Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good all rounder for anyone starting off on a TEFL career
This book is a good basis for anyone starting off on a TEFL career and/or studying for the TEFL certificate. The chapters are simply written and run through the basic approach to teaching english. It gives a good introduction but is really a one-off read and you are unlikely to use it as a reference book during your career.
Published on 13 Mar. 2002

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
This is a good basic introduction but I can't rate this any higher than three stars because there is little advice within this book on practical teaching skills which I would have expected from the title. The text is somewhat turgid but is improved by the helpful use of different typography to highlight section headings and important ideas raised in each chapter. The...
Published on 1 Oct. 2008 by A Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good all rounder for anyone starting off on a TEFL career, 13 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This book is a good basis for anyone starting off on a TEFL career and/or studying for the TEFL certificate. The chapters are simply written and run through the basic approach to teaching english. It gives a good introduction but is really a one-off read and you are unlikely to use it as a reference book during your career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 1 Oct. 2008
This review is from: How to Teach English: An Introduction to the Practice of English Language Teaching (2nd Edition) (With DVD) (How To Series) (Paperback)
This is a good basic introduction but I can't rate this any higher than three stars because there is little advice within this book on practical teaching skills which I would have expected from the title. The text is somewhat turgid but is improved by the helpful use of different typography to highlight section headings and important ideas raised in each chapter. The practical examples used are quite helpful. A useful complementary text to this book is Jim Scrivener's 'Learning Teaching' which has much more to say on the practical issues of teaching a class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful introduction, 11 Nov. 2007
By 
Cole Davis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this in preparation for CELTA and subsequently when reviewing what I was doing in my classes. Useful. NB Much more practical than Harmer's 'The Practice of English Teaching', which is a dreadful book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Andrew (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I bought this book when I started teaching six years ago because it was on my CELTA course reading list. Unfortunately it has never been of any use to me in the classroom. It always seems to be either stating the blindingly obvious such as why it is important to teach reading, writing etc., or focussing on entirely the wrong things, e.g. the tenses or the quality of the tape recorder you use. My abiding memory of the book, though, is the system it has hit upon to suck all the enjoyment out of teaching: The "Engage - Study - Activate" sequence, which runs throughout the book; First you need to Engage the students, then they Study, then you Activate this knowledge and then perhaps they Study again so you have sequences like ESAS. Deathly! If you're looking for practical teaching tips written concisely, get "Practical Techniques", a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Especially great for home study, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Petite Fleur (England or France depending on the weather :o)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Teach English: An Introduction to the Practice of English Language Teaching (2nd Edition) (With DVD) (How To Series) (Paperback)
I thought this book was very good. The DVD is great if you are studying by correspondence course. It is good to learn about class room scenarios and how to handle situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT an essential as so many courses will tell you., 20 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This is a very overated book,
For anyone with a basic command of the English language, much of the content is unnecessary. Whilst many CELTA and TESOL courses imply you this book is an essential , it really is not. I felt the price was far to high for a softback book which gives little practical advice or materials for teaching. On finishing my TESOL 4 week course i promptly sold the book and was glad to be shut of it to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to teach English, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Mrs. N. D. Lecuuer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Teach English: An Introduction to the Practice of English Language Teaching (2nd Edition) (With DVD) (How To Series) (Paperback)
The DVD which comes with the book, is really good, easy to use, with short sections which you can use when you have little time to read the whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only a decent introduction, 16 Jun. 2010
This book is a good introduction but does not go into enough depth of detail to be able to be useful. I'd say if you were buying a book this would be a gentle introduction into the world of ESL rather than a golden shiny book in which you can consider to be a bible of sorts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Teach English: An Introduction to the Practice of English Language Teaching (2nd Edition) (With DVD) (How To Series) (Paperback)
I choose this product to contribute towards my English teaching qualification next year. I have had a scan of some areas and find th book to be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars University Book List so necessary to read for degree, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Teach English: An Introduction to the Practice of English Language Teaching (2nd Edition) (With DVD) (How To Series) (Paperback)
University Book List so necessary to read for degree. A necessary read for all students wishing to complete a BA in English Language Teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews