Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book
I absolutely love this book!
It is so beautiful.

There's a lot of pictures and paintings, printed on big pages, most of them full size (little larger than A4 paper size). Exceptionally good reconstructions of our ancestors, even paintings of their organization in the landscape. Very good descriptions to accompany the pictures and paintings. Easy to...
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by Katrine Bergkvist Hansen

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stars only for the content
I assume the book is not brand new because the packaging looks fine.
Been waiting ages for the book to arrive but turn out to be so disappointing.
Scratches all over the book cover. Four corners of the book are bent.
Wanted to return it but it is too expensive.
By the time I have decided to return, the time period allowed to return has passed...
Published 6 months ago by Joo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book!
It is so beautiful.

There's a lot of pictures and paintings, printed on big pages, most of them full size (little larger than A4 paper size). Exceptionally good reconstructions of our ancestors, even paintings of their organization in the landscape. Very good descriptions to accompany the pictures and paintings. Easy to read.

Everyone with just a little interest in how we evolved should buy this book. Even children would love to look at the pictures and it is so easy to read that older children can read it alone.

With a background in biology and a special interest in human evolution, I still find this book special. It is the perfect book to supply all the academic textbooks that is lacking what this book has - pictures and paintings! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
A comparatively quick journey through the evidence for human evolution with some amazing reconstructions of earlier humam forms that have been discovered. There is much to consider and learn in this book but it's as good and clear a read on the subject I have read which anyone with reasonable intelligence will appreciate. The book helps to fill in many of the missing links in human evolution with evidence based in reality few will be able to argue with though I am sure some will refuse to accept due to religious convictions.

For those lucky people living in the real world 'Evolution The Human Story' is a gem. Thanks to Alice Roberts and all the contributors for a fascinating book. I find evolution an illuminating science and the more I study it the greater my feeling of satisfaction that it really is the explanation for the development of life on our planet and this book adds to that feeling and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Dr. Alice Roberts., 9 Oct 2011
By 
F. Wallace (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
This book sets out a very difficult story in a clear, logical manner. It uses modern graphic techniques to illustrate very complex details in a concise and punchy way. I wanted to read it all before putting it down. I have worked in science for many years and still learned from this book but I also had no hesitation in arranging for another copy to be gift wrapped and sent to my granchildrens address. They love it. I recomend it unconditionally.Evolution The Human Story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3D reconstructions of the faces of our hominin ancestors bring this book to life, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
This sumptuously illustrated book is augmented by well-annotated diagrams, photographs and specialist subject boxes, and we are indebted to numerous anthropologists, geologists, and palaeontologists for the information that has been garnered from their painstaking excavations.

While these geological and paeleological facts and artefacts flesh out the body of the genealogical timelines, what brings this book to life are the 3D reconstructions of the faces of our hominin ancestors. So startlingly lifelike are these models they unavoidably engender a reverence as we surreptitiously view their primordial lives and the sadness associated with the eventual demise of most of them.

The infographics of the overlapping timelines of existence of the various Hominins show that most were isolated branches of the evolutionary tree, and were not our direct ancestors. But the facial reconstructions are a chilling realisation of the “humanity” of the evolutionary eons that preceded the emergence of the ancestors of Homo sapiens. They also illustrate the enormity in space and time of the global colonisations. In an equally chilling way the extinctions of many of the branches of the hominim tree demonstrates the fragility of our grasp on our apparent evolutionary supremacy.

The encyclopaedic discourses on the scientific examination and evaluation of the painstaking excavation of fossils and their environs, along with the amount of information extracted are fascinating.

However much this beautifully illustrated book eases the assimilation of the evolution story, one must beware lest it engenders an egocentric smugness at the rich road leading exclusively to modern man and woman! We must remember that it is simply the evolutionary algorithm that (for now) places me as the reviewer and you as the reader of this book.

Deceptively attractive and accessible, this is far from a light book and requires careful reading to hold the evolutionary strands in mind as well as the esoteric paleontological nomenclature.

The book is rounded off with reference to the change from hunter gatherers to farmers, and the accruements of modern society: religion, trade, metalworking, craft, etc.

The recording of primordial sea level changes and glaciations are apt parameters to current discussions on climate change. The emphasis on just how immense these changes were and how humans had to evolve or cease to exist.

A fascinating, engaging and thought provoking book that truly resurrects our past.

Jim Young
Glycosmedia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
This is suck a lovely book ,easy to read great pictures and photographs good to have to follow the DVDs .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome supplemental, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
This book is great on many levels! I am taking a college level course in archaeology which requires an informative, yet visually dull, textbook. The same higher level information is presented in the DK published book, and the significant difference is that this book presents the information with tremendous color photos, graphs, charts, and more. The visual graphics truly enrich my learning, understanding, and perseverance in reading! I'm grateful; Evolution: The Human Story by Dr. Alice Roberts is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating and Beautiful!, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
This book is beautiful with stunning pictures, reconstructions, charts, graphs and time lines. If you are interested in origins of humans it is facinating and easy to follow and understand and really brings evolution to life. If you are studying biological Anthropology it will also help in aiding written articals and the science you will encounter.
I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
Even though I am still reading this I have found it to be an amazing account of the possible evolution of the human specie. I find it fascinating and incredible that we have evolved to such an incredible degree over such a long period of time. I would love to buy Professor Roberts a coffee or two to have the chance to discuss these amazing stages of our history! Maybe next time I go up to the Jewellery Quarter in Birmingham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book full of magnificent illustrations, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
The illustrations showing what prehistoric man looked like
are fantastic, based as they are, upon the ancient skulls
and bones that have been found. The only drawback is
that the accompanying text has been divided into a large
number of boxes – magazine style. This makes it the ideal
coffee table book about human evolution. This is the kind
of book that is the ideal present for friends you'd like to see
becoming interested in this fascinating field of study, that has
been opening up during the last 30 years. It is also a nice
book to accompany the various DVDs that deal with the topic,
such as “Origins of Us” or “Journey of Man”. But the many text
snippets (boxes with scattered pictures and maps) will surely
guarantee that this is a book that will never be read in its
entirety. For a cohesive account of human evolution during
the past 6 or 7 million years, you will need to consult one of the
many text-based books on the topic, of which quite a few are
available by such authors as Chris Stringer, Stephen Oppenheimer,
Spencer Wells or Bryan Sykes. In particular the last of these
makes for interesting reading with his bestselling “The Seven
Daughters of Eve”. I give it one less than five stars, due to the
scattered text fragments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution of Humans., 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Evolution The Human Story (Hardcover)
What a fascinating and interesting book,the more you read it the more you want to know about evolution,lovely illustrations,I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evolution The Human Story
Evolution The Human Story by Alice Roberts (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2011)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews