Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great as ever
Another one for my collection. In good condition. A funny but thought provoking story. Typical of Margery Allingham. Read more of her work
Published 9 months ago by Caroline Cadlock

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Allingham Mystery
This is at times quite a confusing story with a number of story lines not really going anywhere and too many red herring characters. However, it is interesting in the sense that it evokes a much simpler naive age when science was seen as the key to the future. A good read with limited suspense but perhaps only for hardened Allingham fans.
Published on 4 May 2008 by Archie Goodwin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Allingham Mystery, 4 May 2008
This review is from: Mind Readers (Paperback)
This is at times quite a confusing story with a number of story lines not really going anywhere and too many red herring characters. However, it is interesting in the sense that it evokes a much simpler naive age when science was seen as the key to the future. A good read with limited suspense but perhaps only for hardened Allingham fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mind Readers, 26 April 2008
This review is from: Mind Readers (Paperback)
Enjoyable Allingham mystery, an improvement on the last. The ending is slightly disappointing as a lot of interesting plot ideas, such as the experiments carried out on the island, seem to end up going nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great as ever, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Audio CD)
Another one for my collection. In good condition. A funny but thought provoking story. Typical of Margery Allingham. Read more of her work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Paperback)
This is the first Margery Allingham book I have read. Perhaps I was just unlucky in picking "The Mind Readers", but I certainly have no desire to read any further Allingham novels. The characters are undeveloped and the plot is all over the place. I've also recently read my first Dorothy L. Sayers novel - a Peter Wimsey mystery, and I much preferred it for the language, vintage detail and general readability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Allingham tackles sci-fi, with reluctant help from Campion!, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Paperback)
Fans of particular novelists have a tendency to want more of the same. That is why Agatha Christie is the most successful novelist of all time - she realised this and gave readers what they wanted - more of the same old Poirot solving more of the same old upper middle-class murders. Margery Allingham, in her Campion series, never resorted to this formulaic approach, being endlessly inventive and allowing her hero to develop emotionally, intellectually, and philosophically. Developing beyond the simple crime novel, Allingham alienated some of her fan-base and, because fashion plays a large part in book sales, failed to attract new readers. In "The Mind Readers", she successfully mingles a strong science fiction element, spy thriller and a little philosophy, with her usual crime and humour. Very well researched and, in its time, scientifically avant-garde, this book reintroduces Thos T Knapp - now the boss of his own company and building on his prior telephonic expertise to provide state-of-the-art bugging and surveillance services. Readers will remember Thos from Mystery Mile and, in a lesser role, in at least two other Campion novels. Other old friends include Luke, Amanda, Lugg, and Canon Avril (nearly murdered in The Tiger in the Smoke).

Someone discovers that a particular transistor, applied to the jugular area, can amplify the thoughts and emotions of others in such a way that they can be received as a form of ESP. However, the device works best in young children, old enough to understand what is going on, but with relatively uncluttered minds. An 8-year old relative of Amanda'a, and his 12-year old friend and son of a government scientist, have somehow got hold of two of the devices and know how to use them. Allingham's description of how such a thing would affect different people is stunning and, until you think about it, very funny, particularly when Canon Avril and Charles Luke have a go. From this promising start Allingham weaves a very complicated tale involving multi-national skull-duggery, murder, a highly secret government research station, and even includes another highly creepy killer - this time a professional spy.

One reviewer refers to earlier "naive times" when science was thought to be the future. This book isn't in the least like that; in many ways it is very sceptical about science, as indeed is science itself - isn't that what the word implies? Anyway, if the future does not lie with science, we are lost. The alternative is public ignorance combined with self-interest, short-term greed, and superstition. An excellent, thought-provoking novel - what an utter tragedy that Allingham died so relatively young. Who knows where this experiment would have taken Campion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Margery Allingham's best work, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Paperback)
Bought this to complete my set of Margery Allingham books but didn't enjoy it at all. Think this is of limited appeal and very disappointing for Allingham fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite!, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Paperback)
Well, it'a a Margery Allingham book - and an Albert Campion mystery to boot - so it's special for that reason alone. But, oh, the plot! I was glad when I'd finished the book, I must admit. Thank goodness it wasn't the only one I hadn't read, as I would have been extremely disappointed to have ended on that one. It could have been, of course, that the 'sciencey' bits were just too complicated for me to follow, so I didn't stay properly focused. It seems though, that other Allingham fans were also disappoiinted by this book. Never mind. And I'm sure when I've finished reading all her books, I shall go back to this one to read it again when I get withdrawal symptoms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mindless Opacity, 23 Sep 2003
One of Allingham’s few (mercifully few) outstanding failures. The plot is a mess, with a lot of needless complications (all recounted in Allingham’s obscure manner that makes Gladys Mitchell look sober and straightforward) failing to disguise the fact that there is no actual plot to speak of. The murderer is known very early on, revealed and killed some chapters before the end, which is an anti-climax rivalled only by the behaviour of Albert Campion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meeting old friends!, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. E. K. M. Jackson (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mind Readers (Paperback)
Far more complicated than all her earlier books and I had to read it twice to enjoy it fully. It was amusing to meet old friends Lugg and Thos and will probably appeal particularly to those who are old Margery Allingham fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mind Readers
The Mind Readers by Margery Allingham (Audio CD - 18 Mar 2010)
10.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews