Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Doctor Who, you'll like this annual
Once again, the BBC have put together an excellent Doctor Who annual for all television fans of the programme, young and old. Gracing the front cover is the Doctor and the Red Dalek Supreme and Davros on the back cover, all on a silver foil backing which makes the annual 'stand out' amongst the rest!
Readers of BBC's Doctor Who Adventures comic will instantly...
Published on 21 Aug. 2008 by Bryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars kids will love it but does contain some errors...
bought this for my 6 year old cousin and i'm sure he'll adore it but just flicking through i happened to notice some clangers... like "current doctor... the ELEVENTH doctor" and "tardis - time and relative DIRECTION in space". shame about these typos, unsure if there are others. still a good buy though, a nice cheap present.
Published on 24 Dec. 2008 by LF Winstanley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Doctor Who, you'll like this annual, 21 Aug. 2008
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
Once again, the BBC have put together an excellent Doctor Who annual for all television fans of the programme, young and old. Gracing the front cover is the Doctor and the Red Dalek Supreme and Davros on the back cover, all on a silver foil backing which makes the annual 'stand out' amongst the rest!
Readers of BBC's Doctor Who Adventures comic will instantly recognise the format inside the annual. Every page is covered with facts and features on Series Four and readers are re-introduced to Donna, Martha, Sarah Jane, Rose and Jenny, as well as the Ood, Adipose, Master, Hath, Sontarans and, of course, Davros and his Daleks. With a mix of text story, comic strips and puzzles, this annual is a worthy accompaniment to the Doctor Who StorybookDoctor Who Storybook 2009 (Dr Who).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for any Dr Who fan!, 2 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
My son aged 10 is heavily into Dr Who and was dying to get this annual. He was impressed by this new one and found it both interesting and entertaining. Although a cheap gift he rated it above some of the PS2 games he was given!!! Would recommend this annual for any Dr Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Dec. 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
Barcode: 9781405904278

Well, for starters, this annual is gorgeous to look at! With it's foil cover and the red and gold of the Supreme Dalek, this book stands out a mile from the other annuals on the shelf and inside the book, everything is colourful and well laid-out too. Weighing in at 93 pages, it's got a lot in it too and is sure to keep Who fans occupied over the Christmas holidays.

Large bulks of the book is mostly just a retrospective of the recent series, pictures and short outlines detailing the monsters, planets and adventures found in the Doctor's TV adventures. It's all stuff we've seen before and can be a little tedious for fans already well-versed in the series, but younger readers are sure to love it, as they will the numerous puzzles and games scattered throughout the book too. There is also a few pages of Sarah Jane Adventures material to be found in here as well.

More of interest to older readers is the new material on offer here in the form of 3 comic strips and 2 short stories. While the plot of the first comic strip seems slightly rushed, the other 4 pieces of work are great stuff, slotting in well with the feel of series 4 and dealing with some surprisingly mature themes, such as euthanasia. We also get some quirky little pop culture references in the final comic strip, including Strictly Come Dancing and the Bee Gees, of all things. All in all then, this annual's a job well done, and makes for an ideal companion to the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 14 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
As with previous Doctor Who annuals, this is glossy and nicely presented but will probably last the average 8-15 year old about an hour. The mix of puzzles, features, comic-strips and factoids from the series is reasonably diverse, however there is too much space given to The Sarah-Jane Adventures (why not have its own annual?) and not enough original material. Still, as a previous reviewer said, if you're a (juvenile) fan of Doctor Who you'll love it; it does what an annual's supposed to do but for the money I'd go for the far superior Doctor Who Storybook 2009 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Annually Who, 2 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
Another year another annual - this is no better or worse than any other and remains an essential Christmas stocking filler for any self-respecting Doctor Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Who Official Annual 2009, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
Jacqueline D. Little (Vancouver ,BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
Ace! Excellent! - Comments from my 11yr old son.
I thought the format was good. The perfect gift for a Dr. Who fan. A well produced and well thought out book. Lived up to our expectations. Worth the money - and the shipping costs ( we now live in Canada ). I hope that the style and content is not changed - when publishers do that it really does spoil things for serious fans and collectors of memorabilia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOCTOR WHO 2009 ANNUAL, 9 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
Right, well i'm going to start by saying that the comment that says that there are some errors is wrong, it's done purposly, it's a True or False page, so obviosly there are going to be some errors which are the FALSE answers. So don't let that comment put you off.

I am a HUGE Doctor Who fan and this was the perfect present for me! And for that price, it's sooo worth it!

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars kids will love it but does contain some errors..., 24 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
bought this for my 6 year old cousin and i'm sure he'll adore it but just flicking through i happened to notice some clangers... like "current doctor... the ELEVENTH doctor" and "tardis - time and relative DIRECTION in space". shame about these typos, unsure if there are others. still a good buy though, a nice cheap present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who fan, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Green (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
my son is very fasinated by all the characters in Dr who always asking questions. This annual gave us some of the answers. Arrived quickly and not damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Annual 2009, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Stuart L. Stacey "glover" (Andover Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 (Hardcover)
The annual was for my grandson aged 5 and I think it is for older children as he found it hard to understand unless I read it for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009
Doctor Who: The Official Doctor Who Annual 2009 by BBC (Hardcover - 7 Aug. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews