Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!
I bought this book for my son worried that it may contain too much of the 'geek factor' and not enough enjoyable features that he looks forward to in his annuals. I was pleasantly surprised that this book contains not only enjoyable games and fascinating facts but a couple of great comics which i really enjoyed.

I would recommend this book for any fan, young or...
Published on 21 Sep 2006 by Adam

versus
36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Annual? Should have been Doctor Boo Annual...!
Having collected the Doctor Who annuals since 1964, when they were published by World Distributors, and then bought last year's annual published by Panini, I was very disappointed when I looked through this year's annual and found 'those same old facts' which are appearing everywhere, a few games and two poorly written picture stories. Where were the text stories? Then I...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Bryan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Annual? Should have been Doctor Boo Annual...!, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
Having collected the Doctor Who annuals since 1964, when they were published by World Distributors, and then bought last year's annual published by Panini, I was very disappointed when I looked through this year's annual and found 'those same old facts' which are appearing everywhere, a few games and two poorly written picture stories. Where were the text stories? Then I noticed the annual had been published by the BBC and the penny dropped when I realised the Doctor Who Story Book, by Panini, was actually this year's annual...I think! All the old annuals, and last year's as well, could be enjoyed by fans young and old. This year, you have to buy TWO books to get an annual catering for both age groups. Clever thinking, those publishers. So, the moral of this review is: If you're an avid fan of the series, buy the Story Book - every one else, as long as you're very young, should buy the annual and give it away as a Christmas present later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son worried that it may contain too much of the 'geek factor' and not enough enjoyable features that he looks forward to in his annuals. I was pleasantly surprised that this book contains not only enjoyable games and fascinating facts but a couple of great comics which i really enjoyed.

I would recommend this book for any fan, young or old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars as long as you're under 10 you'll love it, 4 Jun 2007
By 
Miss E. Chambers "Atheistic Pagan" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
i got this 4 christmas (disapointing after i had asked for the series 2 box set) but when i looked through the anual, it's mostly just for kids, there is cartoons, jokes, puzzles and info on characters. oooh and a funky hologram on the front. it's a good kids annual, but for older fans i would definately not reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2007, 8 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
what I love about this is that all of this book is fantastic like the 9th doctor would say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 13 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
Last year's Annual, published by Panini (who also produce Doctor Who Magazine) was an excellent read, full of well-written stories and features. This year's, which has been brought to us by BBC Books, is a major disappointment - and probably the reason why Panini have brought out the Doctor Who Storybook 2007, which is much more akin to the style of last year's tome than this lightweight effort. Repeats of comic strips and features from the pretty poor Doctor Who Adventures comic (also - surprise, surprise! - a BBC publication) make up the whole of this flimsy book, which is pretty shoddy given that the comic itself was only nine issues old when this was printed. Surely even an eight-year-old can recall a story or feature they read in another publication just a couple of weeks ago? BBC - give the production of next year's annual back to Panini and stop trying to make a fast buck, as this is not worthy of the excellent series it promotes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Annual 2007, 25 Dec 2006
By 
T. Gogerty "N.C.C.1701" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
The book is a good quality build, it has crisp pages that are well attatched to its hard backed spine.There was a lot of information,about the Dr's freinds and enemies,and some good 'cartoon led' stories,also some reasonable jokes aswell!...i.e. Whats the best way to see a Cyberman?? = ... On the Television! , Well I did say they're reasonable!:) There is also an interesting 4 pages of factual information about our solar system.

I would recommend this book,as its a well built,well filled,interesting read!, the only negative,is that I think its a bit on the 'thin side'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!!!!, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
No doubt this book will be the No.1 annual for Christmas. For a book geared towards children, it fulfills everything it sets out to achieve. My niece and nephew love it!. The lenticular lends itself so perfectly to the regeneration of the two Doctors.

A great buy!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Childish Then Normal, 7 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
I realize annuals are geared toward children, but many adults read them, too. I was expecting this annual to be similar to most others I've bought: some stories, a comic strip or 2, articles about the series, and a couple games. Instead, this annual contains no stories--my main reason for reading annuals--but it has an over-abundance of games, most of which I'm not interested in. Although the annual claims to be "packed with classic annual content", it's far from classic Doctor Who Annual content.

There's another book available: The Doctor Who Storybook. I highly recommend that instead of the annual for 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for young Doctor Who fans, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who Annual 2007 (Hardcover)
This is by far the best Doctor Who book available. If you are after a no-brainer gift, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Annual 2007
Doctor Who Annual 2007 by BBC (Hardcover - 31 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews