Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good pocket guide. Cedrtainly excellent value to money
This is a good pocket guide and well worth the cost spent on it. Living close to Morocco and a frequent visitor there I would like to see more on the art of bartering in the Souks; Aim and offer a QUARTER of the asking price, always keeping in mind of course, how much you value and want the item. With this in mind, wait and then make second offer of no more than a third...
Published on 7 Nov. 2010 by E. Lucas

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but maybe combine with other guides
The top 10 format is ok, it covers a lot of the good stuff in Marrakech, but not real depth to the guide, so worked great in conjunction with a more detailed guide.

It's nice and simple and has a lot of the sights etc covered.
Published on 26 Oct. 2009 by J. Lemon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good pocket guide. Cedrtainly excellent value to money, 7 Nov. 2010
By 
E. Lucas (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good pocket guide and well worth the cost spent on it. Living close to Morocco and a frequent visitor there I would like to see more on the art of bartering in the Souks; Aim and offer a QUARTER of the asking price, always keeping in mind of course, how much you value and want the item. With this in mind, wait and then make second offer of no more than a third. Then listen to the banter explaining the superior quality of the product, the hand made qualities, the uniqueness of it, say "Thank You, I am not that keen anyway..." and walk away. Without a doubt you will be called back to renegociate. Stick to your last offer and walk away again and hey presto, success assured.

Perhaps an enhanced section on what to do with children /families could be added. Marrakech is now an extremely safe and tranquil place for families and certainly not what it was 20 years ago. Explore it by all means but if you can, dont miss Essaouira, the windy town on the coast or more importantly, a three day excursion to the dunes south of Zagora (M'Hamid). However for a real Sahara desert experience, travel due east to the village of Merzouga, where the real and best sand dunes in Morocco can be found. Stay in a Berber tent overnight (you can easily arrange this when you get there, as well as camel rides to and from the tent) for an experience you and your children will not forget. For this excursion you need to stop midway in Todra Gorge and another night in the desert, ditto on the way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for a short break, 16 Mar. 2010
By 
S. J. Trueman "Sazz" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love these Top Ten guides! I've just returned from a 4 day break in Marrakech and this guide was indispensable! The top ten Marrakech Highlights section makes sure you don't miss anything on a short break and the Around Town section gives great ideas of where to go if you have a little longer. The fold out map was useful and robust. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but maybe combine with other guides, 26 Oct. 2009
The top 10 format is ok, it covers a lot of the good stuff in Marrakech, but not real depth to the guide, so worked great in conjunction with a more detailed guide.

It's nice and simple and has a lot of the sights etc covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good size with info you need, 4 Nov. 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech (Paperback)
A basic start to Marrakech. All the infor you need to see the major sites in a few days. A nice small size so it can be carried around each day. Have bought many titles from this series and will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reasonable - does what it says, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as with all DK guides, visually interesting and easy to navigate.
short and sweet, so a nice slim guide for carrying around.
however it felt a little repetitive in parts, and because they were pushing the "top 10" format, some of the "top 10's" felt a little contrived. Also because of this "top 10" focus, it didn't inculde any other background stuff eg history of the country, finnance, population demographics, employment - which isn't essential, but would have been interesting.
So if you just want a short and sweet, concise guide book to sightseeing in marrakech (not other parts of morocco) and like the attractive DK presentation - which I do - then this was well worth the £5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech (Paperback)
Small enough to put in your pocket. Contains all relevant details for the first time visitor. Great map that is waterproof and detachable from book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that you would expect from D.K., 25 Sept. 2010
By 
Anne Diamond (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Top 10 Marrakech has so much information and beautiful photos but at the same time is small enough to carry with you for easy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech (Paperback)
My main gripe is the print is so small you need a magnifying glass to read it, especially the maps, as the streets in Marrakech are hardly ever named. There has been a lot of research gone into this book and once you do find where you want to go it has lots of useful information. It does state however that you will not need a guide if you have this book.It's all you need. Perhaps that might be the case if you were staying in Marrakech for 2 months but on a week's visit this is definitely an exaggeration.
Also not enough warnings of hazards,especially in the Souks. The main one being the constant stream of Bicycles,Mopeds, scooters,carts,donkeys,ass's,and people in a hurry roaring past from both directions,making it almost impossible to stop and look at anything without being run over! I could go on for ever about the hazards,In fact there should be a whole paragraph dedicated to it.
Having said all this I was glad I bought the book. There were some lovely pictures in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy size and fairly comprehensive, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech (Paperback)
This is one of the better Marrakech guides that I have come across. And I have seen a few, having borrowed several from my library. I decided to purchase this one, because it has a decent sized map included and an easily accessible list of restaurants, tourist spots, hotels etc. The book itself, although small in size, has the essential info one needs to explore a fairly small city like Marrakech. It wont cover much of Moroccan (or Marrakech) history and other facts and figures. But you don't really need that when you are exploring a new place. You can always read up on this stuff on the internet. The book was revised in 2012 and contains accurate info as of end 2013 (when we visited the place). Recommended if you are looking to take just one guide to Marrakech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A claer read, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
W. Phillips (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech (Paperback)
Of most travel books for Marrakech I had a quick glance at this appeared to be very good if not the best. What's good is the detachable map which is very well detailed. The top ten gives you a good indicator of things to do and see in the main square are.

Due to Marrakech being a Muslim city the explanation about clothing to wear, so not to upset the local people was rather poor and possibly out of dated. To ensure me and my wife would wear the correct clothing I used other web sites which put my mind at rest.
A small thing which could have major ramifications to the traveller.
Also hire car information is slightly out of date. Just go onto a hire car website to find true prices for vehicles.
Apart from that a good and helpful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Marrakech by Andrew Humphreys (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2012)
Used & New from: £6.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews