Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2014
Few things could be better than a BBC dramatization of a Douglas Adams novel, and I couldn't be happier than to finally have a complete collection of all the Hitchhikers and Dirk Gently recordings. I have, in fact, already found Gently's advice that when you are lost, follow a driver who looks like he knows where he is going to be a valuable guide in unfamiliar neighborhoods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
For me, the Dirk Gently stories are Douglas Adams at his best.

This story is innovative, entertaining, thought provoking and just a joy.

The broadcast version is not, of course, as good as the book but it's well done and a pleasure to listen to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
Witty, well written, well acted, perfectly adapted. You can't get better than a world class adaptation of a world class writer at his best. I still miss him.

Based on a character who was spawned from an aborted Dr Who script (Shada - the lost Tom Baker story) Dirk Gently is the holistic detective. The story takes you on a fantastical meander around the imagination of one of England's greatest writer's.

Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
Listened to the original broadcast and loved the series, not as good as reading the book but would be supprised if it was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
An absolute masterpiece of radio theatre. Funny and of course brilliantly written by the late lamented Dougla Adams of Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy fame. Harry Enfield leads an outstanding cast. In short, I liked it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Recorded as a BBC radio play with Harry Enfield as Dirk Gently this is excellent.

If you are a fan of the books and like audio books or radio plays this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2010
Even though I'm pretty ancient, I post-date the era of radio stories. It's not something I've ever really listened to. Douglas Adams started his surge to serious success via this rather unusual media, so it's interesting to listen to somebody else's adaption of a book he wrote with no intention of it being made into a radio series. But it's the first radio story I've listened to apart from Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy (HHGG), and the other Dirk Gently adapation.

This is the 5th adaption of Douglas Adams work produced by Dirk Maggs. The insert card mentions that there will be 3 Dirk Gently adaptions, so I assume he intends to somehow complete the "Salmon of Doubt" which was only partially written when Douglas Adams sadly passed away. It will be VERY interesting to hear how that one goes, if it ever happens. An ambitious undertaking!!

All in all, this is yet another professional and well produced adaption of my favourite authors work.

If you enjoyed the book you'll probably enjoy this work. I like to support people like Dirk Maggs who are working to keep Douglas Adams work alive. After the relative failure of the HHGG movie, this is realistically the last new material that will ever be available in terms of Douglas Adams work - unless Dirk Maggs does something with Eion Colfer's "And Another Thing" (Go for it Dirk - I'll be a buyer)

The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I never really fell in love with the Dirk Gently concept. I love Hitch-Hikers and if you're tossing up between this work and similar adaptions of the last 3 Hitch-Hikers books, choose the latter. I just didn't laugh as often with the Dirk Gently books or audio as I did with HHGG. But it is definately something different to just a straight audio book, and I think everyone involved did a great job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
I'm giving this two stars (instead of one) because the acting is top-notch.
The script, however, is a shame. I understand that in a radio dramatisation, you have to cut some parts and rework others. But what is the sense in adding unneeded characters, whole new parts and jokes which have got nothing to do with Douglas's humour?
Furthermore, what really works in the original books is that they are like puzzles: pieces are spread throughout the story, and in the end they all fit perfectly and you discover what all the strange things that apparently made no sense were about. *That* is the meaning of 'holistic'.
Instead, this script happily reveals all you're supposed to discover later right away. I realise the production could not find any other way, but that's just the result of a very bad job; it takes away the crucial point on which the books are based - and titled.
If you're a hard-core fan, you'll probably want to buy this anyway - but prepare to be disappointed. If you aren't, you'd be better off reading the original book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
The second in Douglas Adams' brace of Dirk Gently novels is the better of the two books in my opinion and makes a great audio. Harry Enfield has settled into the role brilliantly, and his take on the eponymous `Holistic detective' is near perfect. Investigating `the inter-connectedness' of all things, Dirk encounters Norse gods Thor and Odin, on Earth and wreaking havoc. He also has to deal with a homicidal furry giant, a manipulative and lascivious goblin, a violently television obsessed child, and his old nemesis Inspector Gilks; the most sarcastic and cynical police detective ever to (dis)grace The Force.
This audio book is in its originally broadcast episodic format with some bonus material that didn't make the final transmission. The music and sound effects are top-notch, the casting inspired and the story pleasingly beefed up by contemporary additions that didn't exist when the book was written in the late 1980s. With its attractive cover artwork, this is a great package and would make a great gift for fans of black comedy, sci-fi and fantasy novels - or all three combined!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2008
Clearly this is one for the fans and is not likely to be bought by anyone who has not read the book. Needless to say all the faults of the book set teh context for this so it isn't fair to criticise it for it over-reliance on the Norse mythology theme and a general lack of idosynchratic quality that the first book has.

Enfield reprises the title role and again you either do or don't like hsi performance; for me I am happy with it and he conveys a level of scepticism his own character seems to have with his own approach.

This adaptation brings much of the material up to date with more modern references but also has way too many HitchHiker references and in-jokes that get in the way of this story. We also by the end are wholly living in a world so holisitcally interconnected that every event from the previous adaptation come together in a way that even Dirk seems to find despairing, and I came away with the sense that this had managed to lose its individual voice in the dramatisation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse