Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proved its worth on the ground
Planning something more than a day trip to Venice? Then, this book is essential.
The splendour of Venice is well known, but like the thorns on a rose, Venice has its fair share of nuisances. Of course, if you're there for just a couple of hours, these are watered down to a vaporetto trip on the Grand Canal, a gondola rip-off and a visit to San Marco and the...
Published on 3 Aug. 2011 by Alex Gaudensis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The usual high standard
But why is the book so heavy? When will they produce a light weight guide book? Guide books do not need to last as facts change over the years for entry times, restaurants and so on. And we use them say twice before passing them on or chucking them out. But they do get carried about all the time . Why not use that airmail type paper? That would last a couple of...
Published on 4 May 2013 by teacher


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proved its worth on the ground, 3 Aug. 2011
Planning something more than a day trip to Venice? Then, this book is essential.
The splendour of Venice is well known, but like the thorns on a rose, Venice has its fair share of nuisances. Of course, if you're there for just a couple of hours, these are watered down to a vaporetto trip on the Grand Canal, a gondola rip-off and a visit to San Marco and the Campanile.
However, if you're staying in Venice for some days, you need something to structure your trip upon. This book is a gem. Compact enough to fit a small bag (too big for a pocket) it's full of information, graphics and tips.
A history and general information section at the beginning makes a good read ahead of arriving there. This is followed by a section called "a view of the Grand Canal", with illustrations giving a bird's eye view of the Canal and the main attractions encountered on its banks. Then, the city is divided into areas with colour-coded pages corresponding to the shade of colour of the particular district in the main map. Each section contains a brief intro, information about the main sights, and a suggested walking route. The top sights are given full pages, with dissected diagrams of the main churches and buildings.
Venice is truly a maze, and this book has several pages of detailed maps. Other maps given by the hotel or information office were not detailed enough to make our way through such a labyrinth. These maps were truly our Ariadne's thread.
We did use some of the suggested eateries,and the reviews were true to fact.
All in all, recommended for those visiting Venice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good guide, 7 April 2010
By 
I have been using DK travel guides for all my trips around the world and they never disappoint. This one, as the others, has all the essentials, will take you everywhere you need to go and teach you all about the place where you are at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book..., 27 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
... but on next revision make it more clear that all bus boats are vaporetti but not all vaporetti are ACTV (or Alilaguna). There are two entirely separate operators, ACTV and Alilaguna. Only Alilaguna goes to and from the airport, so if you're using this method to transfer you'll need a separate pass to ACTV-it around Venice. The Alilaguna service is poor to travel around during your stay so don't waste money on, say, the three day pass - just get the airport return. Alilaguna boat staff tend not to believe you've got a ticket unless you're with a suitcase. They probably think you're trying to bumble-on to their boat with an ACTV pass. We found they tended to fib and say they are not going to where you want to - you have to be confident and say you know where they're going and waive your ticket as you approach the boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellect publication, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Lynn Marie Diane Carneiro (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We always use the Eyewitness Travel Guide as they have proven to give accurate information and the recommended tours take you to the most interesting sites. Excellent publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venice in 5 days, 3 Nov. 2010
We recently spent 5 wonderful days in Venice, and felt as though we walked MILES every day! The Guide was really good, up to date and easy to carry.
We also took a larger map which was invaluable. If you only have room for one guide book, this book will tick the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both guide and memento, 28 April 2011
Delighted with this travel guide. Exactly what I was looking for: masses of information but given in a logical layout, easy to navigate with colour codes for areas and every page has attractive photos and drawings of places of interest. Entertaining reading before your trip to decide what you want to see including good travel tips and all the info you need to get around. Moreover a wonderful compact memento after the trip. Never been disappointed by Amazon: fast dependable service, excellent quality goods and better prices than I can get in the local shops despite postage abroad! My favourite Internet shopping site!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venice Travel Guide, 26 July 2010
As with all DK books the level of detail is really useful. It is full of great information on the districts of Venice and the history of the properties and sights.
The most useful section i found was in the Practical Information and Travel Information in the Survival Guide.

The only criticism i would have that i was only visiting Venice on a short break and the book covers a much wider area that i did not visit. Mind you the clue is in the books title!

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
A very helpful guide with photography that makes it worth re-visiting long after our return from holiday! It makes me want to return to Venice very soon to see more of the places we could only read about in the three days we allowed ourselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide, 27 Jun. 2011
Having borrowed this edition from the library I found it an excellent guide, so I decide to buy my own copy for the next time we go to Venice - and there will be a next time! The guide is divided into areas with good street by street maps, plenty of illustrations and lots of detailed information not written in a dry and dusty way. The practical information re. travel, shops restaurants, etc, is first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended but I just wish the maps were better..., 28 May 2013
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
This was fairly invaluable on our recent trip. Especially around some of the museums where there was, shall we say, limited English language information available. The guide really helped us in such situations - highlighting key art-works/sights and providing plans of the relevant musuems/galleries. The visual tour of the grand canal was also thumbed through on our many trips up and down it. I've said it before but I'll say it again. All the detail on hotels and restaurants is fairly useless as it becomes out of date very quickly or, worse, it becomes a 'known' tourist haunt and standards slip (most usually - they don't often increase!). As such, I can't comment on these sections. Another reviewer was disappointed by the lack of Veneto guide within...having just visited Vicenza, Padova and Verona (all covered in the guide) I can say that the book was perfectly fine for our needs. We did the main touristy things - Scrovegni Chapel/Verona Arena etc. and the guide more that served its purpose. Admittedly it wasn't as detailed on aspects of the Veneto that were off the beaten path but I wouldn't have expected it to be. The one criticism I have is the maps. They weren't as good as the Venice Top 10 guide we also took with us. So we used Top 10 for maps but the 'main' DK one for everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Venice & the Veneto by Brenda Birmingham (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2012)
Used & New from: £3.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews