Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deeper insight.
This is a study book and not what some might call a casual read. It is quite dense as far as information goes, and I would say an excellent work of reference for research if studying for a history exam dealing with this topic. The notes and references along with the bibliography are extensive.
Published 10 months ago by Stargazer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars heavy going
Deals with the war by themes, which although I read some for a course I am doing, it was dry and turgid reading. The book I are encyclopedic, maybe I am being unfair but it wasn't easy reading and I think people might struggle to get at info
Published 21 days ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars heavy going, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective) (Paperback)
Deals with the war by themes, which although I read some for a course I am doing, it was dry and turgid reading. The book I are encyclopedic, maybe I am being unfair but it wasn't easy reading and I think people might struggle to get at info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deeper insight., 22 Jun 2013
By 
Stargazer (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective) (Paperback)
This is a study book and not what some might call a casual read. It is quite dense as far as information goes, and I would say an excellent work of reference for research if studying for a history exam dealing with this topic. The notes and references along with the bibliography are extensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Academic but readable, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective) (Paperback)
This a a thorough, academic work. Comprehensive, it covers all the key aspects of the war but does not get into the detail of individual battles. Despite all this, it is quite an easy read. It is incredibly well referenced. It's ideal for serious study but not if you want a straight forward overview of the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK TO RELISH, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a brilliant book by one of the outstanding historians of the Great War. The introductory chapter should be reauired reading for all who wish to understand the late 19th century, without which the war is incomprehensible.

The remarks by some reviewers about an academic text are common and amusing. There seems to be a view that academic texts are dangerous and difficult to read and understand. They are only so if badly written and replete with jargon. This book is not in that category.

Anyone wishing to understand the war and the complex events leading up to it should read this account. It will dispel the countless myths and bias of so many books about this tragic event.

For battles go elsewhere. There are around 1200 books available in the English language alone that will give readers a view of these. Many however are dreadfully inaccurate and biased. The reduction of the chaos of battles to a clear cut description plus of course often dubious maps will always result in a very partial picture of what really took place. This author's book on Ypres is a rare exception.

A very highly recommended book. It is in the top best 50 or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great War: 1914-1918, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective) (Paperback)
I needed this book for a university course, but waited until I knew I had a place. I was very pleased to receive the book in exactly the timescale that was indicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab008bdc)

This product

The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective)
The Great War: 1914-1918 (Modern Wars In Perspective) by Ian F. W. Beckett (Paperback - 8 Oct 2007)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews