Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket guide
It is easy to be overwhelmed by Egypt: so many sites, gods, dynasties and kings! This book is in abbreviated form and gives handy headlines for the best and most interesting things to do and see for those completely new to the country and Ancient Egypt. It is full of useful advice and has bite sized pieces of information on history and culture as well as shopping, eating...
Published 23 months ago by Sue Edwards

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars If you interested only about Cairo do not take this guide, you can find better.
I wanted a guide for Cairo - Egypt. The only one i found from TOP 10 series was that. But this one does not only describe Cairo but almost the whole Egypt. It describes monuments, cities, must see things, must do things ets from Aelxandria down to the southern part of Egypt across the nile. The maps inside are not so detailed because they tried to put many things in one...
Published 24 months ago by Marios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket guide, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
It is easy to be overwhelmed by Egypt: so many sites, gods, dynasties and kings! This book is in abbreviated form and gives handy headlines for the best and most interesting things to do and see for those completely new to the country and Ancient Egypt. It is full of useful advice and has bite sized pieces of information on history and culture as well as shopping, eating and where to stay. We found it just enough to read before visiting the main places on the Nile Cruise and in Cairo. It wouldn't be right for you if you wanted things in depth, but other guidebooks do that. We could probably have managed a little more information, but it's difficult to do more concisely than it does, and has lots of good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
Love these books - small, just heavy enough to feel substantial and very informative. Well presented and an absolute must for both before the trip and in the suitcase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you interested only about Cairo do not take this guide, you can find better., 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
I wanted a guide for Cairo - Egypt. The only one i found from TOP 10 series was that. But this one does not only describe Cairo but almost the whole Egypt. It describes monuments, cities, must see things, must do things ets from Aelxandria down to the southern part of Egypt across the nile. The maps inside are not so detailed because they tried to put many things in one guide. If you are travelling to Cairo i thing its better to chose an other guide wich would be concentrated on Cairo only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good comprehensive guide, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
We spent a long weekend in Cairo in May 2013 and used this guide to prioritize what we had time to see. The book covers a lot of the sights up and down the Nile but it is not the most detailed. I like DK Guidebooks so I am happy with my purchase but if you want long and in depth description of monuments, etc. you may be better of with a more descriptive guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, easy to use, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
Don't expect much detail, but it's probably a good introduction when planning days out in Egypt. I especially liked the plans of sites such as Luxor temple. Doesn't tell you much, but ensures you don't miss the main features. No map of the Cairo metro, which would have been really helpful when getting round that amazing city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DK travel guide review, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish I'd bought the hard copy, electronic version no good for flicking to a certain area!
Very good information , when you eventually found the page you were looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just enough information to spark an interest..., 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just enough information to spark an interest and keep the enthusiasm going. Very informative, succint and relevant to the places I visited. Also very much up to date. Will buy others in the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
Small but fantastic. it provides travel maps, information on the best sites to visit, information on hotels in fact everything you need to have a great holiday and stay safe and well. I would recommend this book. I'm booking a nile cruise etc and this book is coming with me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, Detailed but SLIPPY to hold., 6 Dec. 2012
By 
R. Brown "Dr-Bob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
I knocked off that one star because the glossy top quality paper this handy guide is printed on did not open out easily and then was frustratingly slippy to hold. But even then it certainly optimised my week in Cairo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Dawkins "Lyn" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile (Paperback)
Nice small book to take with you on your travels. I bought it for Nile Cruise, but found that it lacked enough detail for what I was ideally looking for. However, had some useful information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Cairo & The Nile by Andrew Humphreys (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews