Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, quality, well-written, and gripping
Fantastic guide; well worth the money. I cannot recommend highly enough, especially if the superhero fan you're buying for is a little younger. My son is four years old and cannot read this himself, but it is well written enough to support a reading programme (some superhero literature I have come across is just rubbish). Little people, such as him, will need help with...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. GA Maartens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite the 'Ultimate' Guide to the Characters of the DC Universe; But Still a Satisfying Attempt!
DC Comics has had a vast publishing history since its humble beginnings in 1938, with the 'übermensch' Superman character being the company's first successful superhero to enjoy worldwide media attention for nearly seventy-five years now. Initially, characters from their respective comics didn't particularly interact with each other; only on title pages, and even...
Published 12 months ago by Nicholas Richard Pearson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, quality, well-written, and gripping, 11 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. GA Maartens (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
Fantastic guide; well worth the money. I cannot recommend highly enough, especially if the superhero fan you're buying for is a little younger. My son is four years old and cannot read this himself, but it is well written enough to support a reading programme (some superhero literature I have come across is just rubbish). Little people, such as him, will need help with the more advanced words, but you can easily use this to encourage them to sound out words for themselves. The advantage of using this book is that the content itself is gripping for superhero fans.
I would guess that if they are around ten years old, you may be better off investing in the larger encyclopedia, but that will set you back near £30.
If your budget does not allow, this is definitely the way to go. I am mightily impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DCcomics ultimate character guide, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
Could have been more informative on the characters histories. Artwork good, and all DC main characters were covered. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little book, 6 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful little piece of work. It's obviously nowhere near as detailed as bigger (and much more expensive) publications but it does provide clear and informative overviews of loads of DC comic book characters. It's the sort of book you leave on the coffee table - and the sort of book that just about everybody picks up and flicks through. I'm glad I dropped this in to the basket in passing :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post-Crisis, pre-New 52 character guide, 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
This colourfully-illustrated book has 204 pages featuring 204 of the characters and teams that populate the DC Comics’ universe. Each page has a large colourful portrait of the character or team in action, along with a smaller picture illustrating a scene from their back-story. The accompanying text-boxes and captions are well-written and easy-to-read, making them suitable for young children as well as grown-ups who want some basic information about the many characters and their teams that inhabit DC’s comics and animated series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fo a fiver!, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
This and it's counterpart book, Marvel Avengers were a fantastic buy for £5 each for my son for Christmas. He's 13 soon, but loves his Marvel & DC characters. Full of super illustrations of each character, and information about each one; its allies and enemies, vital statistics etc; it was worth the money just for the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars colourful, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
if you dont know the difference between DC super heroes and Marvel heroes ,you soon shall, loads of information and colourful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 1 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
My son is really into his comic, so this was a fantastic item at a good price, he loved it. The item was delivered fast and arrived in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
My 3 and a half year old loves this book. He is super hero mad and has looked at this every day since in arrived. The book is really good quality, full of lots of unusual baddies and goodies we hadn't heard of. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!!, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
I bought this for my boyfriend who LOVES superheros, the book came faster then expected,(2 days) this book has got SO MANY Heroes in it! The cover is shiny blue and it is amazing quality!! Really really impressed!!:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful..........., 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide (Hardcover)
bought this for my patner, its the kind of book you pick up and look at here and there, not a novel as we knew but certainly informative, great graphics and a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide
DC Comics Ultimate Character Guide by DK (Hardcover - 1 Jun. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews