Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long weekend in Normandy
I admit to being a fan of the Eyewitness Guides, this one no exception. Compact, concise and packed with useful information, it's a great introduction to this beautiful, green area of France and encourages you to want to find out more.
(Page 33 mentions the 'Cidre' Route..Brilliant..THAT is highly recommended and although I'm not a Cider drinker..this stuff is...
Published on 29 April 2005 by Caroline Henderson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Useless
This book is almost useless. It breaks the various attractions down into top ten lists. It then does not include an address or tagged map for many of the attractions so while you might be fascinated that Pegasus Bridge is one of the Top Ten D Day attractions you'll have to buy another map or guidebook to actually find it. Instead you get a basic map reference, say B3,...
Published on 1 Aug. 2011 by C. Broadhurst


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Handy little book, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
I bought this based on generally good Amazon reviews a couple of days before a drving holiday around Normandy. We found the book to be very useful, covering all of the major tourist sites and the road maps inside the covers were more use that a petrol station bought Michelin map! The descriptions may be a little brief in places but it is a pocket guide not an encyclopedia after all. The way i always use guidebooks is together with research on the internet / tourist websites and offices etc. Don't think that everything you will need will be in any guide book, take a little time to research for yourself and ask around as locals are always happy to chat about a special event, festival, restaurant etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but not perfect, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
This is a good guide book that covers many sites or items of tourist interest. But, and I accept that it does actually state this, it only covers what IT considers are the Top Ten in any category, such as beaches, shopping areas, restaurants and both ancient and 'modern' historical sites. And not always in much detail. If you are happy to have information on only the 10 most popular tourist things in Normandy, then this is the book for you. If you want more and in greater detail, don't buy this. You will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket sized guide, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Hawkman69 (Madchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife and I are due to go to Normandy soon and wanted a pocket sized guide. After reading the previous reviews this one sounded ideal. It arrived within a couple of days and I have to say it really is an excellent guide with several '10 best of...' categories and places to visit, including a pull out map. A great choice for anyone wanting to have a little bit of information about a place to see / visit without being weighed down with too much information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top ten normandy, 31 Aug. 2010
As usual with d &k a very well produced useful guide. Packaging/delivery up to usual good amazon standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not what I really wanted!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
Purchased the book prior to a visit to Normandy. I should have read the title more carefully - I was expecting more of a travel guide than a top 10 of various categories.

That said, it's well written and informative, and has a wide variety of Top 10 categories. An interesting and informative book, handily sized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
Good book with lots of information: the top 10 highlights + lots of other information. Including photos. Nice and small book with still the information in there you need, perfect for travelling!

The only downside is the map. They could have put dots or something on the places where the highlights are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Normandy Guide - don't leave without it!, 23 July 2011
This is a great little pocket book - full of good information and really handy to carry around. The pull out map at the back proved invaluable for us to reach our destination as we had to cross the whole of Normandy. Can't wait to go back and make use of the book again!! Excellent value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book. Concentrates on the "must-sees"., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
Bought this for a short break in Normandy. It is certainly more than adequate for a short break. I've read it all and I don't think you will go far wrong if you follow its recommendations. I certainly know what I'm going to make a point of seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars see the main bits -- miss nothing, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
Perfect for that short trip and perfect for the pocket or bag. Get the best bit of Normandy sorted out from this book and then view them with a bit of knowledge that helps you enjoy some of our history as well as the Norman history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful item., 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy (Paperback)
Arrived very quickly and was packaged well. It was a gift for a friend who is going to Normandy next year so I haven't studied it but he said it will be most useful and a very handy size to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Normandy by Leonie Glass (Paperback - 2 July 2012)
Used & New from: £5.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews