Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just military history.
This handsome volume arrives in timely fashion for the 150th anniversary of the start of the American Civil War. This is often regarded as the first 'Modern' war due to the new military technologies employed. It was also a conflict of senseless slaughter between the industrial North and the agrarian South. The issue of slavery was a political football and this book...
Published on 9 May 2011 by P. Walsh

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a great book but I was duped into thinking ...
Looks like a great book but I was duped into thinking it was a new copy. When it arrived I wish I'd gone to the libraty and saved myself 15 quid. Tatty and well read doesn't cover it . Car boot copy! I will get my money back or else!
Published 2 months ago by martin jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just military history., 9 May 2011
By 
P. Walsh "peterwalsh7" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
This handsome volume arrives in timely fashion for the 150th anniversary of the start of the American Civil War. This is often regarded as the first 'Modern' war due to the new military technologies employed. It was also a conflict of senseless slaughter between the industrial North and the agrarian South. The issue of slavery was a political football and this book deals effectively with the reality of post civil war freedom for the African-American. The book provides full details on the social and political structure of the USA in the decades before the civil war and also the aftermath with the reconstruction of the country. Each chapter chronicles the progress of the war year by year with a useful timeline. It provides substrantial profiles of the key figures involved both military and political from both sides. There are also profiles of the brave men and women who advanced the causes of democracy for all and the science of medicine. All the major campaigns and battles are covered in detail along with arms and equipment. The book is a visual treat with maps, paintings and photographs of this great but terrible event that was very recent in America's history and certain issues of the time remain a source of political conflict to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a book!, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
I am still working my way through this large format book as it is so full of information. Battle Cry of Freedom by James M. MacPherson is very comprehensive and one of the most recommendable books on this subject but this book is well up to the DK's standard of information and visual presentation and it is this latter aspect that helps to make it an essential purchase for those like me with a general interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One book does it all, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
If you're looking for just one book on the civil war then this could well be it, also great value too. Another fantastic book by DK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Civil War, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
A beautiful book, wonderfully illustrated, concise information make it able to pick up and read whichever section you wish without having to go from cover to cover, very pleased with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
As always by such books, this is a brief presentation of the civil war, though it is detailed enough to keep you interested.
If you don't want to read a 400 page monograph on the civil war, but want something more "leisurely", this is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy., 24 Mar. 2013
By 
T. Malcolm (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
My interest is in history of all kinds and a "ready reckoner" of the details of significant world events, as opposed to a pure narrative, for me is extremely useful. The unfolding events of the American civil war are presented in this book as detailed individual events with their links before and after. This makes pertinant details of particular battles, personalities, politics etc very easy to find and relate to. Together with an enormous amount of photographs this book was exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, well presented, well researched, well designed, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
i was very pleased with this book, it is an attractive and academic read, i cant fault it very much, though it would have been improved by adding more about both the legacy of the war and historical sites connected with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
very ininformative,major characters and their place in the war,the lesser known characters who had played their part in the conflict give a more clearer picture to the reader.Great pictures of the uniforms,battles,struggles,and hardships of the time come together to create a great reference book on the American Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
This thick heavy book is sooo full of information. Its presented in a logical order, it clear ad easy to read, with many images, maps, dates etc. It is very easy to read and its going to take me several weeks to read and digest it. And then to re-read it again.

And again.

The inclusion of the build up to the war and the period after helps set this work in a time frame rather than a stand-alone descritption of a piece of history.

An incredible book, for the scholar and the casual reader (like myself). I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone with any level of interest in the American Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amzing Book, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (Hardcover)
What a great book .I was not quite sure what to expect but this book has everything you need if your interested in the Amercian Civil War .. Great Photos and Paintings to give your your a vivid idea what life must have been like for both the soliders who fought in the war but also how it effected the civilian population ( especially the blacks which of course which was of of the main reasons for the war to abolish slavery ) Fantastic articles on all the major campaigns and profiles of the Generals , lloks of very interesing photos and articles covering weaponary, medcines , uniforms

I could go on for ever ,, Brilliant Book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The American Civil War
The American Civil War by DK (Hardcover - 1 April 2011)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews