Customer Reviews


847 Reviews
5 star:
 (513)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (247)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry Complete Cookbook
One of the best no nonsense cookbooks I have in my collection, producing great results every time. A must have for any aspiring cook.
Published on 21 Dec. 2012 by BazzaP1952

versus
81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5* for the beginner but only 3* for the experienced cook
If you're just starting out and want to get the basics right then this book is an absolute winner for you. The recipes are simple, methods are clearly laid out, ingredients are easy to source, and easy to handle, and you'll gain some useful practical skills if you follow the directions. There's plenty of content, lots of illustrations and the whole concept of the book is...
Published on 14 Feb. 2012 by JK


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry Complete Cookbook, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
One of the best no nonsense cookbooks I have in my collection, producing great results every time. A must have for any aspiring cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
K. Jackson "keefy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
love the illustrations - for me that's what makes the difference between a good and a great book. i need to know what something should look like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
I am an experienced cook with over 40 years of cooking and baking but still loved this book. I use it at least 3-4 times a week and find all the recipes easy to follow with great variations on all aspects of recipes.A good book for the beginner or accomplished cook and was glad i didnt let the negative reviews put me off buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cook book, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Watson (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a present for my daughter and I've been using the original version for years so am very pleased she wants the latest editon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers cookery recipes & knowledge, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
Really good book although a bit on the heavy side, covers the whole aspect of cooking, good for all age groups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
Please ignore all the shark loving reviewers. The fact is this cookbook is brilliant, it has so many usable recipes that you will go back to. If you want a good all round cook book then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cookbook, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this for my baking mad daughter who was a huge fan of the GBBO and is a big fan of Mary Berry. It's a lovely good quality & thick cookbook that has lots of lovely recipes that are well explained. I was impressed and so was my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry's Cookbook, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. H. Osborne (Cheshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
This was a requested Christmas gift for my mother in law;.....she was really pleased with it as it contains every type of recipe for different tastes, times to cook, and of course the delectable desserts and cakes Mary is best known for...I had a quick look before wrapping this gift, and it looked to be a must have to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got everything!, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
I got this for my mum for christmas - so far we've tried some of the biscuits and cakes and they've all come out really well. Really easy to follow instructions that suit beginners and experienced cooks just as well. I was torn between this and the '100 sweets and treats' book, but this one must contain that book (or most of it) on top of other non-dessert recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with family-friendly meals, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook (Hardcover)
I do understand people's concerns about the shark recipes, and their inclusion was clearly an error of judgement. However, since the publisher has already confirmed they will be removed for the next edition, let's ignore those and judge the hundreds of other recipes the book contains.

I received it as a gift, and to start with was a bit put off by the format of several recipes squashed into each double-page. It doesn't look as trendy as some contemporary cookbooks: no glamorous full-page photos of each recipe. Due to the lack of unusual ingredients, the recipes don't feel as cutting-edge and stylish as some either. What Mary does really well though is present family-friendly and realistic recipes for the working week. I've tried a number of them and have always been pleasantly surprised by how straightforward and tasty they were. Lots of practical tips and suggestions are included to help novice chefs.

Overall, I would say excellent value for families and less-confident cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook
Mary Berry's Complete Cookbook by Mary Berry (Hardcover - 1 Feb. 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews