Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 September 2006
World War Two has begun and James Herriot who enlisted for the RAF has been called up. Leaving his new wife behind he heads off to London for the initial part of his training which includes lots of marching, running and other activities to make them fit for the forces. The book isn't really about what happens to him while in the forces but we do get snippets of it, mostly the more jovial ones. Most of the time he uses a memory from the forces as a launch pad into a story from his time as a vet.

Still funny as ever but this foray into the life of James Herriot tugs a little more at the heartstrings as it takes us back to a time of human suffering and camaraderie that only war can bring about. More first rate stuff by Mr Herriot!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
I thought this book was absolutely fantastic!!!! It was so good I took a whole day out and read it. My favourite story was the last chapter when he went to the farmers but the farmer didn't realise he was a vet and was trying to calf a cow it took him an hour and took Jim a few minutes. It's a funny yet serious book set in the second world war while his wife is pregnant and he sneaks away and really has a way of getting around people. A loveable and kind chracter always helping people and friends out.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 September 2014
This is part of the well known "All Creatures Great and Small" series by James Herriot. These are an autobiographical set of books detailing the life of a country vet in Yorkshire in the 1930s and later.
This book starts with James having joined the RAF in the early days of World War II and follows his exploits therein, as well as many nostalgic looks back on his early years as a vet.
This is a light and entertaining book which I enjoyed. I have a feeling that much of what is written has been done so through rose tinted spectacles but that didn't make it any the less enjoyable. There are sad moments, though it never reduced me to tears, and amusing moments, though I never progressed to laughing out loud. It was just a light, entertaining read without much depth.
An ideal book for when your concentration isn't too great or you need a book that you can easily put down and pick up without loosing track of what is happening.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
James Herriot is called up to serve in the RAF at the beginning of World War II and the book is how he passes some of his boring hours by reflecting on various happenings while giving veterinary service in his home town. As usual, there are many amusing episodes in James Herriot book but the final story in this one was not so much funny as amuzing and will bring a smile to the reader's face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
........woeful proof reading! I love James Herriots books - I read all the paperbacks in my teens, so have started to revisit them in my later years 😉. Unfortunately, the spelling mistakes and autocorrects in this version have somewhat deterred from my reading pleasure, hence the 3 stars. I hope amazon will take note and rectify it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
New reprint. Stunning writing, having read all his books years ago, a new opportunity to enjoy a 'new' book again.
Special, with the 70 years commemorations of WW2.
Herriot in the RAF.
Humour, memories of home, salutary realities of war time, even the Dentistry!
Good revision reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
Christopher Timothy reads James Herriot`s tales of working as a vet in the Yorkshire Dales. Humorous, with brilliant descriptions and characterization, these stories will make a long afternoon fly by or pass the hours on tedious motorway journeys. Suitable for all the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
This book continues the story of a country vet during the forties. It is interspersed with bits about Mr Herriots experience of the RAF but in a lighthearted way focusing mainly on the countryside and animals which he loved. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Wonderful warm stories of the English countryside, as it used to be, you read and get a true sense of the feeling of real hard working country people, and the characters that live there with all their hardship and humour.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I love to read the Herriots and as I now live in North Yorkshre i love to see the locations for this series of books.
I think that they are funny,, super at describing local folks and the stories are so endearing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)