Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide Book on Cyprus.
I have always liked the DK Travel Guides and this is no exception! Loads of great info on the history of the island and also places to visit/eat. The practical info at the back is always very good too.
Published on 5 Sep 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a quick holiday guide.
Not quite as good as I expected being a DK fan. The southern Cyprus is covered adequately but the northern part is rather spartan and I felt biased.
Published 3 months ago by MiggyF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide Book on Cyprus., 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
I have always liked the DK Travel Guides and this is no exception! Loads of great info on the history of the island and also places to visit/eat. The practical info at the back is always very good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
Useful guide, covers most points but you will need a better road map. restaurant guide a little sparse. would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Especially Suitable for the Sightseer, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
Item reviewed: 2012 edition (minor revisions being made every two years)

This book is comprised of:

* Introducing Cyprus (incl history), 30 pp (i.e. of a suitable size to be read on the flight over)
* Cyprus Region by Region (West, South, Troodos Mountains, Central, South Nicosia, North), 120 pp
* Travellers' Needs (mostly hotels and restaurants), 34 pp
* Survival Guide (practical info and good index), 28 pp

This is more illustrated than conventional guidebooks such as Lonely Planet. With those guidebooks, when you arrive at a major sight, you have to read or reread an essay of say five hundred words, and at the end may still be confused as to where exactly things are. DK's brilliant innovation is that instead they provide a labelled diagram, a bit like an aerial photograph, that orients you immediately and shows you where to go for the most interesting items. Of course this takes a lot of space so it's only done for major attractions – Kato Paphos, Kourion, Limassol Castle, Kykkos monastery, Salamis, and Kyrenia Castle.

Another DK innovation is the illustrated diagrams of sightseeing walks, which make it much easier to locate the places of interest, and much harder to get lost, than with other guidebooks. Unfortunately in the Cyprus guidebook there is only one recommended walk, in South Nicosia.

The bottom line is this. If you want to spend your time at the poolside, then that is fine but this guide (or any guide) is useless to you. If you want to get out and see the place, without spending a lot of time reading, then this book is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a quick holiday guide., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
Not quite as good as I expected being a DK fan. The southern Cyprus is covered adequately but the northern part is rather spartan and I felt biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eyewitness Best Guides for Visiting New Places, 3 May 2014
By 
J. M. Greer (Hexham, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
As always the Eyewitness Guide is best for helping me to plan a holiday in advance. The extensive use of photographs always helps me plan which places are most worth visiting in a short holiday with just enough historical background information to put different sites in context. I like a combination of visiting archeological sites, ralxing and exploring etc and the Eyewitness guides layout helps me plan which things would go well together to make an itinerary. The only failing is the sparse and poor restaurant recommendations- I don't really want an Irish pub when I got to the Mediterranean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
The DK Eyewitness guides are some of the best travel guides available. They are informative, beautifully illustrated and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This visual guide is useful, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
Reading through loads of words in a travel book is something i enjoyed before but now i do not have much time do so. This guide book is thus a perfect substitution. It has good balance of textual information and photographs.Having seen a photograph of a destination i can easily make up my mind to travel there or not. The Cyprus guide is quite adequate in this regard and served my purpose. We tried lot of tips provided and were pleased with the results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cyprus, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
what an informative , interesting and well set out book , this has inspired our interest in our forthcoming visit to Pathos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide to Cyprus, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
We bought this guide, based on previous experience with Eyewitness Guides and found it very useful for exploring the island. For visual information Eyewitness are good, but for more detailed information we also used a Rough Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt by inaccuracies, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus (Paperback)
There is a lot in this guide that is useful for forward planning. Unfortunately I found enough inaccuracies to render much of that planning useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Cyprus by Magdalena Micula (Paperback - 2 July 2012)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews