Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I like this book
I am an A level physics teacher and this is the book that I ask my students to buy. Firstly I am very happy that the book has no answers because if I want to set questions from it I know that my students have to work for the answers. They can't cheat. Secondly the book matches the exam sequence so there is a 6PH01 and 6PH02 section in the AS text book. Thirdly my students...
Published 17 months ago by hare1959

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read for yourself
My teacher, who i may add is the worst i have ever had and is the main reason my class is failing, decided to force us to buy this book. Having come to the end of the course, i have come to the coclusion that the book is awful. It vaguely covers all the points on the syllabus, unlike the chemistry version which is detailed and clear. I have had to buy a few other text...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Jack C R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read for yourself, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
My teacher, who i may add is the worst i have ever had and is the main reason my class is failing, decided to force us to buy this book. Having come to the end of the course, i have come to the coclusion that the book is awful. It vaguely covers all the points on the syllabus, unlike the chemistry version which is detailed and clear. I have had to buy a few other text books , like physics for you which is good (recommended) and for a wider view on physics the advanced oxford physics is great. Edexcel's course may be GCSE standard but the book is SATS standard. THe new active book is good on the maths versions as it actually has worthwhile questions in it . But the main use of this disc is Frisbee and the best part is when it gets lost. The book seems more fixated on the history of the topic , which maybe interesting but totally useless. I have read that it is a good revision book, even if it were intended for the use the main help is its contents which displays the course's syllabus. Unfortunately i have nothing else good to say so i hope you dont buy this book and have fun reading other more interesting and challenging books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad book, avoid buying it !, 21 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
This book may seem nice at first sight, but the explanations provided inside are very confusing, and it is not straightforward at all. Something that could be said and understood in one or two sentences is sometimes developed in two paragraphs !

The CD provided with the book is totally useless because it does not contain any useful resource. Don't expect to find past exam papers or revision notes...

If possible, buy another book. You are very likely to spend too much time to find what is important to study for the exam.

(For the answers to the exercices of this book (or any other Edexcel A Level book), contact customersolutions@pearson.com They gave me all the answers I needed.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not enough by itself, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
I like how the book is presented. I found some of the explanations too twisted and some of the ideas aren't clearly laid out.
It's good enough though to get the basic concepts down.

I recommend that you finish reading the book. Just read through it and make sure you understand why all the statements in the book are correct
(might need some researching in the internet, here and there).

Then, buy another book: Edexcel AS Physics Revision Guide (Edexcel A Level Sciences) by Mr Tim Tuggey

Read through the concepts again. Then answer all the questions in there. The questions in that book are challenging enough. I'd say they are more
difficult than the actual exam so, it's very good preparation.

Then, buy another book: Edexcel unit 4 and unit 5 STUDENT UNIT GUIDE
Read through the concepts again and answer all the questions in them. They also have a lot of good questions in them too.

After that, you should get an A*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WORST BUY!, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
this is the worst book to have for eddxcel physics! true it lays out content in a neat way but the content is too concise! this book skips mainly to main concepts without even explaining or showing why or how the concept was derived i.e. the formulas needed for the exam are mentioned but for each of those formulas it doesn't show why its true or how its true! and sometimes exams ask for it so only relting onto this book isnt the best thing if you want a best grade! the concepts should be understood before goin to an exam but if you dont know em well you wont be gettin your expected grade with this book! plus there are no answers for the questions in the book!! for the price its worth, atleast it should provide with answers but it doesnt!!!

i'd say that the revision guide made by the same authors is a great tool for revision 1-2 days before the exam! but not this book!

hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge problem with this book..., 7 Jun. 2010
By 
S. J. Hall "Steve" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
Whilst the book is well written and well laid out, there is one big problem with it.

There are no answers in the book to any of its questions. The book presents both quick progress check questions and also end of chapter exam style questions. Unfortunately, there is not a single answer to any of these questions to be found in the book or on the CD. How are you supposed to check your progress?

I would not buy this book for that reason alone. There are other books out there just as good that do not fail so badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Vague and useless, 19 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
Physics should be simple but this book makes it seem far more complicated, choosing to use lengthy texts that twist and turn around the topic but still don't explain it directly. This book is full of lengthy stories about physics, histories behind topics, and stories of real-life physics applications which aren't very relevant to the exam. While it neglects to lay out basic principles and doesn't explain how to calculate answers. Not concise at all, and a LOT of missing information. My teacher probably only made me buy it so that he can go through the topics really quickly, as it doesn't really teach anything. I am going to look for another physics book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bottom line - Bad book, don't get it, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
This book is terrible for a number of reasons: 1)There is little relevant content, a lot of it is talking about the history of a physicist etc 2) The content that IS relevant goes into little detail.
If you want a book to study from, this is not the one for you. However, if this book is merely an extra on the side, than it will not hurt to own it. Personally, at my school they have a book called 'Advanced physics for you', which I prefer a lot more. It goes into so much more detail whilst being more fun/interesting to read. After all, studies show you learn better when you enjoy yourself/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Below par book, Wouldn't recommend., 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
After Buying this book for my AS Edexcel - I'm quite disappointed. I've finished the Unit 1 from this book - It seems like the author of the book went into irrevelant stuff like (History of things) in quite detail and leaving behind the revelant and important facts.

Another big factor is the Questions in the book, have no Official Answers to it.. (Not even in the ActiveBook CD)

There are quite better books out there, I wouldn't recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Edexcel AS physics student Books., 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
Neither the book or the active CD provides answers to any of the questions in the book.
Also the resources are limitted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 24 May 2012
This review is from: Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) (Paperback)
We had to use this book, for our AS-physics. We all decided that this book is awful. The few example that there is in the book are useless, and has no glossary and very limited definitions. No answers are given for the questions so it is very difficult to revise from. The book also goes into no depth at all in any topics. Our teacher also told us if we only used this book we could only hope to achieve an E grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences)
Edexcel AS Physics Student Book (Edexcel A Level Sciences) by Mr Patrick Fullick (Paperback - 14 July 2008)
£23.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews