the second book rectifies this.
On the other side it was a fast paced book which your able to read in a day and a half and be entertained, the style of writing is fluid and concise none of the bull crap from 50 shades in fact I possible would suggest to slow down and really focus on the main characters and make us; the reader really root or disapprove accordingly.
My advice would be to give it a go it's a pretty good read and passes the time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
It took me a long time to pick up another book after the Fifty trilogy, partly from withdrawal and partly because I just didn't believe there would be anything quite as entertaining... This book proved me wrong. I got to like the characters, possibly even more than Christian and Ana. Definitely I liked the writing style more and this was immediately noticeable. Eva, the heroine is also far more likeable, if not at times a touch bitchy. Gideon gives Christian a run for his money, but both have their merits as moody alpha males with dodgy pasts go...

Either way, if you enjoyed Fifty, you'll more than likely enjoy this. I was at first bothered by the many similarities in this book to Fifty Shades, but it is mostly excusable as the writing style is better, the events fairly plausible and the characters make the situation unique to their story, instead of sounding plagiarised.

Try it, I doubt you'll be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
Eva knows herself. She knows her shortcomings and is upfront about them.

'I'm a jealous person. I can be irrational with it.'

If you get to page 144 and don't like Eva - this book is not for you. I really enjoyed it (and 'no' I haven't read 50 Shades). I like that Eva is aware of her faults. I thought the characterization of Eva and Gideon was realistic. I certainly was never bored with this book and look forward to book 2.

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness - beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily.

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. We would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private wounds .... and desires.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
I got to 38% on the Kindle...and left it there...six books ago. I suffered the whole of the 50 shades series, largely to see what my wife was so worked up about... thank you to the author, I/we had a wonderful summer.

My wife managed it to the end of this one and can't be bothered with the rest though would like to find some more girly porn!,I'd like her to too! She is now reading the second in the Rivers of London Series, a very light and enjoyable read by Ben Aaronovitch: I've read all 3 and will happily pick up another one of his books.

Bared to You is in my archive, maybe one day if I really can't find anything else to read and have nothing else to do I will finish it.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
I confess that like many others I downloaded this on to my Kindle after reading 50 Shades. It was recommended by a friend and I was certainly not disappointed.

I do not like comparing books written by different authors. However, there are some clear similarities and I think if you're a fan of 50 Shades and Christian Grey, you will equally be a fan of Gideon Cross!

I find the characters in Crossfire much more realistic. I found it hard at times to imagine that 50 Shades could ever happen, however, I found Crossfire much more convincing. Having said that, I get in the lift everyday at work and I am certainly not propositioned in such a manner!!

There are a lot of unanswered questions in this book and I hope thay Sylvia Day answers these in the next installment - which I have already pre-ordered for my Kindle!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
I bought this after reading FSoG "as if you liked FSoG you'll love this" and whilst it was an interesting read I personally found it lacking in depth of story. To my surprise it ended unexpectedly mid story. I can understand leaving a few loose ends to justify a further book, BUT it was very disappointing and left the whole book and story unanswered. :(
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Wanted to read something similar to fifty shades and a book that would live up to it! My mum recommended reading bared to you so i downloaded it on my kindle. I am so glad that i took her advice!
In my opinion bared to you and the crossfire books in general are much better written than 50 shades, I found myself drawn to Gideon just as much as Christian in fifty shades. They are both very similar in storylines ie a rich experienced guy with a dark past meets an innocent woman with a dark past but I found that in this particular book the sex scenes were raunchier and a lot more frequent. It is crammed with romance and suspense and the storyline is fantastic. I've read the second book aswell which was just as impressive and now i'm waiting on the 3rd to be released.

if you loved 50 shades you will deffo love this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.