Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crooked House
Apparently "Crooked House" was one of the few books that Agatha Christie herself was truly satisfied with upon its completion. Certainly it's an entertaining romp around the totally dysfunctional family of Aristide Leonides and there's many an amusing character to enjoy.
Charles Hayward is a young man making his way with a promising career with the foreign office. In...
Published on 17 Oct. 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is better.
It's something you always hear said, but in this case it's very true. Reading it was an experience in lovely plot twists, gothic atmosphere, and an atmosphere of chills--not of scariness--but of pleasure to sink into this murder story with lots of suspects and red herrings and wanting to know what happens next and never quite expecting what does. Reading it at night...
Published 14 months ago by Laurence J. Coven


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crooked House, 17 Oct. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Apparently "Crooked House" was one of the few books that Agatha Christie herself was truly satisfied with upon its completion. Certainly it's an entertaining romp around the totally dysfunctional family of Aristide Leonides and there's many an amusing character to enjoy.
Charles Hayward is a young man making his way with a promising career with the foreign office. In a posting to Egypt he meets the beautiful Sophia Leonides and the two fall in love. Charles plans to marry Sophia but the couple decide to give themselves time to see if their feelings for each other are strong enough. After a gap Charles meets Sophia back in London but tragedy has struck the Leonides family as Sophia's grandfather and the family's patriarch Aristide has been found murdered in his house. Sophia feels that until the cloud of suspicion is lifted from the family she cannot marry Charles.
Charles's father is none other than the Assistant Commissioner of Scotland Yard and along with Chief Inspector Taverner he is sent to the family home in Swinly Dean to see if there are any clues to come to light whilst being "an insider". The family home is a curious building of three separate dwellings comprised into one building, giving it the nick name of "Crooked House". In one part lives Sophia's parents, her remote father Philip, her excitable and effected mother Magda and her sulky brother Eustace and sneaky sister Josephine. Upstairs lives Philip's brother the hearty but incompetent Roger and his wife the cold and calm Clemency.
As far as Sophia's immediate family are concerned the person most likely to have committed the crime is Aristide's second wife Brenda who was 50 years younger than her ex-husband. She is supposedly having an affair with the children's tutor the limp and insipid Lawrence, but to Charles Brenda strikes a very pathetic figure and he suspects the murderer is someone else.
The maze of clues and red herrings is as strong as ever and this book benefits with Charles "the detective" working alongside the police but also having unlimited access to the other family members via his relationship with Sophia. That said Sophia herself is a most unsympathetic and unlikeable character and I guess I won't be the first reader to suspect her of the crimes herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent murder mystery, with a very crooked twist., 29 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
One of the best and most original murder mysteries that I've read, the family around which the whole plot revolves are all astoundingly different, they add their own tensions to an already confused situation, the murder victim is someone we should never like but do, in fact its even possible to have sympathy with the gold digger wife. The ending took me completely by suprise, altogether one of my most enjoyable reads this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is better., 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie: Crooked House (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
It's something you always hear said, but in this case it's very true. Reading it was an experience in lovely plot twists, gothic atmosphere, and an atmosphere of chills--not of scariness--but of pleasure to sink into this murder story with lots of suspects and red herrings and wanting to know what happens next and never quite expecting what does. Reading it at night you're always saying, okay, I'll read just one more chapter and then I'll go to sleep. Well, maybe just one more. And finally it's 2:30 am, and you're saying that's an incredible ending--what fun!. All very satsifying. Now the BBC production is faithful to the novel but just does not capture the fun. Not that the characters, except for maybe the little girl, are supposed to be having fun, but they the actors don't seem to be having fun either--and they really should be. It's great to act in a Christie play or adaptation. And often the BBC adatations really hit that well--but it these actors were worried too much about getting it right. And so while you hear the mystery and can follow the plot, it never feels like everyone's excited to be working on a Christie and they should be. I'm not saying they should be giggling or even sending up the characters, but we don't need deep psychological introspection either--that's not what Christie is about--She's not Arthur Miller or Thomas Hardy--but she's just as great in her own way which is clearly quite different, and this production just didn't quite get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty fifty, 2 Jun. 2013
Aristide Leonides, patriarch of the family that lives in the crooked house of the title, has been poisoned, and suspicion has fallen on his much younger wife. Of course, this is an Agatha Christie novel, and Agatha Christie is renowned for things not necessarily turning out as they first appeared. Except maybe that's what you're supposed to think, so maybe you should be double-guessing yourself after all...

There are 80 crime novels and short story collections by Agatha Christie (the Mary Westmacott books don't really interest me) and working through them in a broadly-chronological fashion this is the fiftieth that I have read. It was a milestone seemed worth marking, but nobody attended the party I threw, so I thought I'd finally write a review of one of her books instead. Although it has to be said that there's really not too much more I can say without giving up some plot points better kept under wraps, but I'll try my best.

It will come as no surprise that after fifty books I'm something of a Christie apologist, and so found much to enjoy here, but I wouldn't necessarily support her assertion in the foreword that this ranks among the top file of her output (where I'd personally include The Seven Dials Mystery, Peril at End House, Murder Is Easy and, of course, And Then There Were None). She claims it was a joy to write, and it shows - the plot is as sleek and effortless as anything I've ever read by her - but I missed the rococo flourishes of the titles above (and more besides) that make her books such great puzzles.

The clues provided are sparse but fair, with the focus much more on the psychology of the crime (not unlike The Hollow) that the tricksy workings. I'm not going to discuss the solution - nothing mars the enjoyment of this sort of book more than a reviewer trying to be too clever with what they reveal - but it's yet another example of the sort of freshness that Christie brought to her writing. A lot of golden age writers don't really get the credit they deserve for the trails they blazed (these days people seem much more hung up on how the language or attitudes in a book published 60 years ago now appear dated...), and the fact that Christie was still (this far into her career) racking her brain to think up inventive solutions is a marvel. There, I'll say no more.

As a fiftieth book, there's plenty here to retain my interest in the remaining thirty - incidentally, I'd put this in a par with Evil Under the Sun, One, Two, Buckle My Shoe, and The Murder at the Vicarage. It will be a sad day indeed when I have none left, but then I imagine that going back through knowing the solutions (I find it remarkably hard to forget the solutions to crime novels) will probably be a new kind of fun altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best non-Poirot non-Marple Agatha Christie's, 17 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
As a huge Agatha Christie fan, this book lived up to all my expectations, the central caracters are well drawn and the setting as claustrophobic as ever, a wide and varieed group of people trapped together by cirucstance, as ever the ending was a complete suprise to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 July 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Crooked House was first published in 1949 and was one of Christie's own favourites among her books. She was fond of titling her books after popular nursery rhymes and this one is based on the one called "There Was a Crooked Man". One of the characters, Sophia refers to it in the story, saying that their home was crooked because they had been unhealthily warped by the dominance of it Aristide, the patriarch of their family. There is crookedness on other levels, too, as it turns out, both financial and personal.
The narrator, Charles Hayward, is engaged to Sophia Leonides. The Leonides family - all three generations of them - live together under Aristide's leadership. Aristide is poisoned by eserine, contained in his own eye medicine and Sophia refuses to marry until the killer is caught. It so happens that Charles' father is Assistant Commissioner of Scotland Yard, and Charles is able to join the investigation alongside the investigating officer, Chief Inspector Taverner. Aristide's death is not the end of the violence as the plot twists and turns to a rather shocking conclusion. Christie put on record that she did not decide on the murderer in this book until she had written most of the plot; when she did this (as she quite often did) she was renowned for choosing the most unlikely among her characters as the killer. I leave you to decide whether she did so this time! Certainly, she made her choice to brilliant effect.
Christie's twin strengths of inspired plot construction and shrewd characterisation are in evidence. She enjoyed psychologically dissecting her characters and allowing that to be the basis of the plot. Apart from stereotyping the Greeks in an unflattering way (there was no political correctness in those days!) the plot is original and interesting. Christie does not write great prose, but she writes well enough to tell a good story and to create an atmospheric picture of life in the late forties.. This is one of her best novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Agatha Christie: Crooked House (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
A great plot - really enjoyed listening to it. Considering it's not Poirot (my usual choice of Agatha Christie) I thought it was excellent, and good value for a 2 CD story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defines perfect murder mystery, 17 Mar. 2015
Yet another proof that Agatha Christie is a legend. Crooked House is a stand alone story, apart from the series of Miss Marple, Hercule Poirot, Tommy and Tuppence etc. This one has criminologist Charles Hayward as the narrator. Charles tells us the story of his girlfriend and why she refused to marry him when he proposed. Agatha Christie has the tact of making something fabulous in the way of narrating a story.

The narration is flawless, the story is flawless, the characters are perfectly flawed, and the twist is admirable. You would never have seen it come, the way it came and hit you. Agatha Christie stories are those which are to be read when you want to know what real suspense / mystery / thrillers feel like. She paved the path for all mystery writers after her. The way her stories are – supple, intense, delicate and engulfing – describes an ideal mystery novel, like absolutely no one else can. And as for today’s mystery writers, there is only one thing to say – You can go high indeed, but you can never surpass your teacher, the one who lead the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great whodunit, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Bakey (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
I usually read Agatha Christie's Poirot or Marple novels but heard this was a good stand alone book so thought I'd give it a go. I'm glad I did, it has all the usual hallmarks of a good Christie and lots of suspects. I kept changing my mind as to who the murderer was and it certainly keeps you guessing until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously macabre., 15 May 2013
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of all Agatha Christie's novels this was her own personal favourite. It has long been mine too. Certainly others have their claims, not least "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" and her first book, "The Mysterious Affair at Styles". Individual readers and devotees of the closed room genre of mystery crime novels will have their own personal favourites. Many of her stories pick up on the darker side of nursery rhymes, but none so effectively sinister and macabre as here.

Crime novels have developed in an array of different forms since Agatha Christie held sway in her prime. Her books reflect a taste for the more genteel and subtle, far removed from the graphic violence and language which seems to be de rigeur in the genre now. There may be a more compelling sense of social actuality in the works of her successors, but few can rival her sharp brain, total absence of pretension, and shrewd manipulation of plot and reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie: Crooked House (BBC Audio)
Agatha Christie: Crooked House (BBC Audio) by Agatha Christie (Audio CD - 3 Mar. 2008)
£12.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews