Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bird book
I like the simplicity of this book. The sketches are nice and clear and the lay out is so easy to follow. It was the "little brown bird" section which sold the book to me. This is a good first search book for a novice such as myself when trying to identify birds which are visiting the feeding station in my garden.
Published on 22 April 2012 by moretime

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forget It
When I read the description for this book I was hooked. Its the thing I have been looking for.
WHAT A PITY ITS RUBBISH.
eg looking for a small brownish bird with red on on its head??
Now I know its probably Linnet or Redpoll
They have Linnet under "streaked brown birds" and they are not that streaky
They have Redpoll under "finches and flycathers"...
Published 23 months ago by gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bird book, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
I like the simplicity of this book. The sketches are nice and clear and the lay out is so easy to follow. It was the "little brown bird" section which sold the book to me. This is a good first search book for a novice such as myself when trying to identify birds which are visiting the feeding station in my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for popping in a pocket or rucksack. It is well written and the pictures are really good for identification. We've tried other books where the birds are often sketches or the colours are poor. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great little book, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
a very good buy, i love watching the birds in my garden, but only new the names of very few, but now know the names of many more.
would tell any one interested in birds to purchase this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bird Book, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
I bought this for my dad who is just becoming interested in birds and he finds it really easy to use, and it contains a good amount of information with out being over the top. it compares rarer birds to birds everyone can identify such as pigeons making it easy to compare sizes. overall very happy especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB What's that Bird, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
Excellent book giving all sorts of information and photographs of British birds. Very handy for identifying the birds that are commonplace in the garden. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for identifying an unknown bird!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
It did exactly what I wanted it to do.
I have got the bigger DK Bird book which is excellent if you know what bird it is you are looking up. But if you don't know what bird it is this book helps to identify it... Then you can research it better in the bigger book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
Easy to use little book. Ideal for occasional bird watchers like myself and husband. Great value for money. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Kristine H. Fleet "Kiwipup" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
I wanted a book to identify the bird population in my garden. This is a simple guide that doesn't get too intense or involved so great for purpose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
Excellent book. I had previously bought a copy in a bookshop in Dornoch while on holiday and wanted one to give as a gift but couldn't find it in any shop in Edinburgh. Arrived promptly in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forget It, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB What's that Bird? (Paperback)
When I read the description for this book I was hooked. Its the thing I have been looking for.
WHAT A PITY ITS RUBBISH.
eg looking for a small brownish bird with red on on its head??
Now I know its probably Linnet or Redpoll
They have Linnet under "streaked brown birds" and they are not that streaky
They have Redpoll under "finches and flycathers" 16 pages apart.
I fact there are only 4 birds in the "streked brown bird" section.
What about Dunnock, house sparrow, tree sparrow, sedge warbler, grasshopper warbler.
If I tried I,m sure I could find another 10.
Birds of prey, I don't know about you but the only ones I see are on the wing.
There are no pictures of birds on the wing except 1, a swift.
Also there it seems to show only male birds of any species.
Only 150 bird types.
Waders, for some reason they decieded to put in a very rare black winged stint, you will NOT find a fairly common Ruff or an Avocet.

Save your money.
Buy something else.
Please note I am not normally a reviewer of products. But this is so bad I felt compelled to try to save other people the expense and hastle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RSPB What's that Bird?
RSPB What's that Bird? by DK DK (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews