Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great A Level/GCSE Help, 12 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Firstly, this book does NOT have copies of the poems in! I didn't realise this and was slightly disappointed when it came. Though, if you look really hard, you can find the poems online.
That said, everything else about this book was very useful, particularly for A Level coursework, giving the basis of some ideas but not doing the work for you, so no risk of plagiarism. It has some ideas for practice essays as well for those doing it as an exam text. It has an extra, in depth, analysis of a few poems which is helpful if you do get to pick and choose which you're using, and for everything else has some 'key quotes' along with the analysis.
Definitely recommended as a revision guide, especially for AQA's Struggle for Identity and Love through the Ages A Level courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly helpful book =), 1 Mar. 2009
By 
Ms. A. P. Jones (LONDON babyy =)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
The York Notes Advanced for The Worlds Wife are so useful when studying the anthology. It goes through each individual poem and highlights the important quotes and themes throughout. There are also sections dedicated to themes etc so that you can successfully compare poems with each other. Brilliant product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Brilliant guide to the wondrous World's Wife. I love these poems and this book helped me to understand the poems in other ways. The only quibble I have is that Mrs Macready in Mrs Midas is surely not a reference to The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. That seemed to be reaching too far! Surely just a reference to CAD's experience of being a Primary School child. Otherwise brilliant notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy., 21 Mar. 2010
By 
Jennifer (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Bought this for my English course, it has everything I need to know, and at half the price it's sold most other places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
A. McGeoch "A. M" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
An excellent help and guide alongside the text for a level examination. Opens your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Great work from York Notes. Aided massively with some fantastic annotations and explanations. Carefully thought out structure to make it simple for the reader. The service was also excellent in receiving the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars !, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
This guide has been extremely helpful for my daughter who studied AS English Literature, it helped her a lot both with her coursework and her exam technique, providing quotes and essential critical interpretation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really liked this!, 10 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
A great little revision guide. However, I really liked the poems themselves so perhaps this is why I am so encouraging about it! Only thing that would have been better would be to either have the poems in it, or include a section of critical material (quotes from other critics about Duffy's poems) as I spent most of my time scouring the internet for stuff. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A helpful guide, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
This guide was quite helpful to me when resitting my english exam. It gave me tips a points of view that i hadn't got in lessons. I recomend this guide to anyone studying the poems. I'll just have to wait and see if it helped with my results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE WORLD'S WIFE, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. L. J. Haden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
BOUGHT AS A PRESSY, ARRIVED IN EXCELLENT QUAILITY BUT THE CONTENT WAS FOR MY BROTHERS DAUGHTER WHO WANTED IT FOR HER SCHOOLWORK. SHE LIKES READING AND SWATS WELL SO I YHINK SHE'LL ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced)
The "World's Wife" by Carol Ann Duffy (York Notes Advanced) by Mary Green (Paperback - 30 Aug. 2007)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews