Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for nature/animal enthusiasts, 24 April 2012
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
This second edition of 'Animal' is a fantastic book that I am really pleased to be the owner of.

I bought it for my children (age 15 and under) who love reading up on different animals, but have spent far more time going through it than them. The first thing to notice is the soft furry front cover - almost feels like you are touching Zebra skin!

The book is well organised into sections as follows:

1. Introduction (Evolution, classification, etc) - 20 pages
2. Habitats (around the world, on land and in water) - 55 pages
3. The Animal Kingdom (mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and fish) - 420 pages
4. Invertebrates - 75 pages
5. Glossary and Index - 25 pages

The pages are on nice quality paper, and the content has a good level of depth with stunning photography of animals big and small.

It is a very heavy book so probably not suitable for younger children. I owned the first edition about 6 years ago, which was also brilliant and of similar size, but that was soon vandalised by my little angels. They are older and even more obedient now so, touch wood, this book should last longer.

At under £20 it is a really good investment. You will not find another book like it as a reference on animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
This book is a living example of why the e-book will never entirely take over. It delivers both form and function - to begin with the cover is unusual in that the Zebra depicted actually has a furry coat - a novelty, but it's certainly not a case of form over function. Inside the book it is printed on very high quality paper and beautifully illustrated with just the right level of detailed text for the "average person" covering all the major species and conservation issues in some detail. There is no single author to this book, rather, it is collection of high quality contributions from specialists in particular fields ensuring accuracy and currency of the information. This is a genuine "coffee table book" (but not just a picture book) that you will browse time after time, and, as a result, develop your knowledge of the natural world. I am not surprised that this book was Virginia McKenna's (of Born Free fame) choice of a luxury item on "BBC Desert Island Discs". It also represents superb value for money - the production quality and knowledge captured in this book make it seem alomst underpriced. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all animal lovers or students studying animals, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to our daughter for her studies in Animal Management- it is informative, accurate and the front cover with the furry touch is genius as you need want to put it down ! Just a wonderful book - put down your kindle and pick this up its amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great animal resource book!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover but this one really stands out and the velour touch adds something special to it! The book itself carries on in the same vein, well presented, good, clear information and images and an extensive range of animals covered. This is also a sizeable book in both size / weight and also information and will keep you going for some time. I purchased two of these as book prizes and the children that received them were thrilled. A great reference book and something to keep going back to. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Animal Encyclopaedia for children & adults of all ages, 2 Feb 2012
By 
S Drowne (Kingston, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my inquisitive three and six year olds, who have suddenly and thankfully, finally found a love of all things animal! We have been taking them to zoos since they were babies and maybe, with the distraction of the playgrounds and ice cream stalls, have never taken much of an interest in tired and bored looking captive animals.

Thankfully exposure to shows like Planet Earth and Frozen Planet, as well as Barneys Latin America on CBBC (highly recommended too!) have shown him that animals can do a bit more than sitting motionless in an enclosure.

This book, as you can see from the Look Inside preview, has just about every animal from every continent, pictured and with just enough summary information to keep them interested, along with info on their size, habitat and geographical location. There is additional information and larger sections on more widely known animals like Elephants, Bears and Sharks.

For the price, this cannot be beaten, it is nearly 4cm thick and the pages are printed in thick durable paper. In my opinion this book should be regarded as the number one reference guide for animal lovers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best animal book ever, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
I think it is one stop book for animal book collections. At least an average person like me, it is more than enough for my needs. It is huge means literally huge. Very beautiful and nice pictures with lot of details. I love the printing work done by DK. I bought for my daughter she is only 20 months old but she like animals and all my small animal books are browsed thoroughly so I was in need for big and larger format to keep her going :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal DK Book, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
The pictures for each species are really clear and catchy. So well done to the photographer. I thought I knew wildlife species until I read this encyclopedia. I haven't heard of half of the mammels noted down with each their own data.
Overall a great animal guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures. Lots of information, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures. Lots of information. got it for my little ones.They love animals. Was quite keen on introducing them to non fiction books and this is a great start. Too much information for them right now. But at least they have an interest in opening it and looking at the pictures and pointing out the different animals! Very pleased with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
You can learn sooooo much from this book! It's amazing! If your animal mad this is the book for you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Animal (Hardcover)
Cannot make any negative comments about this book (except maybe it's massiveness!!!). The book goes into very consider detail about the animal world on Earth today and the images are truly brilliant. I highly recommend this book to animal lovers and those who just have an interest. I'm thoroughly positive that this giant book will make a very nice gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal
Animal by DK (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2011)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews