Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic book!
Fashion and costume are often considered merely incidental in history, but what we wear, the way we wear it, how it came to look that way, and what purpose it serves, are important indicators of Human cultural development. This book takes an in-depth look at this aspect of our history in typical DK style - with hundreds of colourful graphics, and concise but informative...
Published on 25 Oct 2012 by Thomas Pots

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A History of Costume: Beautiful Book - But Beware the Text
'Fashion' is a slightly misleading title for this history of clothing and costume. The subtitle 'The Ultimate Book of Costume and Style' is a better fit. And a fascinating glimpse into the clothing of the past it is.

Dorling Kindersley have one again provided a stunning looking reference book. The range of illustrations is astonishing. Contemporary...
Published 22 months ago by wolf


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic book!, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Fashion and costume are often considered merely incidental in history, but what we wear, the way we wear it, how it came to look that way, and what purpose it serves, are important indicators of Human cultural development. This book takes an in-depth look at this aspect of our history in typical DK style - with hundreds of colourful graphics, and concise but informative text.

In 480 lavishly illustrated pages, all hard-bound in a plush white velvet textured cover, this book shows and explains several thousand years of fashion and costume history, beginning in antiquity, and progressing through every major cultural age to 2012. The collection of art and artefacts that it presents is breath-taking. Every page is littered with colourful photographs of ancient relics, paintings, sculptures and jewellery, each piece annotated to indicate its important features. There are hundreds of photographs (many with close-ups) showing iconic garments, such as dresses, suits, hats, work-wear, uniforms and so on.

It oddly omits The Duchess of Devonshire who, in the 1700s, was an extraordinarily influential fashion icon, but in every other respect it appears to be very thorough indeed. It is a sumptuous treat of a book: big, heavy, glossy and a thing of quality. I did spot a couple of typographical errors in the early pages, which is a shame, but I can't let those small matters count against it. It is one of those rare coffee table books that genuinely has the wow factor. It would make a magnificent gift, but I certainly won't be giving away my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and interesting, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully produced and very large and heavy book covering fashion from prehistory to the twenty first century. The picture on the front of the cover is flock as is the spine of the book. It is lavishly illustrated with drawings and both colour and black and white photographs. It is not just clothes which are described and illustrated but armour, jewellery and hairstyles too. Both men's and women's fashions are covered.

There are ten chapters and at the start of each one there is an interesting timeline giving an idea of the historical events which are the background to the clothes worn during the period. There are short sections on trends in fashion as well as fashion icons and reconstructions of some garments.

There are contemporary quotations scattered throughout the text as well as quotations from modern historians and there are illustrations of high status and low status fashions. Many of the illustrations for the periods prior to photography are taken from contemporary paintings and manuscripts.

I particularly liked how the details of each garment are described by means of notes around each illustration as well as some garments being shown across a double page spread with smaller pictures of the details. While this book is light on text this lack is more than made up for by the copious illustrations and the notes on each pictures.

This book would make an ideal present for anyone who is interested in history or in fashion. There is an illustrated glossary at the end of the book as well as an index and a series of small pictures showing how clothes and accessories have changed through the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating big book of historic fashion, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dorling Kindersley's Fashion is a beautifully illustrated and fascinating coffee-table book of fashion through the ages. Although comparatively more space is given to the 20th and 21st centuries, the bulk of the book is pre-1900, with extensive insights into how clothing technology changed what was available, and how older fashions have influenced contemporary designers.

This is a relatively serious book, though the hyper-clear Dorling Kindersley layout and simply written text might give the impression that it isn't. Information is exact, research has been carefully undertaken, and the facts are presented with a minimum of fuss.

The sections on modern trends and contemporary designers -- as well as the insights into how history influences the present -- make this much more than a chronicle of costume, which it resembles at first glance. It is a substantial and inspiring resource, and could be a starting point for anyone interested in applying past design to contemporary challenges.

This is a brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but one glaring omission that sticks out like a stray pin in a perfectly sewn hem, 3 April 2013
By 
Michael Livingstone "Rainmaker" (Carlisle, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
A lovely book, chock full of info and pictures - just what you expect from Dorling Kindersley. Its breadth and scope on fashion/costume is extremely comprehensive and the two page spreads on 'classic' designers like Balenciaga, Chanel etc is a brilliant touch. Just two things - more two page spreads on 'contemporary' designers (who are all influenced by history) would have been a good thing. Vivienne Westwood is included in this, as is the late great Alexander McQueen. But that is pretty much where is stops. A spread on such modern icons as Tom Ford, John Galliano, Paul Smith, Hussein Chalayan or the Antwerp Six would have been logical in its inclusion. These are barely mentioned if at all. Fashion is a modern practice (although rooted/inspired by history) with modern and forward looking practitioners.

In its coverage on 20th century styles, fashion icons and the great design houses/designers behind them - I would expect to see Jacqueline Kennedy, but in its coverage of the late '50s and the 1960's - where on earth is Audrey Hepburn, "Breakfast at Tiffany's" and the iconic Givenchy little black dress? To not include Audrey Hepburn, who is still a massive style icon today, and the dress which started a 50 years and counting wardrobe staple (the LBD) just screams negligence. I love this book, but for that major omission (which every other book covers) there is a certain half-baked 'quick cursory scan' feel of the last few chapters which cover 20th/21st century fashion. I know that this period could generate another book of twice the size of this book, but I just can't get away with those points I mentioned above.

There is a massive photo of Kate Middleton as a style icon. Great to include and will please many (including myself) but in the grand scheme of fashion, (respectfully) she is not an influential shining light and has a rather austere style, albeit 100% appropriate for her. I know Kate herself would agree, Audrey Hepburn's omission especially during coverage of the 50's/60's period just sticks out like a stray pin in a perfect hem (I've been there, it hurts!). Wonder what others think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant!, 22 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Love this book..! DK are known for their clear, concise presentation - this book is no exception. A must for anyone looking at finding out about fashion history, the book looks at fashion from prehistoric times through to present day (Alexander McQueen), with copious illustrations or photographs with annotated detail as well as just enough written context about the designers or influences at the time. As an A level teacher, I am particularly interested in C20th fashion - this covers it all. It's about 4cms deep, with a detailed glossary. Would recommend for study into fashion history & context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We've Come Along Way Baby, 4 Oct 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
'The Fashion Book' is a superb basic book on fashion geared for the tween and teen set. However, everyone who likes fashion will enjoy this book. It is a large book with a lot of pictures that will satisfy any fashionista.

My granddaughter wears an eclectic style of clothing. She is 11, and like her peers, her fashion sense right now comes from others, celebrities, her peers, and what mom feels is appropriate. She wears a uniform to her school,so on her off time she likes to dress in her individual style. I think she has great style, and I compliment her often. She is very much interested in fashion, and she likes to draw pieces of clothing and fashion models. She likes this book a great deal, and I find her looking at it often.

This book starts in The Ancient World, Medieval Romance & Trade, Renaissance Splendor, Baroque and then goes to the 1600 and 1700's. Rococo to From Revolution to Frivolity. And, then, the fun part in the early 1900's , Jazz Age, From Glamor to Utility, and to my era, Optimism and Youth. Swinging Sixties to Glam Rock, was my favorite chapter, how I remember dressing in this period. And, then, today's decades, The Designer Decades. The Appendix includes all sorts of fashions from men's fashion to purses and hats. Because this is a basic book of fashion, not much time is spent on each chapter. This book us to give an overall look at fashion, and it perfect for the beginner fashionista.

We had fun discussing all the fashions, and I could speak to the 50's and on. Some of my peers make fun of the way teens dress today. They should see this book, and laugh with the teens about fashion from yesteryear..we have come a long way, baby, and what fun.

Recommended. prisrob 10-04-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have 2 identical ones!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
LOVE love love ENTHRALLED by its impeccable intellectual discourse NOURISHING without smothering SIGNIFICANT without pretention I LOVE every vein and thread that runs through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fashion - the ultimate book of costume and style, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great book - and a great big book at 480 pages - and it weighs in at just over 6lb or 2.8kg! It also has a lovely front cover - a kind of pearlescent white cover with a flocked pink velvet damask dress in the middle. Definitely a coffee table book - this would probably knock you out if you fell asleep reading it in bed. (It's bad enough when a paperback hits you in the face when you nod off lol.) The book is divided into 10 chapters and then a reference section. Each of the chapters covers a time period and is about 30-40 pages long but not all time periods are equal! For example Chapter 2 covers Medieval Romance and Trade which is the years 600-1449, but as we move forward in time, the time periods covered in each chapter get shorter presumably because fashion moved at a much faster pace during these times. Chapter 9 covers the Swinging Sixties to Glam Rock which is the years 1964-1979 and the final chapter covers 1980+. The reference section at the back is a good quick-look visual guide to styles of bags, shoes etc but each only has two pages and I would have liked to see more examples shown in this manner as it is a really clear at-a-glance guide. In the bag example they cover 200 years of bags with only 29 examples. That covers the basics but there are a deal more important examples that could have been included. Despite this, it is an awesome book containing a wealth of information about the history of costume, clothing and fashion for 3000 years.

This review is based on my own experience with the book, 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giant Book of Fashion, 12 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the Victoria & Albert Museum there is a large section all about the fashions of the British through history. The room is full of luscious garments, but also the basic clothing that the likes of you and me would wear to work. It is a fascinating slice of history, but also a visual feast. It appears that DK have taken this room and placed it in their new book `Fashion', itself a wonderfully vibrant encyclopaedia of clothing history full of exquisite imagery and interesting facts.

`Fashion' has a methodical and historic approach to its subject matter starting hundreds of years ago and working its way to the present day. Each era of history gets at least a double page spread that highlights noted fashions of the period either in illustrated form, or more often photography. Each page is full of colour and the quality paper means that it shines off the page. As the modern era approaches the pages slow as individual fashionistas are highlighted as there is more modern photography to choose from.

With its solid research, `Fashion' has a strong historic footing; it is a great resource for someone looking to study the subject. However, it is so well designed and looks so good that anyone with a passing fancy on the subject will spend a long time enjoying themselves just thumbing through the pages. A great coffee book for the right person.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cut Above The Rest, 12 Nov 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a big, fat, heavy book (nowhere near size '0'!) It is also a
very beautiful book. 'Fashion : The Ultimate Book Of Costume and Style'
is a labour of love; an encyclopedic survey of clothing as adornment from
pre-history to the present day, richly brought to life by editor Caryn
Franklin and a small lorry-load of expert consultant authors and writers.

The informative and fascinating text and marvelous illustrations and
photographs both do justice to an ephemeral and ever-changing subject.
From Ancient cultures; through Renaissance glories and Baroque and Rococo
splendor; to the huge modern influence of French couture and flamboyant
contemporary excess, we are absorbed, amused and astounded by the rich
diversity of sartorial enterprise and technical prowess contained in
each and every period examined and the important part played by the
materials available to shape such fantastical works of human imagination.

Mrs Wolf has hardly put it down since it arrived!

"Fashion changes, but style endures". (Coco Chanel)

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fashion
Fashion by DK (Hardcover - 11 Sep 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews