Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need
I think the fact that it is prescribed for the Oxford law course says it all - not for simple introductory courses! If you're looking for a superficial analysis, buy nutcases or a casebook. If you're looking for first rate analysis from one of the UK's leading authorities on land law, then this is the book.

Thought provoking and thorough, some say it's like...
Published on 28 Jan 2009 by Book Boy

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for detail, bad for the basics.
We use this at Oxford for the Land Law course. It is utter pants if you're just starting out and want to know what the hell is going on, but once you have a grasp of the basics, it is good for further reflection and nitty-gritty analysis.
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by A. Lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need, 28 Jan 2009
I think the fact that it is prescribed for the Oxford law course says it all - not for simple introductory courses! If you're looking for a superficial analysis, buy nutcases or a casebook. If you're looking for first rate analysis from one of the UK's leading authorities on land law, then this is the book.

Thought provoking and thorough, some say it's like Oxford tutorials but in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 Oct 2004
By 
this book is thoroughly readable and enjoyable. as this part of a law course is usually for first time legal students the book written in a way not to confuse you and keep you interested in the ways of the legal system. informative, and thorough this was the only text book I used in the first year for my property module.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for detail, bad for the basics., 15 Feb 2008
By 
A. Lee "AL" (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Property Law (Longman Law Series) (Paperback)
We use this at Oxford for the Land Law course. It is utter pants if you're just starting out and want to know what the hell is going on, but once you have a grasp of the basics, it is good for further reflection and nitty-gritty analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really love it. Perfect for the purpose of understanding Property Law. Good value and well standard. Paper quality is also nice. Recommendable to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for any LL.B studying Land/Property Law, 9 Jun 2012
By 
GSH (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This book was provided to me on my distance learning LL.B (Hons) degree for the Property/land element of this year. I can honestly say, I'd be lost without Roger Smiths' Property Law - Cases and Materials. This book is not designed for the light-hearted. If you want the bear-bones, I would recommend Nutshells, LawExpress or Key Facts and Cases. Smith provide a detailed insight into the ever confusing world of land land and if you have that extra 10 minutes to read the comments and attempt the probing questions, it is well worth your extra time. The only constructive comment is that Smith omits to use basic features, such as bold and italics to really highly the conflicting areas and complex areas of this subject, otherwise, a must for any law student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too difficult to read, 3 Jun 2001
By A Customer
As the one-line summary says, this book is really too difficult to read, especially for non-law students. However, it includes basically anything concerning property law, not only land law. For example, it includes something on finding ad possession cases etc. I suppose it would be more suitable for a post-graduate students rather than under-graduate students. Also, the depth of the information should be adjusted, it is not necessary for undergraduate students to look and know some difficult and too academic topics. One has to remember that students who read the book usually are going to sit for a property law exam, somehow some materials inside are not necessary and some are non-necesssary complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 out of 5, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Ms. A. Madan "A. Madan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Property Law (Longman Law Series) (Paperback)
Covers every topic a second year LLB student needs, but its very difficult to follow sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Property Law (Longman Law Series)
Property Law (Longman Law Series) by Roger Smith (Paperback - 25 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews