Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Ace!, 3 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
An awesomely great comedy show that managed to bamboozle Radio 4 listeners on its first broadcast by seeming so real that we all ignored it. Whitehouse & Higson have pulled out all the stops and it's so much funnier than anything else they have ever done. A great suporting cast make this a bit of a gem. I've recorded the whole second series & listen to it often on the iPod - it really repays repeated listens and I recommend any lovers of the Fast Show / Partridge / Jerky Boys / Fonejacker etc to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy from start to finish, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
Ginny Barker (York, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This collection of episodes from the firsst series of Down The Line is improvised comedy at its very best. Like the previous reviewer I suggest that you listen to it several times as there are so many little gems that you can miss on the first listen. The Down The Line team (Charlie Higson, Paul Whitehouse, Simon Day, Harry Enfield, Amelia Bullmore, Felix Dexter etc etc) are already well established figures on the British comedy scene but, by using the medium of radio, have found a new way to shine through their hilarious use of language and their vocal talents. If anyone has, like me, a genuine fondness for BBC Radio 5 Live but sometimes gets exasperated by some of the idiots that ring in (or even broadcast as guest presenters!) then you will love Down The Line. The team have managed to parody the Great British phone-in to a tee and I just can't wait until the second series is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too funny, 5 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Down the Line is just too funny. Every episode is hilarious, i recommened this to anyone who likes The Fast Show or Harry Enfield. Not the best idea to listen to it alone on the bus as you get funny looks when laughing aloud to yourself haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate!, 17 Feb. 2010
By 
M. Emerson "mr_emerson" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
If you've ever spent a few weeks, months, years listening to either LBC 97.3 or Talksport Radio this series will strike a cord with you. Where a series will normally lampoon the host, Down The Line not only does that - it lampoons the audience.

Most people that ring into phone in shows are extreme right or left wing, religious nuts or just plain crazy. Sure, we've all listened to a phone in show but when you pick up the phone and dial that number - you cross a sanity line! This is where the Down The Line audience come into effect - a set of characters who would be just as easily placed on The Fast Show (Higson, Day and Whitehouse's TV masterpiece). The host Gary Bellamy bumbles his way through a parade of nitwits and social outcasts. Sterling performances by Higson, Day, Whitehouse and Felix Dexter really capture the tone of modern telephone phone in's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly crashed from laughing so hard, 8 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I was completely naive and gullible when I first heard this, thinking it was 'real'. The characters portrayed by actors from the Fast Show are tremendous and I nearly crashed my car from tears and continious shaking on the M25 after hearing what the old man wanted to call the new colour! Hysterical!!!
A definite must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Wiggins (Sarf London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This is just one of the funniest shows I have heard. The characters are superbly portrayed as you'd expect from the likes of Whitehouse, Higson, Enfield, etc, but also excellent are Amelia Bullmore, Lucy Montgomery, Rhys Thomas (as the hapless host Gary Bellamy) and the much missed Felix Dexter. Wonderful!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it if you want to have a good laugh!!, 5 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Still makes me laugh out loud whenever I listen to this! Doing a review for this radio spoof is difficult. You really need to hear it to appreciate it. The radio show was so successful they tried it on TV but it just didn't work. BBC radio at it's best I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...., 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Bought this on recommendation of a friend and it is hard to believe that it isn't real members of the public. Very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio)
Down the Line: Series 1 (BBC Audio) by Paul Whitehouse (Audio CD - 1 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £22.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews