Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murders and flowers
Roderick Alleyn finds himself on board ship, incognito, trying to track down a killer who breaks the necklaces of his victims when he strangles them and leaving flowers on the corpses. The latest murder is committed beside a ship which is about to depart for South Africa and Alleyn joins the ship because he is convinced the murderer is either a passenger or crew...
Published on 17 Aug 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine divertissement, but...
'Singing in the Shrouds' is a very classical, well-written whodunit. It is a Roderick Alleyn mistery and makes for a very enjoyable reading. But... Yes, there's a big but, and it's (SPOILER) the dénouement, which is, to say the least, far-fetched, absurd, totally unbelievable! If I had to compare it to a film, I'd say it's on a par with 'Psycho': great plot,...
Published on 14 July 2003 by Hermione


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murders and flowers, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Roderick Alleyn finds himself on board ship, incognito, trying to track down a killer who breaks the necklaces of his victims when he strangles them and leaving flowers on the corpses. The latest murder is committed beside a ship which is about to depart for South Africa and Alleyn joins the ship because he is convinced the murderer is either a passenger or crew member.

At first it seems his quest is going to be futile and with the captain being less than co-operative he thinks he may have to return home without his murderer. Then something unpleasant happens and he knows he is on the right track.

This is a really good murder mystery with the traditional small group of suspects. I thought the characters were well drawn and the plot intricate. There were enough suspects to keep the reader guessing and even though I had worked out whom the murderer was I couldn't work out the motivation. If you like your crime novels on traditional lines with interesting and believable characters then try Ngaio Marsh - you won't be disappointed. Even though the book was published over half a century ago it stands the test of time very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detective book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent this was a most enjoyable read gripping from the beginning to the end I shall definitely read more by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite Read., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is something about this book that makes it one of my favourite reads by Ngaio Marsh. From the beginning,it is quite atmospheric and although this changes somewhat during the cruise,it maintains an atmosphere which Marsh does not always manage to achieve in her books.Although I have read most of her work and generally enjoyed it, she does appear to have had a rather intolerant and snobbish streak which is given full reign in her treatment of the,admittedly, unlovely Mr. and Mrs.Cuddy. They cannot say or do anything right throughout the entire book. However, this in no way detracts from the story and I will continue to re-read this and enjoy it for,hopefully,years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars arrived safely, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing In The Shrouds (Audio CD)
the story is old and little obvious - maybe a charm I missed - may be a charm I missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singing in the shrouds, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Dr. R. Jameson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of a series of detective crime novels. Inspector Alleyn is one of my fictional detective heroes, a hard working character. The plots can be intriguing and the progress of deduction and investigation of the crime well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone wanting to add some decent thrillers to their collection wont go far wrong with this, I love it and will read it over again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alleyn novel, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Peter Joiner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing In The Shrouds (Audio CD)
Abridged version. A good story line with Alleyn undercover on board a ship, the story pans out well, this is a typical Alleyn story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended to all lovers of Ngaio Marsh books., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book "Swinging in the Shrouds" to all lovers of Ngaio Marsh books. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine divertissement, but..., 14 July 2003
This review is from: Singing in the Shrouds (Paperback)
'Singing in the Shrouds' is a very classical, well-written whodunit. It is a Roderick Alleyn mistery and makes for a very enjoyable reading. But... Yes, there's a big but, and it's (SPOILER) the dénouement, which is, to say the least, far-fetched, absurd, totally unbelievable! If I had to compare it to a film, I'd say it's on a par with 'Psycho': great plot, setting and atmosphere, but the psychological mumbo-jumbo the doctor recites at the very ending kind of ruins it a bit. Same can be said here, so be prepared to be very, very let down... Pity, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singing In The Shrouds
Singing In The Shrouds by Ngaio Marsh (Audio CD - 5 Aug 2010)
14.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews