Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a bed of roses
This book is for you if you own a battered copy of Peter Beales' Classic Roses and, dare I say it, is actually better. Thorough, convincing and with excellent photographs, it also has very useful information on such details as the size of flowers, type of scent, and width as well as height of the plant. Habit (gangly, compact, etc.), disease resistance and preferred...
Published on 14 Feb 2004

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the same book as "Encyclopedia of Roses" ISBN 978-0-7566-8868-4
It is not a bad book as reference but is exactly the same book as "Encyclopedia of Roses" by DK in the United States published July 2011, ISBN 978-0-7566-8868-4, It is just two different covers. It should have been mentioned somewhere so that I would have bought only one book because I have ended up buying both and there is not a single line difference in two books other...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by MAZ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a bed of roses, 14 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This book is for you if you own a battered copy of Peter Beales' Classic Roses and, dare I say it, is actually better. Thorough, convincing and with excellent photographs, it also has very useful information on such details as the size of flowers, type of scent, and width as well as height of the plant. Habit (gangly, compact, etc.), disease resistance and preferred growing conditions are given in almost all--but not all!--cases. The text is very well laid out with varieties and species listed in alphabetical order and occasional historical digressions. Nowhere else will you find so many photographs of old roses, so it's also a sumptuous feast for any reader with some interest in roses; very good value for money. My only quibble is that not all known varieties are described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the same book as "Encyclopedia of Roses" ISBN 978-0-7566-8868-4, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
It is not a bad book as reference but is exactly the same book as "Encyclopedia of Roses" by DK in the United States published July 2011, ISBN 978-0-7566-8868-4, It is just two different covers. It should have been mentioned somewhere so that I would have bought only one book because I have ended up buying both and there is not a single line difference in two books other than the cover page.

It is also missing several roses so it is not necessarily a complete encyclopedia. I am from Australia and have several famous roses in my garden such as Fire Fighter, Neptune, Sight Saver, Aotearoa, Barbra Streisand, John Paul II, dior essence by delbard but they are not listed. The book also talks about delbard roses but doesn't list all delbard roses, I couldn't find one of their famous roses called "Chartreuse de Parme" and many more. So in summary, it is not a complete encyclopedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Revised Edition., 19 July 2011
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
As an encyclopaedia of roses this is abook that a rose enthusiast will refer to time and time again. It is profusely illustrated and is a mine of information. I certainly would not want to be without a copy.

However, if you already have a copy of the first or second editions you will not need this third edition: I could find nothing different in it from the two earlier versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
Wonderful book. covering what you need to have success, with your rose garden.
The pictures are at the highest quality.
Its difficult to stop reading.
A book for lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything's coming up roses, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
What a superb book. It provides plenty of information for the novice or more experienced rose grower. I bought it as a gift for someone who has already as a result gone out and bought more roses. If you just want to browse, it works as a coffee table book too, with lots of photographs of the numerous varieties listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rose-grower's must-have, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
This book is my bible. The last one fell to bits after almost 20 years of constant use. Beautifully illustrated and easy to use. Essential for anyone serious about growing and appreciating roses anywhere in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointed RHS fan, 4 July 2007
This was such a disappointing book and well below my expectations. I had previously bought the RHS A - Z encyclopedia of Garden Plants whcih is a first class reference book, beautifully produced and presented.

The RHS encyclopedia of roses falls well short of those standards in terms of its overall production, presentation and content. Quite extra ordinarily, bearing in mind this is an RHS book, the descriptions of the roses fail to even indicate those roses that have an RHS Award for Garden Merit!

All rather disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
A beautiful book, there is a colour photo for each rose and detailed descriptions and the back has a section on caring for your roses, pruning and propagating them in different ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Encyclopedia of Roses, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
Excellent reference book,covers a lot roses as wellas breeders would recomend it to anyone.Included in book history of roses and regions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Roses (Hardcover)
I can see this book being very well used. Loads of pictures and concise descriptions of each rose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS Encyclopedia of Roses
RHS Encyclopedia of Roses by Brigid Quest-Ritson (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2011)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews