Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2014
It's something you always hear said, but in this case it's very true. Reading it was an experience in lovely plot twists, gothic atmosphere, and an atmosphere of chills--not of scariness--but of pleasure to sink into this murder story with lots of suspects and red herrings and wanting to know what happens next and never quite expecting what does. Reading it at night you're always saying, okay, I'll read just one more chapter and then I'll go to sleep. Well, maybe just one more. And finally it's 2:30 am, and you're saying that's an incredible ending--what fun!. All very satsifying. Now the BBC production is faithful to the novel but just does not capture the fun. Not that the characters, except for maybe the little girl, are supposed to be having fun, but they the actors don't seem to be having fun either--and they really should be. It's great to act in a Christie play or adaptation. And often the BBC adatations really hit that well--but it these actors were worried too much about getting it right. And so while you hear the mystery and can follow the plot, it never feels like everyone's excited to be working on a Christie and they should be. I'm not saying they should be giggling or even sending up the characters, but we don't need deep psychological introspection either--that's not what Christie is about--She's not Arthur Miller or Thomas Hardy--but she's just as great in her own way which is clearly quite different, and this production just didn't quite get it.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
A great plot - really enjoyed listening to it. Considering it's not Poirot (my usual choice of Agatha Christie) I thought it was excellent, and good value for a 2 CD story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
this is one of my first audio books, and it was great, not too long, but had all the christie suspense and twists, and if you're just starting with audio books, you don't want it to be too long - lose interest, and you need to feel like it was worth listening to, and this fits the bill. Perfect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
It took me a while to work out why I was not as impressed with this late entry in the BBC radio dramatisations of Christie's novels as I have been with most in this generally excellent series. As I listened to the credits at the end, I realised that it was written and directed by a different team. The whole thing certainly has a different feel to the earlier recordings and I'm not sure that I like it. I think an attempt has been made to make the whole thing sound more 'natural' but this seems to have resulted in too much mumbling and several of the voices sounding muffled. This particularly affects the men and especially the lead role of Charles Hayward - Rory Kinnear sounds too distracted and not terribly engaged. Strangely the performance seems more stilted and self conscious than some of the earlier recordings, less spontaneous somehow. The story itself is rather thin, the characters rather two dimensional with only one or two exceptions (Josephine, Aunt Edith, perhaps Magda) and the lead roles of Charles and Sophia a little stiff and dull. It needed a really good performance to lift it and, sadly, doesn't find it here.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Another fine story by Agatha Christie on CD Audio discs. The plot doesn't disappoint, and I didn't expect anything else, as I love listening to all Agatha Christie stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Bought this as part of a birthday present for my aunt who enjoyed it immensely. Great for putting on when doing housework to take your mind off what you are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
fab quality of recording great sound and the performers are fantistic holding ur attention for the full length of the play recomended to any agatha christie fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Excellent Story , Super sound Fantastic VFM. This CD is easy to listen to and not boring the narrator is well suited to this type of dramatisation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Great to listen to when sewing. Just love Agatha Christie. I am trying to collect all her books i hard back and as many Audio book as possubke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
My mum loves Agatha Christies to listen to at night. This one genuinely has you stumped until you know the answer, when it all makes sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse