Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for your NZ trip!
I got it together with Lonely Planet's 'Discover New Zealand' and I must say this was the main guide book that I used (together with extensive info you get in i-site visitor information places whilst in NZ). What made me pick this guide over the other was the fact that, apart from many photos, it contains details of short trips and walks you can take when you discover...
Published on 2 Aug 2012 by Shepherdess

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for at-home planning, not to bring with you to NZ
This book is basically a summary overview of every region and town in New Zealand, all in color. It is great for giving you an introduction to everything New Zealand, but it falls very short on actual details about anything. Lonely Planet and Rough Guide offer far more details about each particular town/region/area, while the NZFrenzy books offer far more details about...
Published 22 months ago by Jen Tilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for at-home planning, not to bring with you to NZ, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
This book is basically a summary overview of every region and town in New Zealand, all in color. It is great for giving you an introduction to everything New Zealand, but it falls very short on actual details about anything. Lonely Planet and Rough Guide offer far more details about each particular town/region/area, while the NZFrenzy books offer far more details about outdoor activities. In summary, get this book to get you a little acquainted with NZ and get your planning revved-up, but then get other books to bring with you to New Zealand and help you get the most out of your trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for your NZ trip!, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
I got it together with Lonely Planet's 'Discover New Zealand' and I must say this was the main guide book that I used (together with extensive info you get in i-site visitor information places whilst in NZ). What made me pick this guide over the other was the fact that, apart from many photos, it contains details of short trips and walks you can take when you discover that you have got a few hours to spare in a given location. Very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth taking, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
Clear ,illustrative, logical and easy on the eye. It makes a great planning aid for visiting NZ, much more helpful than the dry text only versions of NZ guides I used before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy sized useful guide, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
Excellent book that is a handy size to pop in your bag when you are out and about. Good maps. Gives itinery ideas for different lengths of stay which is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK Eyewitness Travel Guide New Zealand, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
This is a good size to take on holiday with me. There is enough information about the various places that I'll be visiting and it is always useful to know what to see and where to eat etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
excellent little book with lots of well illustrated information. I am sure it will be really useful when we get there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picture & street guide to NZ, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
Having bought this book for my elder sister's birthday prior to her spending 3 weeks on a train tour of NZ, it seemed the ideal choice for her needs as she will alight at town & city stations to explore the surroundings & will have plenty of time aboard to read the text. As it is an all-in holiday, she does not need details of accommodation & restaurants available.
The only downside is that it is a little heavy, printed on good quality gloss paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting one of these for your holiday, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
Where ever you are going, it is always worth getting one of these for where you are going, just so you don't miss anything and there are great tips etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for the Independent Traveller, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
I personally found this guide easier to use and read. It contained many more pictures than the similar LP guides. Items of particular interest in a region were given a bold title and made easy to spot. There was a good selection of small maps showing main towns and routes. It is still a good idea to take a Globetrotter type map of NZ with you. All the accomodation and restaurants are grouped in two sections at the back but still keeping it in the regions. Indipendant travellers have a mind and voice and will find a suitably priced restaurant.The guide like the LPs is I think aimed at the backpacker market, and whilst I appreciate keeping up to date with YHA and similar establishements is difficult as they change so rapidly, I was pleased to see that the I-Site Web site was listed. Nearly every major town has one and they are so helpful they should (unless I missed it) be given a full page write up in this book as to the services they can offer an independent traveller. I like the idea of putting the history of the country at the front and then general traveller information at the back - it keeps it all together but in two distict sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our NZ bible!, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Honeysuckle "Lynn" (Kings Langley, HertfordshireUnited Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand (Paperback)
Along with our touring road atlas, this was our 'bible' whilst we were visiting this beautiful country. It never let us down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New Zealand by Kate Hemphill (Paperback - 2 April 2012)
Used & New from: £4.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews