Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unbiased and honest review
This is a great revision guide for AS English Literature when studying Spies by Michael Frayn.
Everything you need to know is explained in the guide, and there are also other things which are there to increase your understanding of the novel. I particularly liked the chapter by chapter breakdown, which explains the significance of what goes on in each chapter, and...
Published on 23 Dec 2007 by GoldenMile

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spies
I thought I'd ordered the novel itself, not these notes. But perhaps it was my mistake, I've no way of checking.
The book was in good condition.
Published 21 months ago by bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unbiased and honest review, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This is a great revision guide for AS English Literature when studying Spies by Michael Frayn.
Everything you need to know is explained in the guide, and there are also other things which are there to increase your understanding of the novel. I particularly liked the chapter by chapter breakdown, which explains the significance of what goes on in each chapter, and has a glossary to explain words you don't understand. The notes in the column, which guide you to websites and books for further information are also very good, and very well researched.
However, in some of the sections, it would be better if more quotations from the novel had been used to back-up what was written, especially in the themes section. A few example exam questions would have also been nice.
Overall this is an essential revision guide to Spies, and I would highly recommend you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Anyone who is studying the novel needs to buy this book. It is packed full of everything you could possibly need to know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Miles Alura (London, Londom, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Easy to understand. Simple layouts throughout. I was a total novice at literary criticism, but the book was the crutch which helped me to hobble through the dense forest of Linguistics to get to the hidden meanings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spies, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I thought I'd ordered the novel itself, not these notes. But perhaps it was my mistake, I've no way of checking.
The book was in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Order never dispatched and seller failed to respond to 2 email chasers. unable to cancel order and therefore had to submit claim via Amazon to get order cancelled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I used this book when retaking my English Lit AS level, and I acheived an A...While that wasn't totally down to the book, it is concise, accurate and detailed and was very helpful when revising.

However, it is far less important than the book itself, but they would make great companions. A minor irration was that the margins seemed to be filled with useless snipetts of information regarding things related to the book. While a few of them may be interesting, i'd have preferred the space they used to be filled with actual relevant content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not in depth enough, 21 Mar 2008
By 
J. Moss "jon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The study guide simply does not go into enough depth. It provides basic summaries of chapters, and very brief descriptions of key themes and characters, without going anywhere near the detail required to get even a C grade on the AS level exam.
This study guide would be suitable if Spies was set as a GCSE text, however for AS level it does not cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivery boo boo!, 13 Sep 2007
This review is from: Spies: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
While I rate this text highly, I was very disappointed in the length of time I had to wait for the text to be delivered. I believe I ordered this text during June/ July and only just received it on the 12th September!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spies: York Notes Advanced
Spies: York Notes Advanced by Anne Rooney (Paperback - 30 Aug 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews