Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2011
Absolutely superb, an excellent book in every respect. Casual enough for the coffee table, detailed enough for reference and involving enough for extended browsing. This book is for everyone, whether student, scholar or layman.

First of all this is a book illustrated throughout on every page and the illustrations are all superb. In terms of presenting the subject matter in a digestible fashion to the reader, this is a huge benefit exceedingly well executed. And yet there is no detail overlooked or applied without commensurate explanation.

The breadth of the material included is equally impressive, no stone is left unturned, from the nature of mass and the constituent parts of atoms, gravity, radiation, particle physics, the fundamentals of the Universe, the formation of the Solar System, the orbit, atmosphere and tectonics of the planets, the history of space exploration and the birth of astronomy, the formation of stars, the position of the constellations and the nature of the stars that form them, it's all here. Even the size of the book is spot on, not too large to be unwieldy and not too small to cramp the illustrations.

It's not Roger Penrose and nor should it be, but it is a very great deal more considered than one might initially assume it may be. This books title is exactly what it is, and it is extremely well done.

For any teenager with an inquiring mind it would make a wonderful educational tool and for any adult stargazer a valuable reference. Something to return to again and again, which will always impart the same pleasure. For the uninterested browser it will even be a revelation. Such is the measure of how well the content is presented.

Bravo.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
I was mightily impressed with this text, and I'm not easily impressed. The information is invaluable, fascinating and extensive. The imagery is captivating, mesmerising and awe-inspiring. Words alone cannot describe it, much like the universe itself. You have to see it to believe it. Highly recommended.
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
I would recommend this book to anyone who is passionate about universe or just wants to find out more about space. Information: reasonably detailed, very well organized, good pictures. Quality of the book: excellent (good paper and ok binding, I've read that some had problems with it). The book doesn't get too technical but can be used as a starting point for more serious studying of various aspects of astrophysics. Overall a very good book with lots of interesting information for everyone to enjoy.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
This IS an Encyclopedia and it's primary function is to provide text information (which it does extensively), so although every page is litterd with images and diagrams, they tend to be small. A comprehensive astronomy section 'The constellations' (approx' one third of the book), provides star-charts and detailed information on the night sky throughout the year, ideal for the amateur stargazer. DK's Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Universe, is an ideal text for both the interested novice as well as those wishing to expand their general knowledge. Those seeking a pictoral version of the cosmos, might like to try 'Universe' (Nicolas Cheetham).
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
A comprehensive introduction to the universe. A good amount of detail to suit all tastes. pages laid out in wall chart-style, with beautiful images. Many books in this genre are quite similar but this book is very comprehensive, even including a history of astronomy. Very reader-friendly and informative. Love it!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Since I don't have any books on space and planets, I wanted an all encompassing book on everything from the solar system, the galaxy and beyond. I don't think I could have done much better than this book. Pretty much everything you could want to know is contained somewhere. An absolute bargain price for a book that will be a source of reference for many years to come.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
Fantastic book. Covers every aspect of space. The early sections on the history of astronomy and about telescopes and satellites are lacking detail, but the book is mostly about the planets, and the stars, and in this respect it is full of detail and wonderful images. DK books are always good, and this one is no exception. You can pick it up a hundred times and still find new things to read. Nice to read on nights when the sky is cloudy.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
This book is one of the best I've brought. The information is written in brief sections and yet it's well explained and easy to understand. It presents complex ideas in a way that lets the reader think they could give Einstein a run for his money. The photos are excellent and some are beautiful. The book is well worth the money and I'd recommend it.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
I bought this stunning text on the strength of other reviews as a background text for my university astronomy course. I was expecting it to be a superb book, but it has exceeded my expectations in every way - DK have produced one of the best all round books on the subject I have ever seen. If you are thinking about getting this book, just do it, you will not be dissapointed!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
This is an amazing book, as the others have stated. I only added this review because I believe
it would make an excellent 'coffee table' book if DK were to print it at approximately 50cm X 40cm.
It contains so much more than Giles Sparrow's 'Cosmos' (Quercus) but the latter scores points because
the illustrations are larger.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.