Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and full of detail
Jules Brown is a fine writer and I have used his earlier guide for visits to Barcelona and Girona. His sense of history and atmosphere is strong and he does not hesitate to indicate which places are worth a visit and which to skip. In particular his account of the fascinating Barri Gotic in Barcelone led me to seek it out and spend far too much time wandering about. I...
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by Doc Barbara

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and informative but no usual deapth
It's a very good and helpful guide but not brilliant as many other 'Rough Guides' are. This book has all important information about major sites, maps, museums, restaurants and hotel. However, when you start reading the areas description they are sometimes miles apart from what you see in front of you. It feels like the author didn't want to do in-depth and used a few...
Published 18 months ago by TUZOVSKAYA Natalia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and full of detail, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
Jules Brown is a fine writer and I have used his earlier guide for visits to Barcelona and Girona. His sense of history and atmosphere is strong and he does not hesitate to indicate which places are worth a visit and which to skip. In particular his account of the fascinating Barri Gotic in Barcelone led me to seek it out and spend far too much time wandering about. I agree that Girona is more than a daytrip destination as there is much to see there. He gives a feel of how the locals live and what is of interest to visitors, giving the usual Rough Guide information about travel, culture, eating and drinking, museums etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 19 May 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
This guidebook is really excellent. The maps are far more precise than those in the Lonely Planet volume and, contrary to LP's, they can be used to find also rather minor streets without having to buy a specific map. The text are good too and often quite informative and rich of interesting details.
The only thing I really don't like in all Rough Guides is that intrductory cultural information - like history, literature, music, etc,- are placed in the end and not at the beginning on the text: I find it illogical but I realise that it seems to have been adopted also by other publishers, so there must be some commercial reason for it...
I have always used Lonely Planet but recently I have found that Rough Guides are consistently better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful companion, but not comprehensive., 8 Aug 2012
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
This is far more informative than most guides I browsed (such as Top 10 Barcelona), although bewarned that it does have a lot of writing at the expense of pictures. However, it helped me immensely to plan my days and to find and understand lots of interesting little things and areas that I would never have found otherwise. The maps of Barcelona itself are very good (although don't always trust where they show the metro stations - look for a landmark or streetname). Many of the prices are already out of date so expect to pay slightly more. There are some very useful tips such as never to buy a single metro ticket, but always to buy a T-10 (especially if travelling to/from the airport). However, there is a missed opportunity to include a lot of other useful little bits of information about places that would have saved some hassle, e.g., restaurants that don't take cards or where people don't speak English (luckily I can get by in Spanish). Also, this was not very helpful for when you need to use RENFE or leave Barcelona itself(my hotel was in Montcada), but no travel guide is perfect and if they were it would take some of the fun out of travelling (such as taking the wrong train due to an out of date timetable at the Arc de Triomf station and explaining in Spanish why you don't have the right ticket!) Finally, I didn't find the text to be too small or light, unlike the American reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and informative but no usual deapth, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
It's a very good and helpful guide but not brilliant as many other 'Rough Guides' are. This book has all important information about major sites, maps, museums, restaurants and hotel. However, when you start reading the areas description they are sometimes miles apart from what you see in front of you. It feels like the author didn't want to do in-depth and used a few common cliches of 'Barcelona not being Spain' rather than explore a bit more. Moreover there are more of 'dodgy' areas in central Barcelona than the books wants to persuade the travelers with and that is certainly to be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to plan your trip to Barcelona, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
There is so much to see and do this guide will help you plan how to make best use of your time. Amazing place, enjoy your holiday, we did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Esential reading, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
Great up to date information. Liked the down to earth style and reviews.The maps are really good in fact there is no need to buy a seperate one of the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rough Guides, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
Rough Guides can be patchy but this is one of the best: crisply written, well observed and sensibly organised with decent maps and a comprehensive index. It is good to see the coverage of modern architecture in a city as fast moving as this. The historical and literary context to Catalonia is also well done.

We also took the Lonely Planet guide with us but found it relatively superficial and hard to navigate - not a patch on the RG.

You will still need a fold-out map; what a pity that RG no longer seem to publish their durable and clear laminated sheets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide contained most information to make visit enjoyable, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
details of public transport were excellent it made the use of the metro simple end enjoyable. Details of sights to be visited were clear and comprehensive. I felt that the only thing missing were guided walks around the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
Good quality book it was sent quickly and appears to be good - difficult to review a travel book if you haven't got there yet? Does seem to have some extra info in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Barcelona (Paperback)
Husband and I recently visited Barcelona for the first time and found this book had all the information that we needed.
Coupled with the Barcelona PopOut Map that we also bought - we had all the information that we needed to help us to have a fantastic week's holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Barcelona
The Rough Guide to Barcelona by Jules Brown (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews