Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, though possibly a little confusing.
After having read Adams's 'Hitchhiker' series, I then wished to read the recently published posthumous compilation of his works, 'The Salmon of Doubt'. Yet after viewing the back of that particular book, I realised that I would benefit from reading his two preceding Dirk Gently novels beforehand. The first, 'Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency', is hilariously...
Published on 4 Mar 2003 by Richard Sutherland

versus
44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glaring errors in Kindle version
An amazing novel by probably the best science-fiction comedy writer of all time. This review is alas, however, for the Kindle edition, which is riddled with errors brought about by its direct OCR translation to digital format, which evidently never underwent anything as elaborate as a once-over proofread before it was released.

Some of these errors diminished...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Ben Jammin'


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, though possibly a little confusing., 4 Mar 2003
After having read Adams's 'Hitchhiker' series, I then wished to read the recently published posthumous compilation of his works, 'The Salmon of Doubt'. Yet after viewing the back of that particular book, I realised that I would benefit from reading his two preceding Dirk Gently novels beforehand. The first, 'Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency', is hilariously written, with characters that compliment each other perfectly. Dirk Gently himself outranks Sherlock Holmes and Dick Tracy, in every manner but conventionality of methods, and it is his theory of the 'interconnectedness' of all things that gives the entire novel its sharp and refreshing originality. If read over a prolonged period, the ending may prove a little confusing; but if closely followed, the intelligent climax will be appreciated. Read this book, then read the others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glaring errors in Kindle version, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Ben Jammin' (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing novel by probably the best science-fiction comedy writer of all time. This review is alas, however, for the Kindle edition, which is riddled with errors brought about by its direct OCR translation to digital format, which evidently never underwent anything as elaborate as a once-over proofread before it was released.

Some of these errors diminished understanding of the text altogether. For example, at a pivotal point during the novel, "a book fell out of the pocket" reads "a hook fell out of the pocket," in this edition. The non sequitur caused a cognitive paradox which tore the fabric of the universe around it, and kept me awake for an hour researching wherefore a hook should fall out of any bloody pocket in this novel in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious, 13 Aug 2001
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency is yet another example of the genius that brought us the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. A plot line with as many twists as...something twisty, and as much chaos as the average family household. It's filled with Adams-esque humour, which is subtle enough not to look silly and obvious enough that even *I* get most of the jokes ;o).
Most people see the Dirk Gently novels as secondary to the Hitchhikers series, but in my opinion they approach, and in some places exceed, Hitchhikers. There is something endearing about Dirk Gently, perhaps it's his oddness that most of us can relate to in some way.
If you like slightly insane humour, or any of Adam's other works (which include several Dr. Who scripts as well as the hugely popular Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy), you should definitely read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams' finest work, 4 Jan 2004
Obviously the name Douglas Adams is always going to mean 'Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy', but for those who have only got that far, there are even greater delights to be found between the covers of 'Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency'.
Few books can survive multiple readings, but 'Dirk Gently's...' is one of them. The more you read it, the more there is and the more you realise what a genius Adams was.
It's not worth outlining the story or picking illustrations of the writing, suffice to say that this book is quite simply Adams at his brilliant best.
Buy it and read it until it falls apart. Then buy it again. You will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Douglas Adams! That's self recommending, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you saw the TV series, you need to know that the book is so much better. A wonderful entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirk Gently read by the author., 11 Nov 2010
I loved this book at first reading knowing it to be Adams' best yet. Fate made it his best ever. I've read it at least a further six times since, its being one of my three favourite books of all time. Hearing it read by Adams himself just adds the nuances and brings every sentence to life.

Brilliant.

On my wish list but unfortunately unavailable for many years, I got my copy recently from a torrent download site and would be perfectly happy to pay the royalties to whomever owns the copyright.

Phil Last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness he called himself Dirk, 14 Aug 2004
Hitch Hiker fans. Weird twisted fiction fans. Fictional literature fans with taste. Buy it one and all!
We follow the life of Richard as he gets helped along his way -through the perils of sofa/staircase interactions, swimming in polluted canals for no reason at all and of course being plagued by a ghost - by Reg (his old director of studies) and Dirk Gently (who thankfully changed his name from something utterly unpronouncable that looks like Adams fell asleep on the keyboard!
It is typically brilliant and well worth the read, some things you see coming - but then what would be the point of books of this sort if you dont have the pleasure in being right sometimes! But others you dont see coming.
I have to admit that I thought the ghost of a Dodo was going to use the main characters to establish its race as the dominant one on earth for a good few pages.
Fortunately I was wrong. For all our sakes - ruled by Dodos???
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive glaring nonsensical errors in Kindle version, 29 Oct 2014
By 
Preacher Man (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This is the first time I have been offended into writing a review. This story is marvellous. This version is not.

Whomever arranged this production is giving the author and the reader the proverbial finger.

Buy the dead tree version. The badly-digitised Kindle version hasn't even been proofread and massive glaring nonsensical errors are present which change the author's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams enlightens a confused reader!, 14 Feb 2007
By 
Kevin Hawes (Hartfield, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first time I read Dirk Gently, I couldn't make head or tail of it. Like the characters in the book Douglas Adams makes huge leaps in space and time, leaving the reader struggling to make sense of what is going on. For me, listening to it read by the author suddenly made it all make sense, with the disparate links all finally pulling together incredibly cleverly. Considering the massive success of the Hitchhiker series, I am amazed that the audiobook version of Dirk Gently has been allowed to go out of print.

Douglas Adams is an absolute genius. With some real science mixed with a level of tangential thinking that only he could come up with, the story is both challenging and entertaining.

This is really worth listening to on a long car journey, so that you can hear it in a single sitting and best appreciate the clever references and links between one part of the story and another. Probably not one for those who want a bit of mindless relaxation, more one to delight and challenge the intellectual mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obscure..., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is, erm, very Douglas Adams!

I'm a fan of Hitchhikers Guide, and also enjoyed the TV adaptation of Dirk Gently starring Stephen Mangan. so when this came up as a recommendation I thought I'd give it a try. It's very disjointed to start, and seems to take a long time to get going. Perhaps the only bad thing about a Kindle is seeing at the bottom of the screen how far through the book you are... I was 50% through before Dirk even came into the frame! It felt more like in Life, The Universe and Everything, where the Guide seemed to lose its way too. It did, however, pick up very quickly, and was much more like the sharp humour of the first two Hitchhikers books. If you're expecting the same as The Guide, you may be disappointed, but if you pick it up with a clear head, you'll enjoy once it picks up.

Overall an enjoyable read, but I'm not sure it's one I'll be reaching for again any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (BBC Audio)
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (BBC Audio) by Douglas Adams (Audio CD - 8 Nov 2007)
Used & New from: £67.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews