Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bavaria travel
usual excellent standard for this range of books. my only minor critism is that it did not cover much of bavaria outside munich
Published 23 months ago by K. Overton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks basic information
An interesting book if you want to know what the cross-sections and floorplans of various museums are. Less useful if you want little details such as when things are open and how much it costs to get in. Buy a lonely planet or rough guide instead.
Published 12 months ago by M. F. Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bavaria travel, 16 Aug 2012
By 
K. Overton "keith" (derby u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
usual excellent standard for this range of books. my only minor critism is that it did not cover much of bavaria outside munich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and Useful, but Too Heavy, 17 Oct 2012
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
Amazon do this at a good price, so it's a bargain given the amount of material. If anything, there's too much here, more than many visitors will probably need.

As usual with the Eyewitness guides, there's a lot of colourful drawings giving helpful descriptions of areas and sites. However, because the book is so darned heavy, we just left it in the hotel room and referred to it before and after days out, which meant we didn't maximise our understanding of what we were seeing.

I'd prefer it if they did a simple city sightseeing guide, rather than including vast areas outwith the city, as those sections are too sketchy to be anything other than a prompt for ideas. In particular, given the widespread use of the Internet, I'd ditch the Practicalities section about hotels, restaurants, security etc etc, as theses can easily be researched on the web and just add more dead weight to the book. On the other hand, the Top 10 guides are too sketchy, so to my mind just having this book concentrating on the city sights would be ideal.

If you're interested in the Third Reich sites, you'll find very little here, so I'd recommend Past Finder - Munich 1933-1945: Traces of German History - A Guidebook (Pastfinder) for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks basic information, 29 July 2013
By 
M. F. Miller (Keswick, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
An interesting book if you want to know what the cross-sections and floorplans of various museums are. Less useful if you want little details such as when things are open and how much it costs to get in. Buy a lonely planet or rough guide instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Choice, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
Excellent help: objective information with the most touristic attractions to be seen in Munich and a very useful map with the transport lines included. It's not a detailed guide but for those who prefer more details there are other options!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK Munich guide, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
Very nice price
Very useful, with lots of good ideas and details about Munich, places to go, to eat, to visit and what to avoid.

I stongly recommend these DK guides for who likes to travel...a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and informative, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
It has loads of information for people who wants to learn not only where to go, but history and curious facts about the city and surrounding areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide Book, 14 July 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps (Paperback)
I love the Eyewitness guide books. Detailed with pictures and facts about all the best sites and restaurants in a city. I use them for all the travel I can. Highly recommend the guide books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Munich & the Bavarian Alps by Izabella Galicka (Paperback - 2 April 2012)
Used & New from: £5.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews