Customer Reviews


1,621 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,184)
4 star:
 (148)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (137)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old enough to know what I like
When I was a kid there were kids and adults - 'young adults' didn't exist. And there were kids' books and adult books with nothing inbetween. Times have changed, and I think on the whole for the better, in that we now acknowledge that there is a transition period between childhood and adulthood, so it seems only fair that these young adults get their own books - and that...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Grace Rostoker

versus
46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
This is an affront to literature and to all of those who enjoy the written word. That is all.
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by Markham


‹ Previous | 1 2163 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old enough to know what I like, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Grace Rostoker (Oceanside, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I was a kid there were kids and adults - 'young adults' didn't exist. And there were kids' books and adult books with nothing inbetween. Times have changed, and I think on the whole for the better, in that we now acknowledge that there is a transition period between childhood and adulthood, so it seems only fair that these young adults get their own books - and that the rest of us should be allowed to read them too.

I picked up Twilight partly to see what all the fuss was about, not having seen the movies, and partly to find out what young adult literature was like, and I'm happy to admit that I enjoyed it. Yes, Bella can be a whiney little so-and-so, and when she gets older she should read Women Who Love Too Much, but I remember being an angst-ridden seventeen year old myself so I could relate to her. And much as I cringe at the idea of Edward having spent the last century or so as an arrogant teenage prat, there's no denying he's just the kind of arrogant prat that many angst-ridden girls go for - so many of us were stupid enough to always go for the out-of-the-ordinary type, because nice, everyday boys were so 'boring'.

I never expected the book to be really great literature, and I think you're bound to be disappointed if you look at Twilight with too adult eyes, but it was an engaging, fun read. I'll take off one star because the long stretches of dialogue between Bella and Edward did get a bit tedious, but the story held my interest to the end - which many more literary books fail to do.

A great thing about getting older is that you can like what you like and not care what anyone else thinks of you because of it, so I'm happy to repeat that I enjoyed Twilight and plan the read the rest of the series. Congratulations to Stephenie Meyer; as other reviewers have said, she pulled it off and laughed all the way to the bank. Good for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the films, 11 May 2012
By 
Sophy's Mum (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the Twilight film on tv, then re-watched it about 5 times whilst waiting for the book to arrive. I am totally hooked. (55 year old woman going on 17). Bella moves back to Forks, Washington from sunny Arizona, where she normally lives with her mother (parents are divorced). At school she meets a boy, Edward Cullen, who seems repelled by her smell, although she feels drawn to him. His odd way of talking, pale skin and changing eye colour all make her feel there is something different about him. Gradually, he starts to take an interest in her, even prevents her from getting crushed by another student's van. Old friends try to warn her about the Cullens, but she cannot resist him. When she confronts him about what she suspects, he doesn't deny it, but confesses to her that he is a vampire, but only drinks animal blood, like the rest of the Cullens. She is gradually drawn into his world, and it is apparent he feels, not repulsed by her smell, but regards it as 'my own personal brand of Heroin". They are utterly in love with eachother, but he struggles to stop the vampire side of his nature from killing her just to drink her blood. Although you would think the fantasy of vampires in a story would destroy any romance, this is a fantastically romantic book. I urge both men and women to read the first novel at least - men -if you want to know how we think, and women - if you need an idealised version of a man to fantasise about. Edward Cullen is Romeo, Mr Darcy, Edward Rochester, and Byron wrapped up in one. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 294 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite me!................, 7 May 2009
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is YA fiction and I'm not even close to the target audience. It's been a lot of years since I belonged in the 'teen' category BUT... despite that, I loved this book! I think it might be because the 17 year old that I once was is still fresh in my mind, and if I squint when I look in the mirror I can still see her (she just got better looking over the last couple of decades *grin*).

A five star book for me is one that I have to tear myself away from and this has to be one of the better 5 star books I've read recently. I could not put it down, regardless of whether I fit in the target deomographic or not. I have no idea why I was so enamoured with this particular story but it just grabbed me, literally from the first chapter. It has it's flaws, and at times those flaws tried to pull me away from the pages while I wrestled with my beliefs but never did I feel like I couldn't go on. I'm actually mystified why this is such a great book, I wish I could put my finger on it but it escapes me. I am fond of a bit of vampire lit, it's true, but this goes beyond that....I think. I can't say the writing is superlative so it's not that.....but what is it? I wish I knew. Answers on a postcard, please.

Bella is a complete feminists' nightmare and I can see why that would put a lot of people off of her, but at 17 love is blind so I'm willing to forgive Bella on that score. Edward is so uber male that he fairly reeks testosterone and again, that may grate on some readers but lets put things in perspective, he's the ultimate predator and has had nearly a century of dominating his prey so on that score I'm willing to forgive him his overly masculine nature for now, this nurture/love thing is new for him too.....he'll get it right eventually I expect.

Ultimitely, lets not forget that this is a tale of vampire love which is aimed at teens/young adults and the usual complexities and concerns that come with real life won't apply here. I for one am glad to slip into Bella and Edward's world and remember what it was to be young and in the throes of first love. If you have an imagination and are willing to suspend your disbelief then you might enjoy this story. It's an enjoyable bit of fulff to while away a few hours/days but if your usual reading material tends to be the classics and nothing more, then you probably will feel the need to return here with you own 1 or 2 star review.

I have books 2, 3 and 4 lined up here, ready to devour and if they go as quickly as Twilight then I'll have completed all 4 in about 3 more days. I want to tell everyone to read this as I loved it so much, but I realise that everyone has different tastes so all I can recommend is that you read the reviews and make your own mind up from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the paperbacks, but now that I have a kindle and travel a lot, this is so much better to take one of my fav series on the go with me, wherever I go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, Extraordinary and Unforgettable, 19 July 2014
Twilight was one of the first books I fell in love with; the quirky characters, the gripping storyline and the overwhelming need to read what happens next. I was lucky that when I got Twilight, I had the rest of the books along with it, with the exception of The Short Life of Bree Tanner that hadn't come out yet. It is a story that has so many unique factors that you never could see coming, I would have to say that the first one is my favourite because it sets the tone for the rest of the series.

Isabella 'Bella' Swan is a very unique teenager, one that seems to have a maturity that many people her age doesn't. Having lived in Arizona for most of her life, she is used to the heat and not the raining weather that Fork's has to offer. It doesn't take long for her to catch the attention of the guy that everyone wants but no one can have. Edward Cullen is dazzling and a mystery that no one can solve.

It doesn't take long for Bella to gain his attention and that is where the trouble starts. Edward isn't like many seventeen year old teenagers, no; he is a 109 year old vampire who pretends to be a seventeen year old. Bella could tell there was something strange about him and his family, though after finding out he is a vampire, it just seems to make her to only person in the world who would want to be his girlfriend.

Though Edward's family isn't like any other family, they are uniquely different in the gifts they have and how they use them. There is Alice; a future telling Vampire, Jasper; a vampire who can feel your emotions and was the last to turn to the Cullen's lifestyle, Rosalie; the powerful sister who doesn't like Bella even before she meet her, Emmett; who is one of the strongest in the family, Esme; the mother figure of the family even though she is only a couple of years older than them. And then, there is Carlisle, who works in Fork's hospital as a doctor, he is also the one who turned more of the Cullen's into vampires to start with.

Although, Edward is not the only one who has his sights on Bella, there is Jacob as well. Jacob has been a family friend for years, his father is Charlie Swan (Bella's father) best friend. Though it seems that Bella only thinks of him as her friend, though similar to Edward, Jacob is hiding a secrets as well, even if he doesn't know it just yet.

There is a lot of intense moments in Twilight, you get to see a side of Bella that shows she would be willing to die for the one she loved with no questions asked. It isn't until you read the ending, do you realise what the Preface in the beginning of the book meant, and what is signified to her.

Twilight is one of those books, that no matter how many times you read, it will thrill you over and over again. The story is one that sticks with you long after you finish the book and start the next one. It has the ability to see a different type of love, friendship, family and sacrifice that people will make for the ones that they love most in the world. It is a truly amazing book that I could read again and again.

If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Powerful, Extraordinary and Unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 14 Feb 2011
This is an affront to literature and to all of those who enjoy the written word. That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


256 of 316 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure how this even got published., 27 Oct 2008
I read Twilight both at my friend's enthusiastic recommendation and because of my own curiosity over the barrage of bad reviews it had. My reaction to it was a sort of horrified fascination, coupled with a strong desire to jab the protagonist, the utterly unlikeable Bella Swan, with a sharp stick.

For some reason that is never quite explained (not to my satisfaction, at least), Bella Swan moves to the town of Forks, a place she loathes with a passion, to live with her dad, a man she doesn't feel even warrants the name "Dad", and leaving her mom, a woman she claims to be closer to than anyone else on the planet but whom she actually ignores for most of the book. On her first day at her new school, which she also hates despite pretty much the entire student population - the male half in particular - making every effort to be perfectly lovely to her, she encounters a group of insanely beautiful students who ignore everyone; among them is Edward Cullen, who she freaks out over because it seems he might not love her like everyone else. Then he becomes passably friendly, and Bella is smitten. Bella is smitten. Bella is smitten. Bella finds out Edward and his insanely beautiful family are vampires. Bella is smitten. Bella is smitten. In fact, Bella is smitten for three-hundred-and-thirty-three pages of this four-hundred-and-thirty-four page novel before anything resembling a plot actually happens, and then not even particularly good plot.

Oh, don't worry, it's not one-sided at all - Edward is smitten too. Edward is so smitten that he sneaks into Bella's house and watches her sleep without her knowledge. If Stephenie Meyer had put in a twist in which Bella gets a restraining order slapped on him as a normal person would, that might have saved the book. However, Edward is, as I said, insanely gorgeous, and so on the contrary, she finds his stalker antics flattering. And isn't it alarming that so many young girls describe Edward as their "dream guy" or look to Bella as a role model?

On the back of the book, I am told that it "...encapsulates perfectly the teenage feeling of sexual tension and alienation." I can only imagine that the reviewer from The Times has long forgotten their teenage years, because I don't think that Meyer spoke to a single seventeen-year-old before writing this book. For the record, none of us feel any need to comment repeatedly on the godlike good looks of people we date. Some of us even look for something beyond godlike good looks in the people we date, but such a concept is apparently lost on Meyer and thus on Bella. And I like to think that if anyone behaved as creepily towards most seventeen-year-old girls as Edward behaves towards Bella, the alarm bells would start ringing pretty fast. The book encapsulates many things, such as pancake flat characters and How Romance Doesn't Happen, but it is certainly not something that I, as a seventeen-year-old girl, can possibly relate to. I find it quite laughable that Meyer claims she gave Bella the "vague" physical description of "slim" with "long mahogany hair" and "wide chocolate brown eyes" in order for readers to find it easier to 'step into her shoes'. I would prefer a complete profile of a character who was written in a believable way to a spineless Mary Sue who could possibly look like me, if I want to imagine her in such a way (which I really don't, thanks).

In short, don't waste your money. This is not a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read this book a hundred times and I never get bored of it. It is a way of escaping into a fantasy world much more interesting than our own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a fantastic book !, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"5 stars I would say is an understatement on how amazing this book is!!! I loved the way , Stephenie Meyer , the author made all of the non-Vampire characters seem typically human ( such as: Bella being so clumsy and Mike being so love-sick drooling over Bella all the time.) I especially like the budding romance between Bella & Edward , it makes you wonder if vampires really do exist ;)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is ages 11+ :) Enjoy!!! Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Twilight series are amazing, they're very fascinating. I've seen the film's and now I'm reading the books and just like the film's, I find the books extremely addictive. People who are into vampires and wolves should totally read this book! My opinion is that Stephenie Meyer is a very creative writer and people can easily be drawn to her books. People who haven't saw or read twilight should and if you have saw the film, read the book and vice versa! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2163 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twilight (Twilight Saga)
Twilight (Twilight Saga) by Stephenie Meyer (Audio CD - 21 May 2009)
Used & New from: 4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews