Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for student nurse!
I'm a nurse and I bought this for my daughter who is a student nurse, she was struggling to remember different types of drugs and their side effects. More useful than the BNF because it actually describes how the drugs act, why they have the effects that they do, and groups them in a way which makes learning them more sensible. Wish I'd had this when I was training!
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by H M Watkins

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed
Layout is great and the book is very informative and I love the detailed explanations of how the various different categories of drugs work... BUT.... no mention whatsoever of Gardasil or Cervarix, which are the HPV vaccine drugs. Odd, considering the amount of press there has been on these drugs and that they have been prescribed for all girls 12-13. There is one line on...
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by James L


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for student nurse!, 12 Oct 2011
By 
H M Watkins (Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
I'm a nurse and I bought this for my daughter who is a student nurse, she was struggling to remember different types of drugs and their side effects. More useful than the BNF because it actually describes how the drugs act, why they have the effects that they do, and groups them in a way which makes learning them more sensible. Wish I'd had this when I was training!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful update, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
A very useful book for those on the edges of the medical profession or for those who want to know more about their own medication! A good update in the latest edition and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book improved, 9 July 2011
By 
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
The same size as the previous edition BUT they've taken out the useless photographs of different tablets and replaced it with text.
Essential for any student of nursing, pharmacy, medicine or allied professions and still readable by the general public.
The best has got better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicinal Guide, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
A very clearly laid out volume. Easy to locate up to date drugs that are in use today. The additional information that relates to illness and the human body go a long way to make the explanation of some illnesses much easier to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
Bought 4 my mum and she says its very comprehensive and precise, cant say fairer than that.give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, very comprehensive, 12 July 2012
By 
Helga Charman (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who, like my father, are on different types of medication and they want to know the benefits/side effects, etc., of the drugs they are taking. There is an index at the front, with the relevant page to which the drug relates. Also, the book has subsections dealing with treating various parts of the body, etc., again very helpful, with diagrams, detailed explanations, etc. Would recommend highly this book to anyone who doesn't like to ask their GP too many questions about the drugs they have been prescribed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presented in an Informative Way without Confusion, 30 Jun 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
The editorial staff (BMA approved) should be congratulated on this update guide to the more common medicinal treatments, useful for professionals and lay-person receivers (of which there are millions more). The layout and descriptions are appropriate. As a retired medical consultant (just) and not a dinosaur yet, I recently reviewed the British National Formulary (BNF) on Amazon. More comprehensive and detailed but for interested users of medicines this is much easier to comprehend ( and cheaper-shop around). The graphic additions are particularly helpful. The information is useful and gives details of symptoms and when to consult your GP. If you want to know why, or more, about the medicine you have been told to take, this is the book, especially if you have to pay per item (Wales exempt). Very much recommended.Shop around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best book on medication, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book as a mental health student to learn more on anti psychotic and anti depressant medication. It turned to have many more medications that are used for physical health and this was an added bonus. It is a guide book for all to have at home as it gives people the information they need on medications they are taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Guide to Medicine & Drugs, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
This book is fab. I kept it on extended loan from my uni library because it is so useful, eventually I bought it. The layout is clear and it is easy to understand. I would recommend it to any nursing student. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed, 25 Jun 2011
By 
James L (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition (Paperback)
Layout is great and the book is very informative and I love the detailed explanations of how the various different categories of drugs work... BUT.... no mention whatsoever of Gardasil or Cervarix, which are the HPV vaccine drugs. Odd, considering the amount of press there has been on these drugs and that they have been prescribed for all girls 12-13. There is one line on page 93 under common vaccinations that lists 'HPV vaccine' and that's it! Ridiculous. Makes me wonder what other common drugs are missing.

Other than that rather large oversight it is an easy-to-read book with lots of great diagrams that will be a useful addition to anyone interested in learning about medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BMA New Guide to Medicine and Drugs 8th Edition
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews