Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big, beautifully presented coffee table book
This large, impressive-looking tome is sold with the rather grandiose claim that you'll find "unrivalled detail on everything from breast feeding to bonding all provided by a team of experts including paediatricians, midwives, psychologists and nutritionists". The team behind it is impressive, but the level of detail is perhaps not as great as the blurb might lead you to...
Published 12 months ago by Seren Ade

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table book for the baby who has everything
Coming as I do from the Penelope Leach generation (she's still churning 'em out, by the way) this seems rather, well, infantile. 'Your baby's frustration will be alleviated when he achieves his goal'. No s***, Sherlock! 'Your baby's afternoon nap may last longer once you drop the morning nap' - with the all-important proviso that it may not. Any mother who can read...
Published 15 months ago by Simon Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big, beautifully presented coffee table book, 18 July 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This large, impressive-looking tome is sold with the rather grandiose claim that you'll find "unrivalled detail on everything from breast feeding to bonding all provided by a team of experts including paediatricians, midwives, psychologists and nutritionists". The team behind it is impressive, but the level of detail is perhaps not as great as the blurb might lead you to expect.

The book is very much a coffee-table volume. It's well-presented and colourful, with beautiful accompanying pictures. It would make a really nice-looking present and gives a good overview of what new parents can expect in their child's first year of life. It's not by any means a truly comprehensive, in-depth account - but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. Instead this book gives a decent enough general account, divided up over the year (with some areas treated in greater detail), to help new parents and raise their awareness of particular issues. The book is written in accessible language and presented in a format that encourages repeated dipping in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Easy to dip in and out of making it a useful ready with hints & tips for the babies first year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my daughter, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Jennifer Brooks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Although my daughter is a nursery nurse she wanted a book that was easy to follow. She really loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
My son is 8 months old now and I still read this book every week! I have since bought another copy for my sister in law as she had a baby not long after me. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book!, 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
I bought the day by day pregnent book, and found it extremly helpful and informative, so when i was looking for the book for baby after giving birth, this came to my first choice.Definitly recommendete it for new parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have to buy a baby book, I'd recommend this one, 21 Aug 2013
By 
theTramp "thetramp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
We used the day-by-day pregnancy book and found it an excellent companion for a first time pregnant couple. The baby version seemed like a no-brainer purchase and it has been. A great review of what to expect in terms of growth, behaviour and development, there is enough science to digest and inform but not so much that you need a qualification in biology or psychology to understand it. There is also, crucially, a lack of emotional wording. This is not about someone's opinion, this is not a "how to raise your child" book and it does not assume that you are an idiot. What it does is provide you with the foundation knowledge to help you find your own way and assume that you have the wherewithal to do just that. We like to read a week in advance once a week together, a little ritual that we enjoy and find helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and of high quality., 27 May 2013
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A surprisingly hefty hardback, as much a quality coffee-table book as a manual, and as comprehensive as you might expect for something that's getting on for 450 pages, with a lot of useful little information boxes spread throughout.

It might not be quite to everyone's taste, there being perhaps something of a surfeit of photos of blissfully happy young families in lovely beige homes and the prose being perhaps a little patronising, but you can't really complain about something of this depth and quality at the price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New mother New book, 18 May 2013
By 
Amex Angel "Lou" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is an excellent read, the journey of pregnancy and motherhood is clearly set out. It is easy to read and the illustrations are tastefully drawn, the joys and woes of motherhood/parenting has been explored in depth but the information is shared in a concise manner. Like any other manuals e.g. car, t.v. this book outlines the things all new mums need to know. Well worth the buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful little snipets of info, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
This gives info in easy to digest chunks and has lots if good pictures to help you understand. I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and good-looking, 15 May 2013
By 
Barto (EU) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Baby Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you need a book on everything concerning early childcare, "The Day-by-Day Baby Book" may just as well be the one. You'll find everything you really need here: from notes on feeding the newborn baby, through the tricks of putting it to sleep (and keeping it asleep for the right amount of time), to dealing with the oh-so-terrible issue of dirty nappies. It's not perfect - I didn't like its patronizing style, for one - but since such books should be practical, first and foremost, I can't argue it's not worth its price tag. A nice idea for a gift, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day-by-Day Baby Book
The Day-by-Day Baby Book by Dr. Ilona Bendefy (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2012)
15.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews