Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good study guide.
Granted, this book does not contain the full scripted play; however, I only needed basic information on it for my English Lit A2 'reading for meaning' exam. The book included: themes and relevant quotes, Acts and analysis, and pertinent quotes, character analysis, information on the Ibsen and information about historical context. If you're studying the play in...
Published on 20 Jan. 2011 by Ms. C. J. Coleman

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and insightful text which I enjoyed studying
As a part of my A level studies I have concentrated on this text. I have found it most interesting and insightful if a little hard to comprehend at first. This edition is very good for the price but is by no means upto the standard of other texts which boast analysis and also the alternative ending. I have yet to find a good sudy guide to this text so it is perhaps worth...
Published on 22 Oct. 2000 by Dr Pooky Knightsmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good study guide., 20 Jan. 2011
This review is from: A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Granted, this book does not contain the full scripted play; however, I only needed basic information on it for my English Lit A2 'reading for meaning' exam. The book included: themes and relevant quotes, Acts and analysis, and pertinent quotes, character analysis, information on the Ibsen and information about historical context. If you're studying the play in isolation, you would definitely need to buy another book that actually contains the full script. If you want to get an overview, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful study aid, 23 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Like many of York Notes Advanced's titles, this provides an insightful and useful accompaniment to the study of Ibsen's play.

Clearly explained contextual information helps to shape a modern reader's understanding of why the play was so shocking.
In-depth character analysis demonstrates the importance of each character in the play, how they each change throughout, and how our perceptions are altered as events unfold.
Plot synopsis gives a chunk-by-chunk analysis of the play, and points out important quotes, themes, symbols, etc.
Language and style analysis provides a thoroughly academic introduction to the novel.

Thoroughly recommended for those studying the play or simply with an interest in Ibsen's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and insightful text which I enjoyed studying, 22 Oct. 2000
As a part of my A level studies I have concentrated on this text. I have found it most interesting and insightful if a little hard to comprehend at first. This edition is very good for the price but is by no means upto the standard of other texts which boast analysis and also the alternative ending. I have yet to find a good sudy guide to this text so it is perhaps worth investing in a more facilitative original text if your intention is for study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great play at a very reasonable price, 22 July 2010
By 
Melmoth (London, England) - See all my reviews
So, the Dover Thrift Edition of Ibsen's a Doll's House. Is it durable? No - one touch of the paper suggests it's the sort that will yellow and fray in a matter of months rather than years. Is the translation up-to-date? Again, no. If my googling is right, it's nearly 70 years old and, while it may be truer to Ibsen's 1879 original than a more modern version, there are some phrases which could certainly do with a tweak (things like 'I will brush my muff' can bring out the Finbarr Saunders in even the most diligent of readers). Are there extensive notes, prefaces and all the other paraphernalia one might expect in a modern edition of a well-respected work? Nope, just a two-paragraph note and a list of characters.

On the other hand, what this is is a remarkably affordable edition of an extraordinarily powerful and important play, a play that portrayed the powerlessness of women in Victorian society for the first time and shocked the theatregoers of its time. To be able to lug a copy around for less than a peek at a paywalled edition of The Times is an unmissable opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Doll's House" Revision Notes, 20 Jan. 2011
This review is from: A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Product was brand new and was of great help! Could not have passed my A-Level Language and Literature without it. Gives detailed notes on the book and focuses on key concepts and ideas, great for understanding and analysing the play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 17 July 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I must admit that this is the first Ibsen play I have ever read. At the price this was something that I couldn't ignore, however if you are studying it for university you may want a different edition with notes and an in depth analysis. If like me you just read plays for your own enjoyment then this is more than adequate.

Ibsen is recognised rightly so as one of the greatest playwrights ever and this is probably his most famous play these days. As you start to read this you get an image of an ideal family setting, but as things progress you find that this is not so. Under the surface Nora has been borrowing money behind her husband's back to pay for him to have a vacation whilst he is ill. Now he is better and is going to start a new job in the following year, but he is unaware of Nora's actions. As things proceed inevitably Nora's borrowing comes out. Nowadays we look at this as something that happens or things similar all the time, and no one bats an eyelid, however at the time this was first performed, 1879, things were different. Victorian standards ruled throughout Europe, and women were supposed to be meek and mild, and not be able to do such things, indeed this caused a sensation at the time and was considered highly controversial. Indeed in Germany an alternative ending was made for this play so as not to cause upset.

Ibsen is considered to be the father of modern drama, and this is probably one of the first feminist plays. Despite its age it is still powerful and due to its naturalism it reads like a script for an episode of a soap opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for you Nora, 8 April 2010
By 
D. Day "meerkat hybrid" (West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book as it on my set reading list for uni next year and it is the first one I have read out of them. I very much enjoyed it. The stifling environment of the one room of the house we are shown symbolises Nora's marriage to Torvald. Christine shows Nora how a woman can live for herself and find true love, even if this is not until the very end. Everyone escapes Torvald with his patronising air and tendency to use people for his own gains, and leave him alone, in his doll's house, forever waiting for the "most wonderful thing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Doll's House is a masterpiece, 8 Mar. 2005
By 
burnthouse (Mabe Burnthouse, Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
I read this book not knowing what to expect (my partner is studying Enlish Lit' with the Open University and it is on her reading list).
I think it is a masterpiece, so much drama and suspense trapped inside such a small play, it is very clever and also leaves you feeling that you are a better person for having read it.
My partner paid £0.99 for this book, I would say this price does the book an injustice. A classic to rival 'The Medea'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant play on Marrige, Supression and Feminisme., 22 Jan. 2003
Henrik Ibsen in one of the most famous Norwegian writers thoughout the world. And he is known for his plays where he gives a critical view upon the society.
In this play, everything happens around the main character Nora. She is innocent, naiv and has no education at all, just like most women of her social rank had at that time. Her husband, Torvald, is well known in the city, and his wife is just a "doll". She isn't supposed to have opinions on anything, just smile and look pretty in this male dominated world.
When Torvald Helmer finds out that his wife has "stole" money from her father to be able to pay for a health insitution for him, he's shocked. Nora, not understand what she might have done wrong, was only trying to help her husband, and yet protect her dying father. She wakes up, starting feel independant, wanting to discover herself...
Ibsen was a master of showing different sides of the social levels, and giving a critic view on what he didn't like. He has done it yet again, focusing on the marriage of these two people. Supression and a male dominated world is central aspects, and also the growing feminisme.
The book is worth reading for anyone how loves to read. It is truly one of Ibsen's best plays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for A level, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This set of Notes seems to be very good for A level students of the play. However, when ordering it I had a peek inside the covers, and I got the wrong impression that the Notes also included the text of the play. As that was not the case, then I had to order the play separately. My fault of course, but I guess it could have stated more clearly "play not included"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced
A Doll's House: York Notes Advanced by Henrik Ibsen (Paperback - 28 Aug. 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews