Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this handy little guide - excellent for first-time visitors!
I know Rome well, but wanted a pocket-sized guide to take with me for reference on a recent 4-night break there with my partner, who had never been before. This was excellent, small and light yet covering the essential squares, churches, monuments and galleries, with a pull-out map that was very useful.

The historic centre of Rome is relatively small and...
Published 11 months ago by Marius Gabriel

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was disappointed with it as I did not realise how small it would be even though I know it said pocket size! I did not feel the map was as clear as it might have been . However it was delivered quickly.
I did buy the rough guide which was excellent after.
Published 20 months ago by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this handy little guide - excellent for first-time visitors!, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Marius Gabriel "Author" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
I know Rome well, but wanted a pocket-sized guide to take with me for reference on a recent 4-night break there with my partner, who had never been before. This was excellent, small and light yet covering the essential squares, churches, monuments and galleries, with a pull-out map that was very useful.

The historic centre of Rome is relatively small and crowded, and falls into distinct districts. The DK Eyewitness Guide takes Rome district by district, giving you the most important places in each. If you have only a limited time in the city, you may be much better off with a condensed guide like this than with one of the more detailed tomes that gives you masses of information.

Walking is by far the best way to see things in Rome, and in my opinion, new visitors should just get to the important places and then absorb them with your own eyes and feelings! I see so many tourists being endlessly lectured by tour-guides about historical details which they can't possibly absorb, or poring over closely-printed guide-books. Just look around and enjoy!

Of course, the guide omits many masterpieces, and if you've been to Rome before, you may require something more heavyweight, like the DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome but if this is your first trip to the Eternal City, and you are able to visit a quarter of the highlights in the book, you will have a wonderful time!

Recommended to those who are staying only a few days, or who don't know where to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product at a great price, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
Easy to carry round in your pocket or handbag due to it's compact size. Good value for money with a nice fold out map in the back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide, very helpful...., 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
I was very surprised at how helpful and clever this little guide book was. I spent 2 weeks travelling around Italy on the trains and this little guide was a big help. Light and as descibed, fits in your pocket. Text is a bit small and may prove difficult to read for people with sight problems but other than that, i would have been lost without it.....literally.

Full of helpful tips and important information. Also includes train routes, bus stops and restaurant suggestions with a pricing index to show you a variation of cheap to expensive places to eat. For places of interest, it will tell you if there is an admission charge and helpful tips on getting tickets.

I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Convenient pocket sized guide, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
This guide fits into the smallest handbag and gives you all the basic information you need when exploring Rome. We did, however, find it useful to have a larger more detailed guide to supplement it, but we were pleased to leave this heavier one back in the hotel room. The pocket map and guide was simple to use for finding all the sites and for travelling around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pocket guide., 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
This pocket guide really is pocket sized, but still has all the information you could possibly need inside. There's a fold-out map inside the back cover with lots of attractions marked on it that's really useful, and the different areas of Rome are colour-coded so you can easily find your way around.

Great little guide to plan your trip to Rome with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The pocket guide, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
I cannot be bothered to lug a large guide book around, and this fits into a hip pocket and includes a map, so serves as a guide during the day, reminding me of plans for visits and walks. I have bought several in this series and recommend them highly. You may want a more exhaustive guide book to refer to in the evenings when planning the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small and neat, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
A good back up for a more detailed guide. Small and neat, fits easily in your bag ( or even a big pocket) and has an attached fold out map, so handy when wandering around the city rather than carrying a bulky guide. Good snippets of info though this is not the guide for you if you want lots of detailed info about the sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
I was disappointed with it as I did not realise how small it would be even though I know it said pocket size! I did not feel the map was as clear as it might have been . However it was delivered quickly.
I did buy the rough guide which was excellent after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket size yes, but, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
This is a good guide but being small enough for a pocket or a handbag it means the maps are not easy to read i.e. street names - it would probably be ideal for a younger person - being older and wearing glasses I found the print too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars very average to poor, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome (Paperback)
there was not much in it The larger books seem much better. I did not use it in the end
I would recommend people bought a bigger book I thought it would fit in my pocket but if it does not contain what I want why take it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome
DK Eyewitness Pocket Map and Guide: Rome by Collectif (Paperback - 2 July 2012)
Used & New from: £2.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews