Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used daily during our five day trip to Budapest
We used this book every day during our recent trip. It provides valuable information on transportation around Budapest - ie, the ticketing system on the excellent underground train service. Lots of information re opening times/days of opening on the places we planned to see: National Art Gallery, National Museum and the thermal spas. There is useful information on the...
Published on 5 April 2013 by K King

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check where your staying 1st !
Great book full of usefull info however when i went over there i only later realised i was staying in 'Buda' not 'Pest' which is the part this book is completely based upon ,so 2 weeks reading for nothing....lol.
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by K. jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used daily during our five day trip to Budapest, 5 April 2013
By 
K King "kathy8904" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
We used this book every day during our recent trip. It provides valuable information on transportation around Budapest - ie, the ticketing system on the excellent underground train service. Lots of information re opening times/days of opening on the places we planned to see: National Art Gallery, National Museum and the thermal spas. There is useful information on the etiquette of the thermal spas. It isn't easy finding your way around these spas ie, navigating lockers/paying extra for massages etc so it is good to find out as much as possible before you visit. However, there was a serious omission in this book -you need to wear a shower cap or swimming hat if you want to swim in the thermal spa pools! I didn't do this and a man came out of a hut and blew his whistle at me! Believe me, you need to work it all out before hand re prices/treatments etc.

We didn't use this book based on the restaurant recommendations - we found most of the restaurants recommended in the book to be either a, to have no available tables as you have to pre=book or, b) too expensive. We found lots of excellent restaurants serving delicious home cooked food simply by walking around Budapest navigating the streets by using the map in the book - we found some gems in the quieter areas of Pest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a short trip, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
I read a lot of reviews for various travel guides on Budapest before choosing this one. As it was only a 5 day trip this book provided a concise version of everything I wanted to know about the city, sights, essential information about the baths and recommendations for good cafes. Although I didn't use it for accommodation, but it seemed to have a variety of options for every budget. The pull-out map was really useful and had the metro lines on as well. A great guide for a fantastic city!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact guide offers an easy way to find one's way around Budapest., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
I have a number of these TOP 10 guide books and find the format most useful. Firstly, they are all small enough to carry around in one's hand, rather than stuck out of sight in the backpack, so are more likely to be used. The format makes it easy to access the information. The folding maps inside the covers are legible, though a good local map may also be required for the tiny back streets. Pictures are of quality, if sometimes rather small. Websites for the major sights are provided. This is helpful to check that the quoted opening times and entrance fees are correct, as things change from season to season. Do not expect full background information [e.g. historical context] as there is insufficient room and a larger book is required. But there is more than enough detail in this compact guide to support a good week's stay in this enthralling city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a weekend break, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
I bought this as we have a short weekend break planned for Budapest. I have quite a few of these Top 10 guides and they are great to get to the main highlights of what to do in a short space of time in a city.

Great little maps too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for the traveller to europe, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
I found this guide extremely useful outlining what you could and should be visiting/seeing. It is clear and put in simple language so easy to understand with interesting and informative photos as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
This book and its maps were useful especially the public transport ones. Although a lot of building work was happening when I visited (Sept 2013). A wonderful city and this guide was quite accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
Bought this for a 5-day trip to Budapest, and it was perfect in tips, getting us around to see al the right places, and helping us have an enjoyable break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent travel guide for a city break, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
This travel guide was perfect for 4 days in Budapest. The guide is set out excellently with suggested itineraries for each day of your visit and also itineraries for dividing up your time when visiting all of the main attractions. There is just the right amount of information and it's all conveyed concisely with useful pull-out maps and pictures. It's also extremely compact and light so won't bog you down if carrying it around in a pocket or bag. Would certainly recommend this book for anyone visiting Budapest on a city break!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very well researched, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
We had two days in Budapest and relied on this to get the best out of our city break. It didn't disappoint with extremely accurate and excellent recommendations. If you have no knowledge of Budapest before you go buy this guide. Only reason why it isn't five stars is that the hotel selections were very predictable. We stayed at one that wasn't on the list Hotel Nemzeti and it was fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great diagrams, great guidebook, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest (Paperback)
I'm an avid Lonely Planet guidebook person, but this eyewitness guidebook for Budapest really had some great information in it. I love the illustrations and diagrams of the sights, it's a very visual book and I appreciate that! Would highly recommend, it's also the perfect size to carry with you around the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Budapest by DK Publishing (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2012)
Used & New from: £3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews