Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun with science for kids
There are so many experiments in this book that you can probably do around half of them without needing to go shopping for any additional material. Some of them just need things you already have in your cupboard such as Baking Soda, Vinegar, Oil, Food Colouring, modelling clay, Washing up liquid, salt, string, paper etc.

There are some which need specific...
Published on 1 April 2011 by Mrs. Carrie Smith

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can you do the impossible?
If not, then you won't be able to do all the 'experiments'.

Don't get me wrong, much of this book is brilliant fun, but it is let down by some so called 'experiments' which are impossible!

Take that on page 51, 'Balancing Act'. This is without doubt impossible - if you've successfully carried it out then please leave a comment! This book would have...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by John in Cornwall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
gave this to a 5 year old boy who absolutely loves it. He and his dad read it every night and they have done a couple of experiments too. They should have many years of reading and experimenting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sandra, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
Really entertaining for my 8 year old nephew, he can't wait to try out the experiments and is really excited by it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Experiments, 10 May 2013
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 8 and 10 year old boys. I knew I would have to supervise the experiments, but found that I was as engaged by them as the boys were - and I learnt a lot as well! One of the experiments on density involved creating plasticine boats and using marbles to see how many the boats could carry. This kept my 8 year occupied by the sink for the best part of the day - and the experiment continued on into bath time. Another experiment involved creating a non-newtonian liquid (nope, I'd never heard of these either) using mostly cornflour and water - the boys were absolutely fascinated by the results. Then we did the plastic experiment - creating plastic from various kitchen ingredients. My elder son dyed the plastic red with food dye and low and behold he'd created fake 'gore', which the boys played with happily for the rest of the day. Highly recommend this book.

Science Experiments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reveiw, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
Really Good book. Lots of easy instructions and lots of fun for young and old. A really good one for the Grandparents actually for when they look after the children!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Balancing Act', 19 Nov 2012
By 
A. M. Horton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
Yes you can balance the forks in a cork on the edge of a wine glass. We do this regulalry at the science club I run for 9 - 11 year olds. Perhaps the writer of this review should try the experiments before commenting that they are impossible?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can you do the impossible?, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
If not, then you won't be able to do all the 'experiments'.

Don't get me wrong, much of this book is brilliant fun, but it is let down by some so called 'experiments' which are impossible!

Take that on page 51, 'Balancing Act'. This is without doubt impossible - if you've successfully carried it out then please leave a comment! This book would have you believe that you can place two interlocking metal forks on the end of a toothpick and then get it to balance (on the toothpick) on the rim of a wine glass. Yeah right!

Then there's the 'Hydraulic Lifter' on page 68. This requires you to fill a balloon with water through a funnel which, via a can, will raise a book. Have you ever tried to fill a balloon with water unless that water is under significant pressure? The simple fact is that the 'tightness' of the rubber is just too strong to allow the limited pressure of water to stretch it.

And how about 'Make a Motor' on page 117. How is this supposed to be supported and work without spinning off?

'Microscopic Meteorites' on page 112 is interesting, but I think the words 'Any particles that are spherical or look like flakes could have come from outer space.' are highly optimistic!

Quite frankly, if this book was written by Robert Winston - or if he even read it before he put his name to it - he should be ashamed. I've not been through the whole book - certainly some experiments are fine - but I suspect that there will be more duff 'experiments'.

I've just looked on the page given publication details and although this book is listed as being BY Robert Winston, it wasn't written by him at all!! Inside it states, 'Written by: Ian Graham', 'Additional text by: Dr Mike Goldsmith', 'Consultant: Lisa Burke'!! What a con, verging on fraudulent, DK should be ashamed!!

Lord Professor Robert Winston, if you ever read this, please explain the above!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
Brilliant - kept an 11 year old and 8 year old occupied for lots of summer holiday days! There were just a few things that were beyond our store cupboard such as the UV light. But mostly so long as we had plenty of ice we were in luck!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
Fantastic read for my 11 year old grandson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical science, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Parents in Touch - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
There are many hours of learning fun in this cram-packed book. It is perfect to support KS2 science and will bring to life what can be a dry subject - by carrying out the experiments, children will really remember and understand what they have learnt. There are five sections which are clearly divided by colour - the material world, forces and motion, energy in action, electricity and magnetism and the natural world. Each experiment has clear step-by-step instructions, list of resources needed, plenty of pictures and the all-important explanation as to the science behind the experiment. You don't need lots of equipment - the experiments are practical and use things every home has.Usefully, difficulty level and time required are included. Here are some of the things children can make - a steam propelled boat, a balloon hovercraft and a metal detector. This is a book to which children will return over and over again. You can't beat hands-on science!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Experiments (Hardcover)
my grandson is really enjoying the practical side of the experiments. I have not yet been blown up !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Experiments
Science Experiments by Robert Winston (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews